We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place I ever stayed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 30 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2011

John and Jeanie were very helpful in our stay at St Augustine's guiding us to the best restaurants and guided tours. They had the horse drawn carriage pick us up at the Carriage Way front door. The room was clean and perfect. We would highly recommend the Carriage Way Bed and Breakfast for good old time service and care.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeandMary_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (933)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

831 - 837 of 933 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2011

My husband and I stayed at Carriage Way this past weekend and I have never written a review before, but just had to for this one. It is a beautiful B&B, the rooms were extremely clean with a very comfortable king size bed. Great location, walk pretty much anywhere. They are very friendly, making you feel like you were a very special guest in their home. The breakfast was delicious, afternoon cookies were super yummy, and a fridge full of drinks was a nice treat. They were extremely helpful in every way and I cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tvc1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

We joined family and friends in the 'take-over' of Carriage Way for a wedding event. The home is very lovely, well suited as a Bed and Breakfast, and the owners/staff went above and beyond to accommodate what amounted to a large, slighty raucous, continous family reunion. Additionally, the "Cottage" 3 doors down was an excellent place for the Bride and her attendants to stay and prepare for the Big Event!
The well appointed rooms with private baths, 5 star breakfasts, at-the-Inn free parking, easy access to anywhere you'd like to visit in St. Augustine and being within walking distance to the central areas of Old Town and the Plaza make this a premier place to stay.
There is no "common room" for gathering, but the two large verandas in this temperate climate provided a unique and comfortable place to relax with family and friends.
We Highly recommend the Carriage Way experience and hope to return for a visit in the near future!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djane58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

This is a wonderful bed and breakfast. Very friendly owners. Wonderful service and an ideal location that is close walking distance to St George Street(the shopping tourist street), the fort, etc. Highly recommend, in fact the next day after we came home, I rebooked them for and April trip we are making to St Augustine. The owners gave me a coupon for a discount for my next stay good for a year and I'm able to use that right away!. You won't be disappointed if you stay at Carriage Way!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allyrn47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

Everything about Carriage Way is great. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable, impeccably maintained and less than 2 short blocks to St George St. Off street parking was a great benefit. I stayed upstairs toward the front balcony and would definitely recommend that again. If you can't do stairs there are lovely rooms downstairs as well. The food was wonderful and the proprietors are top notch! Highly recommen!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn32937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2011

Very gracious people. Parking accomodations are outstanding.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette_In_Jax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2011

We have stayed in many different b&b's in the Old City. This one was by far the best and will be where we spend our yearly retreat with friends. We felt like we were welcome friends visiting in a friends home. The service was excellent and above what was expected. The linens were exquisite and every room smelled clean and fresh. The attention to detail was amazing. The Johnsons truly have the gift of hospitality. And of course the breakfasts! They were delicious, ample, and with great variety. Each day seemed to out do the previous breakfast with fresh baked breads, sweet breads, granola, yogurt, fresh fruits, eggs, meat, AND a main course that just blew us away. Seriously, this place is the best, and no, I am not related. But I do feel like the Johnsons are now our friends. We can't wait to visit again and are sending our son and daughter in law for a reunion when he returns for Afghanistan next week!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southernfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.5 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.1 mi away
44 Spanish Street Inn
44 Spanish Street Inn
#5 of 30 in St. Augustine
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
The Kenwood Inn
The Kenwood Inn
#7 of 30 in St. Augustine
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast

Address: 70 Cuna St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3684
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range: £140 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the "Heart of the Historic District" where you will find the newly renovated Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast. Located amidst restaurants, attractions, museums, and art galleries. Parking is free and on-site. Enjoy a Chef's Choice hot table side served breakfast including freshly baked goods. Complimentary beverages include wine, soda, coffees, hot teas and bottled water plus afternoon deserts and WIFI. Guests 21 years old and up are welcome. You deserve the very best in hospitality, you deserve the Carriage Way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage Way b&b
Carriage Way Hotel Saint Augustine
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing