We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“over rated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Safety Harbor Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Safety Harbor
Clearwater, Florida
2 reviews
“over rated”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I remember seeing this place as a prize on Wheel of Fortune when I was a kid. It may have been nice then but I totally would feel jipped if I were sent there on a luxury vacation. The restaurant is gross. The pool area has seen better days. The halls are damp and ancient. The salon is overpriced.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    274
    156
    131
    87
See reviews for
225
286
70
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oldsmar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My family and I went over the Fourth of July weekend, and I had the worst experience we have ever had at an hotel/resort. The service was terrible they were all really annoyed when u asked for something. They closed the pool for over an hour on Fourth of July. We had friends who were also staying there in different rooms and had one of their room flood. The hotel did nothing to help them, didn't even let them switch rooms or get a discount. They had water stations at the end of the hall that didn't taste like clean water. The only good thing about the place is that it has a good view. I don't recommend staying there and I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emwasenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Safety Harbor hotels

Palm Harbor Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My Husband and I stayed for 3 nights this week at the Safety Harbor Spa. We had a wonderful experience. Our room had a balcony and a view of Tampa Bay. Renee at the front desk checked us in and was welcoming and professional. We had many wonderful servers at the Fountain Grill restaurant including Jamie and Madeline who made our dinners enjoyable. The breakfast buffet was delicious and reasonable. The breakfast servers were very friendly and professional. The food quality and presentation was excellent. I took classes all 3 days of our stay. Mary, Penny, Debra, and Angelique are all amazing fitness instructors. I loved the yogalates class, Pilates, and Zumba. My Husband praised the weight room. The most amazing part of our visit was the fireworks display by the city of Safety Harbor. It was one of the best we have seen. If there was one thing that could improve in our room was to update the bed linens into something more modern. We do live the old world feel of the History Room where we relaxed several times. We had such a wonderful time that we have already made a reservation for next year!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Markardor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burbank
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I went there with my family for about a week, after Christmas. everybody was very kind, polite and super nice!! the restaurant is a bit small but u have an option to eat outside( if it's nice out) food was delicious!! location of this resort is the best! is quiet and very homey! they also have a little city right across the hotel with few restaurants and stores. you can also rent bicycles ( which I think is a bit pricey but worth of renting)
I don't agree that this place is only good for older people, it's great for anyone! can't wait to go back!!! loved it !

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martawska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Great place to spend the weekend. I stayed here with my sister for her birthday. Hotel amenities and accommodations were wonderful. Having the spa in the same location was great. The spa services and staff were awesome. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tresleches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My best friend and I stayed here for girl's spa getaway. We agree with the other reviewer that the spa was not the best we have been to. The robes were itchy and the hallways were like a huge maze. The spa waiting room was uncomfortable and did not have the typical spa luxuries. My massage was terrible and one of the worst.

The rooms were ok but ours has a mildew smell and made our clothes damp. The bed was very comfortable though. We wanted a bay view but we on the first floor so it was really a tree view. The outdoor pool was nice but when we were there the Tiki bar was closed so if you wanted even so much as a drink of water, you had to walk all the way inside the hotel to the front lobby. Not fun when you are in your bathing suit lounging by the pool.

The gym was nice but the classes are definitely not for the active person. They are really great for first time gym goers which we were not. For us, the classes were way to basic.

We came hoping to be waited on and pampered. That was not the case at all. They didn't know we had an inclusive package when we checked in. We were never told how to use it. The staff at the restaurants were always confused by the inclusive cards. I wanted drinks delivered to me by the pool and soft comfy robes. Not here!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor with Bay View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpollfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed at this property for several days in conjunction with a family wedding. Fast easy check-in. Property is searched out over several acres, and took a few minutes to walk to our room from the lobby. Beautiful décor. Large comfortable room with great view of Tampa Bay from our windows and balcony. Warm clean pool. Excellent staff and food quality in the restaurant - breakfast and dinner. Easy walking distance to town square - restaurants, bars, and shops. Fantastic Bloody Mary's poolside - was like a salad in your drink. One problem reported in person to the front desk was being addressed even before we returned to our room.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Safety Harbor
8.6 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,324 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Clearwater
6.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Yacht Harbor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#12 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
8.6 mi away
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
#25 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
18.4 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safety Harbor Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safety Harbor Resort and Spa

Property: Safety Harbor Resort and Spa
Address: 105 N Bayshore Dr, Safety Harbor, FL 34695-3124
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Safety Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Safety Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Safety Harbor Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Safety Harbor Resort and Spa is located on 22 acres of pristine waterfront along Tampa Bay. In addition to the 50,000 square foot spa & fitness center, the resort also offers over 30,000 sqft of flexible meeting and banquet space - perfect for any conference or wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Safety Harbor Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safety Harbor Hotel Safety Harbor
Safety Harbor Spa
Safety Harbor Resort And Spa Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing