We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Bayfront
Ranked #35 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed at the hotel 12/26 thru 12/29/13. We had a nice time. Can't say enough how convenient this hotels location was. Walking distance to everything. St George Street was a block away. Restaurants all over. Hotel was nice and quaint. Shower was a bit small but overall great value.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lexer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for your great recommendation! It is great to hear how much you enjoyed our property. We cannot say enough our wonderful and outstanding hotel staff. It really is a great combination for an outstanding Saint Augustine experience. Thank you so much, and we hope to another opportunity to serve you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (805)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

642 - 648 of 806 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

Expensive because it was between Christmas and New Years this place is nothing more than a motel 6..location. Location Location was great, staff could not have been nicer!!!! Wonderful people! Rooms old damp smells!

This area is also very noisy very early sweeping machines cleaning the streets.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chalea8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you taking the time to write us this review. It provides with valuable feedback that we take to heart, which allows us to improve on our product. Thank you for mentioning the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff at our property, the small things you mentioned will be taken care of. I really hope we can accommodate you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This hotel is perfectly located for visiting most attractions. Waterfront upstairs patio is a nice place to enjoy a glass of wine and lots of restaurants near by. The rooms are clean and nice, although a bit on the small side. The building is older but everything was updated and nicely decorated. Similar places to stay with the same conveniences were priced much higher. Good value!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Beverly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for this outstanding review. I appreciate you mentioning our wonderful staff and great location. It was truly a pleasure having you stay with us. I am also to see you enjoyed our beautiful patio. I hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Well, we thought we'd give it a shot, being that we had previously stayed at the "other" Bayfront Inn up the block. While the outside of this establishment looks very nice and well maintained, the room we stayed in left much to be desired. The bathroom looked as if it had been underwater at some point and needed to be gutted. The door was in dire need of replacing. The pillows on the bed felt like they were made of plastic. There was a door to the adjoining room in which at one point before turning in for the night we could hear people in that room talking loudly right by the door.
We came home to find there was another charge on our credit card that included a $7.00 fee for PARKING. When called to have this charge clarified, we were told "You should be happy it's not $25 like the HIlton next door." Oh? Happy? I'm sure the Hilton had informed their guests beforehand that there was even gonig to be a fee for parking.
But that's ok. We'll stay elsewhere the next time we visit St. Augustine, which is pretty frequently.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mare I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

We are very sorry for the unpleasant experience that you had at our property. This extremely uncharacteristic of what our guest experience at our property as other reviewers will attest. The issues you raised will be addressed and I apologize on behalf of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

After staying at the old Monterey in St Augustine many times in the past., I think the the new Best Western Bay Front is a little over priced. However, Best Western has done an excellent job of rejuvenating this motel. The rooms are small, but very clean & accommodating. The bed (King in our room) was very comfortable. The staff was courteous. Considering the convenient location, It's a nice place to stay for a couple of days visiting St Augustine. My biggest complaint is the St. Augustine wide practice of motels charging guests to park in their own lots.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for your great feedback. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and the accommodations we offer were to your satisfaction. I hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed here for a family weekend getaway. We picked this hotel primarily for it's excellent location and price however after staying here, I would have spent the extra money for a better hotel. The hotel room felt very dirty, with mold visible in the bathroom. The carpets felt dirty and there was a musty smell in the air. The worst part was all the noise you could hear from people walking by the room and the late night trolley bells ringing with people cheering. The wi-fi in the hotel is terrible, it didn't work at all. I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank AlohaGoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

We are very sorry for the unpleasant experience that you had at our property. This extremely uncharacteristic of what our guest experience at our property as other reviewers will attest. The issues you raised will be addressed and I apologize on behalf of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

this was our second stay at the Bayfront and it was even better than the first last year; the rooms have been remodeled; the staff is super super helpful and the location can't be beat; i plan on visiting again next year

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the river and make sure to spend some time on the outside deck, especi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yodasm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Guest:
It is great to get such positive feedback from our hotel guest. We are always happy to accommodate. I am proud to hear that the staff was very friendly and that your experience was enjoyable. It was truly a pleasure having you stay with us, and thank you for the wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
0.0 mi away
Casablanca Inn on the Bay
Casablanca Inn on the Bay
#39 of 78 in St. Augustine
715 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#12 of 78 in St. Augustine
654 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Victor, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Villa Victor, an Ascend Hotel Co...
#61 of 78 in St. Augustine
9 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marion Motor Lodge
Marion Motor Lodge
#51 of 78 in St. Augustine
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bayfront

Address: 16 Avenida Menendez Ave, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range: £88 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Bayfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you sit on the sundeck of Best Western bayfront overlooking beautiful Matanzas Bay, you'll experience true St. Augustine-style relaxation. Located in the heart of the historic district, our St. Augustine, Florida Best Western Bay-front has a long family tradition of service and quality. Our many wonderful amenities include a swimming pool and delicious dining at our on-site café. For business travel, we feature Internet access, data ports and comfortable workspace in every room. We're also conveniently located adjacent to restaurants and just steps from some of the city's most interesting and exciting sights. For a romantic getaway, try our Honeymoon Room. Or bring the whole family and enjoy in-room conveniences such as cable TV, king - or queen-sized beds, and a refrigerator that's ideal for storing drinks and snacks. For exploring the city, enjoying the beach or simply unwinding, Best Western bay Front is your destination in St. Augustine. We have a $10.00 Parking fee per car per night. Our bay front hotel overlooks the Matanzas Bay and puts you within walking distance of the historic district, including the Spanish Quarter, the Castillo de San Marcos, St. George Street, and countless shops and restaurants well-suited to any taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel Saint Augustine
Monterey Motel Saint Augustine
Monterey Bed Breakfast
Best Western Bayfront St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing