We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Placid, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the St. Francis. We were only in town for one night
and did not get a chance to take advantage of all the Inn had to offer, but what we did was
wonderful. Everyone who worked there was very friendly and helpful. You had a sense
while there that the staff liked each other and worked well together to make your stay an
enjoyable one. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and quiet. You also would not
go hungry with all the little snacks and drinks available during the day and the scrumptious
breakfast served to start your day off right. Being located right in the middle of town let you
enjoy the area and never have to use your car while still being in a quiet setting.
I would not hesitate to recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,006
    109
    17
    9
    12
See reviews for
181
736
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Me and my fiancé decided to try out a bed & breakfast with our visit to St. Augustine as we had never been to the old city. Being the oldest with so much history we had to look up a nice room with possible excitement of being "haunted" just to add to the adventure. After careful research and reviews we decided to stay here at St. Francis Inn and we absolutely loved it and will return! The only downfall was when we arrived we were informed the heated pool was broke meaning no heat.. I myself was really looking forward to that part. The people were VERY friendly and helpful and one of the best parts was the fact even after our stay we were able to still come and go with free parking the following day (of course we handed in room keys but we had access to the bathroom and amenities all day). We did breakfast in our room and it was sooo good!! I definitely recommend this Inn! We stayed in "Lillys room", it was nice and cozy. As far as "haunted" the only weird occurrences we had were during the night I awoke to a very cold draft and we had the heat on as it was very cold out. Another during breakfast, as we were eating ONE set of lights over the bed flickered 3 good times.. We just kind of sat and looked at one another.. Then after reviewing the room before leaving and searching luggage we were missing my fiancé's shirt he was going to wear that day. So nothing bad but it was weird and kind of cool. I totally give this Inn an 11! You will love it!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ducatimomma88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSoto, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

the St. Francis Inn is probably the poorest B & B we have stayed in. There was very little heat in the room and two call to the desk didn't help On the call we were told that we must leave the bathroom door open to get hear. The electric firplace was no help either.

It took 6 hours for our room to be made up on the second morning. Unacceptable!
The breakfast were of poor quality and generaly cold. On the last night of our stay the free parking was taken up by a wedding party that was not even staying at the inn. The only thing going for this B & B is the uniqueness of the building.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inkimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly B, General Manager at St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was unsatisfactory. When you notified the front desk that you were cold in your room, our maintenance person was called immediately. Apparently, you had turned on the" flame" light, but had not turned on the heat switch. He also adjusted the vents to help with the heat flow in your room which has vents in the bedroom as well as in the bathroom. That is why it was suggested to leave the bathroom door cracked open, since that helps with the circulation of warm air. After the adjustment the heat was reading 78 degrees coming out of the vents . The front desk staff and the maintenance person checked back with you several times throughout your stay to ensure you were comfortable. Each time you replied, yes, that everything was fine.
When you checked-in, you received a WELCOME LETTER which we suggested you read. It states that "you will receive daily housekeeping service.........If you are not checking out, your room will most likely be cleaned between 1 and 4PM". The letter continues and invited guests to contact the front desk if this time period is a problem.
Yes, several "extra" parking spaces in our lot (30 spaces for 17 guest rooms) were taken (unknown to us) by a wedding party staying at the Inn but not getting married at the Inn. However, none of our guests including you were denied a parking space.

Once again, we are sorry you did not enjoy your time with us.

-St Francis Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake City, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had the best time while we were at the house. Breakfast was the best. Coffee was fresh every time we had some. Staff was great. Very friendly. We love the fact that they had bikes for us to use and man did we use them. We will be staying again real soon.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cwikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This is the "Oldest Inn" in the "Oldest City" in the United States. There are so many things to mention about this place that I would have to list them in no particular order. The staff is amazing, always smiling, always eager to help. The property is charming, antiquated with modern conveniences. The rooms are all unique and well furnished. They offer smore's around the fire in the winter, a one-of-a-kind home made breakfast that is awesome, an afternoon appetizer and open wine/beer offering during social hour, a coffee and tea bar, and smiles all day. They even have a resident cat named Zeke. This is a magazine ready inn, with the best hospitality you will find in St. Augustine. This is home away from home.

Room Tip: Get up early, morning at St. Francis Inn is like something out of a fairytale garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FairytaleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port St. Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We spent three nights here for a family wedding. The entire inn was reserved for the wedding party and guests, so everything was planned and catered to around the wedding schedule. Every staff member we encountered was pleasant and helpful. We thought the room charges were a little pricey, then once we learned all of the amenities and perks that were included with the cost it made a little more sense. The thing I found the most amazing was the quiet. No trouble getting to sleep at all. The Inn itself is remarkable and historic, hard to find a right angle to any of the walls, even the stairs are a little twisted. We stayed in Anna's room on the second floor, one window faced the street, the other faced the courtyard. Room was small by today's standard and the bathroom was tiny. The floor sagged in the middle which caused the bed to be tilted to the right as well. Everything is a few block walk away, but the other homes and history in the area make it a pleasant walk. And can't forget to mention Zeke, the cat, who has far more sightings than any of the aforementioned "spirits" that allegedly have yet to check out of the Inn.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank laci729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floral Park, New York
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed our stat at St. Francis. Location was perfect and we were able to walk everywhere. Met lovely people in the dining room everyday and the inn's staff went out of their way to accommodate us.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dustytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.7 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
The Kenwood Inn
The Kenwood Inn
#7 of 31 in St. Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.6 mi away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 31 in St. Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 279 Saint George St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-5031
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St Francis Inn is an historic bed and breakfast with Old World charm, located in the nation's oldest city, St. Augustine, Florida. Individually decorated rooms and suites grace the inn, many with whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, and antiques. The peaceful walled courtyard garden is a favorite place to unwind. Gourmet full breakfasts, private balconies and porches, swimming pool, bicycles and evening socials add to the ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Francis Hotel Saint Augustine
St. Francis Inn Bed And Breakfast St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing