We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“historic inn in oldest US city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“historic inn in oldest US city”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights, totally delightful inn in the historic district, easy walking to historic sites, restaurants, shopping. The staff is friendly, helpful, and anxious to make sure guests are treated well. You will not get hungry with a late afternoon snack, evening desert, and wonderful breakfast. Our room was clean, bed comfortable, quiet from neighboring rooms and residential street noise. There is a nice patio and second floor porch for relaxing. The dining room is very crowded when most guests eat at the same time, some had to move into the living/sitting room to eat. We recommend the inn and would return without hesitation.

Room Tip: Be sure to check the website since every room on the three floors is different, including at least o...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,009
    109
    17
    9
    12
See reviews for
181
739
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We spent one night in this lovely Inn a few weeks ago and I'm still smiling about the excellent experience I had. The room was lovely with all the charm of the past and all the modern convenience of today. The staff had set out some delicious appetizers which we enjoyed before setting out for a walk around the historic district. We enjoyed the town and the shops and our dinner out. When we got back to the Inn they had set out bags of marshmallows,chocolate,and graham crackers for you to take out to the patio grill and make your own s'mores. Later in the evening they set out a variety of delicious desserts in the dining room. Every encounter I had with the staff was pleasant and they couldn't have been more welcoming or accomodating. Can't wait to make a return visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casselberry
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Registered early, and was shown immediately to our quaint suite -- clean, airy and smacking of days gone by. The bedroom furniture was similar to that I remember my mother having in the late 1930's. The rest of the stay was fabulous -- contributed to by a very friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast menu varied daily with a set background menu of cereals, yogurts, breads and such -- all delicious. The evening social hour was complimented by a selection of locale and California wines -- all good. My only comment is on the snacks which was chips and a dip every night -- some diversification would help. The evening goodies at 8pm were delicious. With coffee and tea available 24/7, and water and soft drinks free during the open hours, it was great!
We really enjoyed.

Room Tip: We had the Elizabeth Suite in the Inn, and it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soc-Trang-Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonsberg, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2014

My husband and I stayed for one night two weeks ago. The Inn was recommended to us and we would love to pass this on. Travelling is partly about the people you meet, the conversations you have with strangers. The Happy Hour with wine and snacks and talking to new people was great, as was the leisurely breakfast the next morning. We stayed in Emily's room with our own balcony, and a jacuzzi in the bathroom. And we were happy to use the free wifi, not everybody offers this service for free. If you go to St Augustine, remember to visit the Lightener Museum - an amazing collection of collections.

Room Tip: Emily's was fine, I'm sure there are many good rooms! Very quiet area of town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarinTonsberg_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This inn is a fantastic place to stay. The staff are extremely friendly & helpful, always going the extra mile to ensure you are having a great stay. The little extra touches they provide make certain your visit will be a memorable one. This conveniently located in the historic district, without being in the busiest part of this area of St Augustine. You can easily walk to great restaurants & most of the historic sites you might want to see. This is a once in a lifetime place to stay. It is also pet friendly.

Room Tip: I recommend the Garden Hideaway as a great room choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Papadup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hernando, Fl
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Thank you SO much for sharing your wonderful Inn experience with us. We have stayed with you at least 6 times! EVERY time has been so very special!!! The Owners and Staff could not be any kinder and helpful. The parking is a GOD'S send! Anna's room was a little small for me. Will be sure to get a suite next time or at least a room with a balcony... But that is MY problem.. The St. Francis Inn is a gift to be treasured!!! Thank you. Susie

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mymackinac_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarac, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2014

First I will like to say Thank you for allowing myself and my friends to make such great memories. We stayed in the cottage and it was amazing.Clean and refreshing. The food, service and Travis TJ was so accomadating and so polite. He lit our fire for Smores and was so helpful with other guests. Thank you and I will be back with my family. I RATE THIS 5 STARS.............Thank you

Room Tip: The cottage was perfect right by the pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.7 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
The Kenwood Inn
The Kenwood Inn
#7 of 31 in St. Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
0.6 mi away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 31 in St. Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 279 Saint George St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-5031
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St Francis Inn is an historic bed and breakfast with Old World charm, located in the nation's oldest city, St. Augustine, Florida. Individually decorated rooms and suites grace the inn, many with whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, and antiques. The peaceful walled courtyard garden is a favorite place to unwind. Gourmet full breakfasts, private balconies and porches, swimming pool, bicycles and evening socials add to the ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Francis Hotel Saint Augustine
St. Francis Inn Bed And Breakfast St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing