We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 30 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We booked this bed and breakfast after reading many of the reviews and we were not disappointed. We stayed in the Overlook Room on the third floor. As others have stated, there is no elevator so make sure you pack lightly. We stayed for a three night anniversary trip. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebraC07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,183)
There are newer reviews for St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

505 - 511 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

We decided to visit St. Augustine for the first time to celebrate my 30th birthday. After doing some research on various bed & breakfasts and hotels I was quickly sold on the charm and all the many amenities the St. Francis offered. Once we arrived it exceeded all the expectations I had. The rooms were cozy with lots of charm, breakfast was amazing, we laid poolside one afternoon and had the pool to ourselves with towels, water, and tea all on hand. Having the free bicycles on hand was a big plus and a fun way to tour the city! They had nightly baggies made to make smores over their fire pit which was a lot of fun! The location is great... a little outside the main busy area, but close enough to walk to everything with ease. The staff was super and very helpful in suggestions and making arrangements! ZEKE the Inn kitty made me feel like I was at home and just coming into my apartment. They offer Segway tours on site through another company and that was one of our favorite things we did! Ask for Kevin... awesome tour guide! In room massages with Kelly are amazing! This place just truly has everything that you could want in a vacation. I can't imagine even considering another place to stay when returning to St. Augustine than the St. Francis. This place will truly capture your heart and make you never want to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brooke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was our first trip to St Augustine and since were going to be there for 5 days, so we wanted our "home away from home" to be special. We were celebrating our 37th Wedding Anniversary, after all! After reading all the reviews on all the B&B's in the area...we decided on the St Frances Inn. Our anticipation just built as we arrived in St Augustine and drove down narrow streets made of brick, with beautiful homes and incredible trees. We are no strangers to staying at B&B's, but each one is so unique that we were looking forward to what this one would bring. First of all....this one actually offers safe off street parking, which is hard to come by here. Upon entering the inn, you knew you were walking into history. The St Frances is the oldest inn in St Augustine. The building itself is fascinating to walk through. There are no right angles anywhere in the house, as it is built as a trapezoid. There is almost a fun house feeling when you are on the stairs, but not to worry...you get used to it quickly and it only adds to the special feeling you get while here. Everyone who works there...and I do mean everyone.....is incredible. So helpful and warm, they feel like family. From the time we checked in, we felt we were at home...at least for the next 5 days. They were there to answer questions and line anything up for you that you wanted. Very professional and courteous.

We stayed in the Garcia Suite, located on the third floor. (There is not an elevator...so pack lightly if you are going to stay on the top floor.) Our suite consisted of a little kitchenette, living room, bathroom and bedroom. Plenty of room to move around in. Because it was an anniversary trip, there was a small bottle of champagne and two glasses waiting for us as we opened the door. What a nice touch! There was also a carafe of sherry on the table by the window, which they put in every guest room. Along with the king size bed...the wonderful sheets and the nicely detailed bathroom...we were pretty comfortable.

Now to the food. Holy Cow...there was always food around and it was always really good...starting with breakfast. Every morning we had a hot breakfast with fruit and all sorts of extras. I have to say...the cinnamon rolls were to die for. Guess it is a good thing they weren't put out every day! Later in the day, there were cookies. Social hour brought out some snack type food along with wine and beer. Tea and flavored water was put out all day for you and kept cold and fresh. If that wasn't enough, there was also desert put out later and you could even make s'mores in the beautiful courtyard in the evening. Now to the exercise that you are going to need after all that food. :)

The St Frances is within walking distance to everything, without being in the middle of everything. It is in a quiet part of the town...which is wonderful. We walked just about everywhere...which enabled us to eat the way we wanted. :) But, just in case.... they also have bikes for you to use if you would like.

For your relaxing time at the inn...there is a sitting area inside, along with that beautiful courtyard I already mentioned. There is a koi pond to enjoy and a swimming pool, which is appreciated after all that walking. Zeke, the house kitty is usually hanging around for a little attention, if you are missing your furbaby at home. But, if you are in the mood for socializing...the other house guests are great. We met several great couples and families while there and even one whose Grandfather was stationed on the same ship..at the same time as my Father during WWII. What an incredible coincidence!

Another wonderful option they offer their guests is the use of their beach cottage area out at the beach. There is a bathroom there, beach chairs, umbrellas, towels and drinks for your use at the beach. There is limited parking...about 4 spots, so go early.

The St Frances Inn also has some really nice things you can buy to take home to remember your wonderful trip. We took home some wonderful soap and a great little pottery flower vase.

I would like to especially thank Elle, who usually worked the evening hours. There was one late night discussion regarding the haunted stories of the inn that we really enjoyed having with her, when all was quiet. Please let her know that "someone" did show up on our last night there. Pretty cool and something we won't soon forget. Just made our stay at St Frances that more special.

We are planning on coming back and will stay no where else...but the St Frances Inn. What a special place in a special town! Until next time.....

Room Tip: Top floors are quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gldnpupper27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our reservation (1 night) was made through booking.com and we a received confirmation. When I called St Francis Inn to verify...I learned they cancelled the reservation without notifying us or booking.com. St Francis Inn told me they failed to update their online calendar showing a 2 night minimum and they had plenty of avail rooms. They lied to booking.com saying they were overbooked. No apologies from St.Francis inn. Mgmt. is irresponsible and not trustworthy. Don't waist your time or $!

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeMax, Front Office Manager at St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

We would like to make it clear that you did not stay with us in June even though your review states that you did. We are sorry you were not able to make a reservation with us for January 1, 2015. When we spoke to you (one of at least four conversations we had with you over the phone) we explained that we had no rooms available for a 1-night stay (there is a 3-night minimum for that date and holiday rates are in effect), and that our calendar was not updated for January 2015 at that time. We did not lie to you or booking.com. During these phone conversations we tried to give you other options; we are sorry that none of those options worked for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Our first visit to St. Augustine was a fabulous experience. The staff at St. Francis Inn were exceptionally professional, courteous, accommodating of extra requests, and made us feel as though we were among family. The staff was warm, caring and loving. They showed an interest in making our stay a pleasant one as well as being available at all times. The premises, including the rooms were always clean and landscape well maintained. From breakfast, to social hour to dessert hour: the food was superb!

On a scale of 1-10 I give St. Francis Inn a 20! We plan on going back and referring our friends and family.

Room Tip: Suites are large and comfortable. If money is no object, go for it. No spa at this location, how...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lionel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

A wonderful location in a historic part of St Augustine. Convenient to water, nice walking, and shops. Bike were provided and we used them a bunch to get around and see the sites.
Breakfast was great. Lots of daily variety. They also provide a social hour with snacks and drinks as well as desert at 8 pm.
The best part of the stay was the service from the front desk. From booking rooms, to meals, to helping with excursions. A very friendly small business that I would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PT55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at St. Francis on June 9-12. This was our second visit to St. Francis and is officially our favorite place to stay. We have stayed at other inns in St. Augustine but none as wonderful and relaxing as St. Francis. We will only now stay at the St. Francis. The staff is very helpful, kind and friendly. They will help you with what ever you need. The food is amazing and plentiful. The rooms are very comfortable and charming. We always enjoy our stay at the St. Francis Inn and will def. be back & refer our family and friends:)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sheila m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.3 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Kenwood Inn
The Kenwood Inn
#7 of 30 in St. Augustine
946 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#11 of 30 in St. Augustine
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 279 Saint George St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-5031
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range: £121 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St Francis Inn is an historic bed and breakfast with Old World charm, located in the nation's oldest city, St. Augustine, Florida. Individually decorated rooms and suites grace the inn, many with whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, and antiques. The peaceful walled courtyard garden is a favorite place to unwind. Gourmet full breakfasts, private balconies and porches, swimming pool, bicycles and evening socials add to the ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Francis Hotel Saint Augustine
St. Francis Inn Bed And Breakfast St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing