We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Tour Ever!”
Review of Red Train Tours

Red Train Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$17.03*
and up
Ripley's Believe It or Not Odditorium in St. Augustine
Ranked #9 of 118 Tours in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Enjoy more options at a better price than anywhere else in St. Augustine! We offer one day, three day and five day passes and have recently added a "Once around" tour if you are pressed for time. We offer an award-winning 80 – 90 minute, fully narrated historical tour of the Nation’s Oldest City. Our “open-air” Sightseeing Trains cover over 7 miles and visit dozens of historic sites. Our Sightseeing Train tours begin every 20 minutes beginning at 8:30 am. Guests may get on and off at over 20 locations and enjoy free parking at our Ripley owned ticket locations. All guests receive free on-demand shuttle service to and from area hotels, free shuttle service to the Alligator Farm and the St. Augustine Lighthouse with tickets, and $1 passes to “Bayfront Mini-Golf”.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
“Best Tour Ever!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I would highly recommend taking the Red Train Tour while in St. Augustine. Yesterday, we had out of town visitors and it was the perfect way to show them St. Augustine. Smokey, the guide, was outstanding! He made history fun. It was convenient to use the Red Train to hop on and off, as opposed to parking.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Noelle1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly K, General Manager at Red Train Tours, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
I totally love the "Best Tour Ever" caption. You have made my day! We are so thankful that you chose our tour and that you enjoyed the experience. Thank you for sharing such a wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,093
    297
    75
    40
    45
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A cool way to learn Old City history”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Playing tourist in my own city was most enjoyable. I find it's good to refresh one's memory about what is available to visitors to our fair city.
If you have a limited amount of time, a train tour is a perfect fit. You travel to almost all the major attractions in St. Augustine, get off and explore the ones you're interested in, then hop back aboard another train later and move on to the next attraction.
Best part about these trains, is you park you car at the onset and don't have to worry about trying to find parking at each destination.
While you are traveling to the various attractions, your driver gives you a bit of history about the city and the attractions. Our driver, Smokey, said he'd been on the job for three weeks. Well, he did his history and made his comments most enlightening as well as entertaining.
The only drawback I found was the bumpy ride at times. While the red train was more comfortable than the orange and green one, when we hit some of this city's brick streets, it would have been nice to have been sitting on a cushion.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fred1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly K, General Manager at Red Train Tours, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
I am so glad that you enjoyed your experience on the Red Trains, and Smokey's tour! We greatly appreciate that you took the time to share such a nice review. Thank you so choosing the Red Trains!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great overview - Awesome tour guide”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We chose the Red Train tour to kill some time on a hot, humid afternoon. It was less expensive than the other tour, but it lasted a full 90 minutes. Our guide, Jeff, was fabulous!!!! None better! He was witty, knowledgeable - and made the whole experience a lot of fun, at the same time teaching us a whole lot of history. Jeff really put this tour over the top for us!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly K, General Manager at Red Train Tours, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We are so thankful that you chose our tour and that you shared such a nice review. Thank you so much and I am sure that Jeff will be thrilled to hear that you enjoyed his tour!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Correction of review of Red Train Trolly Tours.”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Red train trolly tour was great! I wrote a review earlier mentioning Smokey, and what an excellent tour guide he was, but mistakenly gave it only 2 dots! Meant to give it 4. Did not give a 5 only because we got off and on again later and then got a tour guide that was good, but not as animated and not as understandable as Smokey! It was a really good deal for my husband and i too! We got the three day ticket- well worth it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Georgiaskibunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly K, General Manager at Red Train Tours, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you so much for submitting a corrected review. We are thankful that you took the time to do this. We are so appreciative of you feedback, and the fact that you chose our tour! Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elburg, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Smokey and the Red Train”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Sometimes, when one visits a locale one has been to before, the calling to "see it like a tourist" can be stronger than the draw of seeing it like a native.
We have all been to or lived in a town where we see tour trams and trolleys, the driver spieling interesting facts, and allow the experience to slip by as one of those things that tourists do.
I would like to tell you right now that our initial experience on the Red Train was so incredible that once we boarded we chose to remain for the entire circuit (which is a lot of stops and considerable time).
Why, you might ask?
in a word - Smokey.
Spell it with me:
S M O K E Y.

You see, any offering is only as good as the people who represent it. Smokey (not his real name, btw) brings to life the city streets and mossy Oak canopied lanes in a way that can only be born of passion to serve. People expect excellent guest service when they go to Walt Disney World, or dine at a five star, Golden Spoon restaurant.

But to get this kind of experience on a tram? Not the norm.
The product itself, a tram where you park and then board and disembark where you please, is exactly how you might expect such a thing to be: a matter of convenience.

Smokey exceeds expectations. While still mindful of his time constraints (it is a tram, therefore paid public transport, and must keep a schedule) his diligent research and delight in sharing things the average person might just wander by and not discover (embedded cannon ball, anyone?) make for an experience that will have you looking at your significant other and asking, "want to stay on? me too." Smokey brought the city of St. Augustine to life, instilling in his passengers a joy in hitting the tram jackpot.
Smokey should be the trainer for all tram drivers and pilots, as he proves himself more than capable. He demonstrates the ability for a single person to speak for close to ninety minutes, only offering the best and most positive takes on his city, displaying what is clearly brilliant understanding and wit. Smokey could have been wearing a Conquistador outfit and it still would not have upstaged his enthusiasm.

When he had to disembark himself, we (and a large group of others) chose to disembark at the very next stop.
This had a great deal to do with the fact the next tour guide was a grizzled broken man (I won't mention his name here, but remember how Bogart said "Play It Again..." and who he was talking to and you'll know) with the personality of a broken soap dish, and less to do with the fact Smokey was no longer with us.

When in Saint Augustine, you'll have lots of options. But there is only one Red Train, and definitely only one Smokey.
Ask for him by name.
Remember: you are paying for the transportation, but with Smokey, you are getting entertainment, passion for America's oldest continuously inhabited city, and an education.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly K, General Manager at Red Train Tours, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Wow - that has to be the nicest review that I think that I have ever read! Thank you so much for taking our tour and for sharing such a wonderful review. Smokey is a great guide and I am sure that he will be so thrilled to read your review. I can't tell you how much I appreciate you choosing the trains, and for sharing such an absolutely incredible review. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Red Train Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing