We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
St. George Inn(St. Augustine)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Bayfront(St. Augustine)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Casablanca Inn on the Bay(St. Augustine)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Marion Motor Lodge(St. Augustine)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bayfront Inn(St. Augustine)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,002)
Filter reviews
1,002 results
Traveller rating
918
63
17
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
918
63
17
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bemerald roomplatinum roomcream sherrywithin walking distancebreakfast was delicioushomemade cookiescomplimentary winethe location is perfectfront porchhistoric districtlittle toucheson site parkingthe main houseowners and staffother guestseach morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
526 - 531 of 1,002 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed only one night but wished we could have stayed the week!! The Carriage Way B&B is absolutely lovely. Matthew is a wonderful manager, and the premises are beautiful. Our room - the Tourmaline room - was wonderful. The perfect size, very clean, beautifully decorated with a lot of character, with a super comfortable bed. Plus, delicious peanut butter cookies, a lovely breakfast, and awesome proximity to everywhere you want to go in St. Augustine make this the perfect spot to crash a night or two or three in St. Augustine. All the shops an restaurants and bars are close by. I just can't rave about it more! I look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: Tourmaline as awesome!! But al the rooms look wonderful. The two beds downstairs (I peeked in) looked superb as well!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MoonlightRainSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldcityexpert, General Manager at Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Thank you so much for the compliments about our inn. A lot of thought goes into our breakfasts, the desserts, the rooms and the decorations, and i'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed them. You were truly a joy to host, and I look forward to hosting you for a longer stay sometime in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed in the Emerald room which has it's own outside entrance. Breakfasts were amazing! They were delicious and creative. She even had a red, white and blue one for the 4th! We had a parking space right at the B & B and left the car parked the whole time we were there. (4 days) The owner set up our dinner reservations and we were able to get several things like a carriage ride (they picked us up at the door) thru the B & B packages. We were celebrating our 29th anniversary and the owner surprised us at The Collage resturant with a free dessert of butter rum cake that was to die for! Our room was very nice, had a sitting area with an electric fireplace that was romantic. Beautiful bathrm with dual shower heads and a jet tub. The only bad thing I could say is that it would have been nice to also have an inside door to go to breakfast when it was raining. I understand that it is in the plans for the future to add one. Also, there is not alot of hanging space for clothes, but then most people don't stay long at B & Bs anyway. We are planning a trip at Christmas and have already booked the Emerald room again. The owners treated us as special guests and it was the little things that made us want to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tanya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldcityexpert, General Manager at Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

We are very excited to have you come back and visit at Christmas time, and we can't wait to show you some of the improvements from our recent remodel. We appreciate the feedback, and have since added more hanging space for guests who are traveling for several days and may have more clothes. Our staff acts a full service concierge and we will happily make all of your dinner and tour reservations for you. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This was our first stay at a B&B. Carriage Way has set the bar very high for us! The Owners and Staff are simply outstanding!

The room we stayed in had been updated, but still had that 19th century appeal we were looking for. This is the place to stay in the Historic District!

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be great. Rooms near the back would be a little quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldcityexpert, Owner at Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

It was a true pleasure introducing you to the B&B experience! You really are so much more than a room number at Carriage Way. Thank you for writing us this fantastic review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I have stayed at several B & B's over the past decade, mainly on the Gulf Coast. I have stayed in one B & B whereby the house was as old as this one. However, the furniture was comfortable in all the other B & B's I've stayed in. At Carriage Way, we stayed on the ground floor in the front bedroom (across from the dining room). Being fair, we were told this bedroom is being redone later this summer to convert from two beds to a king bed. However, we wanted two beds. Our complaint is not with the beds; they were comfortable. The furniture was old & looked old. Not "well maintained" old but "flea market" or "yard sale" old. Even the look of the furniture would have been ok, but the chairs just simply should not have been in a room that costs $200.00++ per night. There were two chairs, covered in the same fabric, but different styles and the springs or stuffing or both was unacceptable. They were so lumpy and broken down we couldn't sit comfortably on them, so they just took up much needed space in the room. Additionally, there were distractions after bedtime each night of our four night stay. The 1st night it was raining so a walking tour ended up on the veranda and the very loud tour guidgave his entire tour in front of our room. At 1st this was understandable and even fun, but it lasted close to two hours and the 30+ people didn't leave until almost 11:00 pm. The 2nd night, Saturday night, a pub a few streets over was so loud we were awakened at about 1:30 am. The 3rd night, we were awakened about 3:30 am by a person purportedly looking for the bus station. For reasons I won't go into, I believe he was scoping the house out to burgle. The 4th night, we were awakened about 11:30 pm by a lady wanting to rent a room. There is no on site manager after about 6:00 pm but the "vacancy" sign was still on the door. Needless to say, for the amount we paid for a four night rental, we expected to be able to sleep through the night uninterrupted at least one night.

Matthew was very friendly and knowledgable. However, he didn't seem very concerned by the nightly interruptions. The lady who cooks breakfast is wonderful. She is very friendly and helpful. She was much more concerned by all the interruptions than Matthew was. She is also an excellent cook. Even though breakfast is a set menu, she substituted special ordered foods for one of the guests while we were there.

I agree with one of the previous reviewers, eating at Columbia is a must. The food is delicious. The Carriage Way is centrally located. You can walk or ride the trolley everywhere.

Had I not stayed in several B & B's in the past, I would have probably not realized that most (all, in my experience) other B & B's have comfortable furnishings designed to look authentic rather than old, worn out furnishings. I would not recommend Carriage away to our friends nor will I stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Bland4law
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldcityexpert, Owner at Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed review for the first time on Trip Advisor. As we have a great history of entertaining and exceeding guest expectations in comfort and hospitality, we were distressed to read your review. We apologize for not meeting your expectations. Carriage Way has been an iconic B&B for 27 years. Under new ownership for the past 11 months, we have been maintaining lovely legacies while elegantly updating the inn. Your room is accurately portrayed online as well as over the phone and the lower rate reflects its location and décor. The two comfortable chairs are true maintained antiques (not reproductions) that are a matching set calling a Gentleman’s and Lady’s chair.

Prior to your arrival date, during our phone conversation as well as upon your arrival, you were given (as well as all registered guests) a 24/7 after hours assistance line. We are merely a phone call away at all times. I encourage all travelers whether they are enjoying a large resort or an intimate B&B to immediately inform staff of any desires or concerns, so they may be addressed promptly. We deeply wish that you had called the assistance line so that we could have taken care of your needs. For example: We would happily have switched you to another room that suited your tastes or found you accommodations elsewhere; We would have immediately addressed your disturbances at night which I assure you are highly unusual. During the breakfast conversations with you and subsequently with your husband, you conveyed that you enjoyed all of the facts & trivia you learned from the “impromptu” tour on the veranda, and your husband assured that the young man looking for directions posed no threat.

We take our guest satisfaction very seriously at Carriage Way as we are here to serve. We immediately implemented the following to improve the overall guest experience:
1. Notified the tour company to kindly not use our private veranda for impromptu tour staging (although we are a small town and like to help one another out especially during inclement weather.)
2. Posted a sign on the front door asking that the doorbell not be rung after 6:00 pm. As you observed, we do already have a sign posted at the front door directing interested travelers to call the reservation line. We do return after front desk hours to accommodate them.

Carriage Way would love the opportunity should you be in Florida again to give you a “wow experience” as we are continuing this August to renovate our common areas and create beautiful bathrooms in many guest rooms. I am so pleased that Matthew, Inn Manager, and Debbie, Head Housekeeper, gave you friendly, knowledgeable customer service and delicious breakfasts as well as that the inn provided a great location to all that Historic St. Augustine has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We just spent the night with two other couples and had a wonderful time. The rooms are beautiful and the service was great. Breakfast was lovely. Wine and soft drinks are available 24 hours a day. We will all be back soon!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kmdiverniero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldcityexpert, General Manager at Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

"Beautiful B&B" is exactly what we love to hear. We also recently did extensive renovations to make the inn even more beautiful. Next time you and your friends come to St. Augustine, we would love a chance to host you again and show you the new and improved Carriage Way. Thanks for the wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews