We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what was expected for a B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Augustine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ancient City Inn
Ranked #29 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Plymouth, Indiana
Level Contributor
162 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Not what was expected for a B&B”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

I wish there was a 2.5 rating so I could rate this smack in the middle, but since there is not I'm going with the low end. We stayed in The Colonels room. This is a quaint B&B, but it should be priced a little less for what you get. The room was stale & moldy smelling. Everything was a bit worn, the bathroom was clean enough, but there's a lace curtain on the window IN the shower, and of course there is mold on it. Some furnishings are nice, but some seem like they are from the dollar general - cheap, thin, unfashionable. I realize that some B&B's are trying to be cluttered or a bit overwhelming in decor to be more charming and unusual...but this really was just cluttered and cheap.

The breakfast was OK, in one way the basket delivered is somewhat like getting breakfast in bed, and it's nice not to have to go to a big dining room and visit with everyone staying at the B&B. BUT if it were my B&B I would make the breakfast basket even more special. Part of going to a B&B is to have a better experience than you have every day at home. I would put fancy yogurt, fancy french pastry, and fresh juice (or at least 100% juice, not a cheap sugar water blend of juice.) Or maybe offer a card with some choices.

I was told when I reserved the room that I would get a AAA discount of 10%, and then I wasn't given the discount.

The things that were good - there were other people staying over the holiday weekend and I couldn't hear anyone else, so the set up of the B&B is good and the rooms are quiet. No disturbance from outside or inside. The temperature was kept comfortable even though there is no ability to control it individually. The coffee was very good. The location was great.

Overall, I would either charge less for what is offered (say $75/night, maybe?) or make improvements and charge the $109 that they charged.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lrltshw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    7
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburndale, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

The room smelled sour when we first opened the door. After further investigation we discovered the bathroom shower had used bath cloths hanging in it and mildew was on the shower wall and curtain. There were stains on the pillow shams and pillow cases. We had reservations for two days and our room was not cleaned the following day plus we did not get clean towels to use for the second night. Check out time is 11 am but we got a knock on the door at 10:25 am asking us if we were ready to leave because he had to be somewhere at 11:00 am. We will never stay here again....There are plenty other B&B's in the area that are nice, clean and better priced!!

Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ShillaLovesStAugust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

The inn keepers themselves were very pleasant, however we will NEVER go back. As soon as we got into the room we could smell vomit. After further inspection we found that there was vomit on the drapes in the shower. So freakin' disgusting!!!! The only thing scary about this place was the uncleanliness!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1ToughCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

The owners were wonderful- very hospitable & informative. Our room was cozy and comfortable. The property was adorable with several sitting areas, bright colors, and variety of plants & flowers. The perfect spot for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen11-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

My boyfriend and I spent the past Thursday and Friday night in Martha Lee's room for our 1st anniversary. We were met by will as soon as we pulled into the driveway. He was friendly and helped us check in and get settled. Our room was awesome! So much character! Almost like staying in a museum of neat antiques. There was also a journal filled with experiences people before us staying in the room had occur.

The main reason I was drawn to the ancient city in was because of it being "haunted" but the price was what solidified the deal for me. This was by far one of the best deals I found after countless hours of searching online for a reasonable place with character. Both mornings we received a basket outside our private entrance on the balcony with muffins, yogurt, bananas juice and coffee. Perfect way to wake up in the morning before heading out on a VERY short walk to all the excitement surrounding st. george street.

My boyfriend and I also both received readings from Carri who is a psychic/medium and couldn't believe how "dead on" she was with it. Names we didn't recognize we later came to find (from family members) were important members of our families who had passed on generations before us. Very interesting! Also the things she said about our current lives were accurate and for our futures... promising! Thank you so much Carri and Will for a fantastic time! We will definitely be back in the future! Looking forward to bringing my mom and nana sometime this summer! Dylan and Barrett Orlando, FL

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dylpickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

My wife and I stayed here on two different days in November, while in transit to Key West and then home to Virginia. We found the Ancient City Inn while searching for unique and eccentric bed and breakfasts in St. Augustine as well as the other stops along our vacation journey. The Ancient City Inn was the third B&B we found after a fair amount of research online. What drew us in were the element of a “pleasantly haunted” home and the interesting biographies of the owners, Will and Carri. We booked it without further question.

Driving from Richmond, Virginia to St. Augustine in one stretch required a couple of phone calls to Will to update him on our progress as per our arrival time and we were treated with great care and warmth in the negotiation. Upon a late arrival near midnight, we were welcomed by Will and taken to our accommodations, the Martha Lee Room around the back of the home and on the second floor. The Martha Lee Room has a private entrance via a charming outdoor staircase painted in two pacific shades of blue as with the rest of the home. We found an inviting little porch at the top of the stairs where breakfast would be served the following morning. As it was late, Will unlocked our door and bade us goodnight after arranging a tarot reading for us the next day with Carri.

We felt immediately at home in the room and took a few minutes to explore the bathroom, kitchenette and bedroom before preparing for sleep. The touches were warm and homey and reminded my wife of her grandmother’s old home as a child visiting. A journal rested on a secretary table in the corner of the kitchenette and soon became our nighttime reading material. The journal was filled with previous travelers’ entries on experiences and “pleasant hauntings” from their stays. It gave us chills to read some of the reports, but in a warm and comforting way.

My wife slept soundly and was amazed how rested she felt in the morning, while I had difficultly and woke up many times during the night from lucid dreams of being visited by the spirits of the home. Upon inspection of the room in the morning and the few items we had placed for our “paranormal investigation”, we didn’t notice any changes or signs of a “haunting”. A little disappointed, but nonetheless, delighted with the hospitality and comfort of the inn, we found breakfast delivered in a lovely basket on our outdoor dining table at the agreed upon hour. The only critique we had for the inn was a wish that the breakfast could have been a home cooked one rather than the muffins, bananas and juice we received. We are both hearty breakfast eaters and would have been in absolute bliss with a few strips of bacon, fresh warm biscuits and a couple scrambled eggs. After getting to know Will and Carri a little better, we imagined they must have good reason for serving the more continental style offerings.

We each had our readings by Carri in the same room one after the other and took notes for each other during the sessions. Long story short, we were amazed with her accuracy and attention to detail along with absolute compassion and honesty. She provided the affirmation both of us had been looking for to take our next steps forward with our lives. After the readings, we had a great time in the metaphysical gift shop with Will as our host. We picked up some beautiful items and got great suggestions on where to spend our day in the lovely town of St. Augustine.

At the time of our visits, the guest cottage was being christened and Will gave us a tour of it before we departed. It is a fabulous space for an entire family or a romantic and private get-away for a couple to spend a few days in the city. The price is unbeatable and all the amenities you could want are on hand. We hope to be able to book it in the future. Besides the cottage and the beautiful home, the gardens and grounds are lovely and beckon you to retreat to them- be it in the oversized hammock, screened gazebo or the many little nooks in which to become lost from the rest of the world in.

If you are looking for a party house or a gimmicky packaged “ghost hunters” haunted house, this will disappoint. What the Ancient City Inn delivers on is a charming and beautiful home with gracious and honest hosts that know how to take care of the place and the people that come to stay for a while…and a “pleasant haunting” for those lucky enough to be graced by the presence of Martha Lee or Toby the “ghost cat”. The Ancient City Inn is now our “pleasantly haunted” home away from home.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NameOfTheRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2009

This is a great place to stay. Will and Carry r wounderful people. Great place to come and relax. Walking distance to downtown. We go up the first weekend in Dec for the annual christmas parade. U are able to sit right on the porch and have a great view of the parade. We stay here everytime we go to St. Augustine. They r like family now. Oh and a great part is kids r welcome!!!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tranquil73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#46 of 78 in St. Augustine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
#24 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
Merida Inn & Suites
#57 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
0.3 mi away
Days Inn St Augustine/Historic Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ancient City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ancient City Inn

Property: The Ancient City Inn
Address: 47 San Marco Ave, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3276
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Ancient City Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing