We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Bayfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Bayfront
Ranked #35 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

This hotel despite having "tiny" rooms had very comfortable beds and very clean rooms. Tom, the desk person, was very friendly and helpful. Tom went out of his way to make us feel welcome. I will stay there again. The view is outstanding and ingress and egress was great.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank thomasv920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayfront, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest:

It is great to get such positive feedback from our hotel guest. I am proud to hear that the staff was very friendly and that your experience was enjoyable. It was truly a pleasure having you stay with us, and thank you for the wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    225
    128
    75
    52
See reviews for
202
343
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

The hotel is close to all historic-area events/shopping/dining. Park for your stay and never have to move your car. Best deal on the waterfront! The whole hotel has been recently renovated with revamped rooms and parking. Rooms are not large, but they are adequate. I have been coming to this hotel in its various incarnations for over 20 years, and it is better now than ever. Special kudos to Manager Sid and desk clerk Debra for their friendly, efficient service.

Room Tip: Bayfront view rooms are our favorites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayfront, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you Susan writing this wonderful review.

We all take pride in delivering excellent customer service and great accommodations. It was a pleasure having you here and we can't wait to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port St Lucie, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

This was our 4th stay here. You can't beat the price for the location. We were able to walk to everything and we LOVE the bayfront! The rooms have been nicely redone since our last stay. The bathrooms are small but adequate and rooms were clean. Check in was easy and we were accomodated with a last minute request for a 1st floor room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Denise V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayfront, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Denise:

It is great to get such positive feedback from our hotel guest. We are always happy to accommodate and upgrade anyone whenever it is possible. I am proud to hear that the staff was very friendly and that your experience was enjoyable. It was truly a pleasure having you stay with us, and thank you for the wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Be sure to verify your room rate. My rate was increased by $27 for the last night I stayed there. They also charge for parking in the hotel parking lot. Do not get a room on the west side of the building because you will hear the music and loud talking at Stogie's across the street.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jerry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayfront, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
I apologize for your recent experience at our property. I will look into and address the issue with the rate, as the rate changes every day. I appreciate you for bringing this to our attention, and we hope for another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Great location ... close to everything, hotel was as expected, rooms are small employees were very nice. Just a little dissapointed in the cleanliness of the carpeting, seemed really dirty. I will attribute that because it is a motel that you are dragging dirt right from outside. Was also expecting the rooms to be a bit more updated. Putting a flat screen TV doesn't cut it, especially forwhat we paid for the room ($250).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FBK000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayfront, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you taking the time to write us this review. It provides with valuable feedback that we take to heart, which allows us to improve on our product. Thank you for mentioning the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff at our property. We are planning to update all the rooms in the next few months so maybe next time when you come to Saint Augustine, the small things you mentioned will be taken care of. I really hope we can accommodate you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

I was in town for a few nights with my wife for a wedding and was forced to use this hotel.

Positives:
-The location is perfect and close to everything.
-The shower water temperature is great

Negatives:
-I have never seen a dirtier hotel room in my entire life and also has an old, musty smell(unless that's just St. Augustine).
-The carpet is BLACK and turns your feet and anything it touches black! Shoe's must be worn at all times!
-Found multiple live ROACHES running out of the sheets, the closet and dresser.
-The hotel gets very limited TV channels and many do not even work.
-Very loud. Noise through the walls and late night noise from surrounding bars is pretty noticeable.
-The beds are rock hard and pair well with the sandpaper pillows. **Bring your own pillow**
-I can't believe I paid $160 a night here.
-It was very clear that no one working there cared about this place at all.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayfront, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you Brian for taking the time out of your schedule to write this review. I'm sorry that we did not meet your expectations when you stayed with us. We are always trying to update our product and deliver the best possible experience to each guest. If you ever decide to stay with us again, please ask for me and I will be more than happy to accommodate you on your next visit to Saint Augustine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

My husband and I went on our anniversary trip and stayed at this beautiful location. We stayed at this hotel when it was "Monterey Inn" in the past and enjoyed it also. We could not ask for a better located spot in the middle of all the attractions, shoppng, dining and entertainment! The hotel staff was more than pleasant and informative. We were welcomed with a small "gift bag" with 2 bottled waters and a small snack. Rooms were extremely clean and apperance was remarkable! We stayed in a King room, however smaller than we are use to, it was the perfect size for the trip we were on. The placement of everything in the room was very convenient and made for easy movement throughout the room. The room was newly updated with historic portraits, small fridge, coffee maker and a microwave. The bathroom was clean with a small window to the historic alley behind. We were worried when we noticed a pub in the alley, but we never heard loud noices or music. Room attendants were very poliet and trustworthy. We cannot wait to plan our next vacation! We are planning to bring back our children this summer for vacation and we will be staying at this location. Highly satisfied!!!!! Thank you for this awesome experience :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayfront, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
This review is truly awesome. Thank you for mentioning the little details that makes all the difference in making a vacation worth it! It is service that sets us apart from our surrounding hotels, and when you couple that with a great location, and nice hotel, the outcome is truly amazing. It was really a pleasure having you stay with us, and we look forward to serving you again if you should ever come back to our beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
#21 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#10 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casablanca Inn on the Bay
Casablanca Inn on the Bay
#30 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#44 of 79 in St. Augustine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bayfront

Property: BEST WESTERN Bayfront
Address: 16 Avenida Menendez, St. Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Bayfront 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you sit on the sundeck of Best Western bayfront overlooking beautiful Matanzas Bay, you'll experience true St. Augustine-style relaxation. Located in the heart of the historic district, our St. Augustine, Florida Best Western Bay-front has a long family tradition of service and quality. Our many wonderful amenities include a swimming pool and delicious dining at our on-site café. For business travel, we feature Internet access, data ports and comfortable workspace in every room. We're also conveniently located adjacent to restaurants and just steps from some of the city's most interesting and exciting sights. For a romantic getaway, try our Honeymoon Room. Or bring the whole family and enjoy in-room conveniences such as cable TV, king - or queen-sized beds, and a refrigerator that's ideal for storing drinks and snacks. For exploring the city, enjoying the beach or simply unwinding, Best Western bay Front is your destination in St. Augustine. We have a $10.00 Parking fee per car per night. Our bay front hotel overlooks the Matanzas Bay and puts you within walking distance of the historic district, including the Spanish Quarter, the Castillo de San Marcos, St. George Street, and countless shops and restaurants well-suited to any taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel Saint Augustine
Monterey Motel Saint Augustine
Monterey Bed Breakfast
BEST WESTERN Bayfront St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing