We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Bayfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Bayfront
Ranked #36 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
244 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

The location for this hotel is terrific. We parked our car and did not have to use it again unless we were leaving town. We were in walking distance to historic St. Augustine, great stores and restaurants.
The view is beautiful. They have a balcony for guests on the second floor that overlooks the bay and it is so relaxing there. However, the room adjacent to the balcony (room 201) gets a bit of the noise from the guests on the balcony. I would not want that room. Our room was rather small, but our friend's room was a nice size. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet. I would suggest that you check out the room before you check in as they are not all the same and some are definitely much better than others for the same price. We will return!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DakotaBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayfront, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
It is great to get such positive feedback from our hotel guest. We are always happy to accommodate and upgrade anyone whenever it is possible. I am proud to hear that the staff was very friendly and that your experience was enjoyable. It was truly a pleasure having you stay with us, and thank you for the wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    224
    128
    75
    52
See reviews for
202
341
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

A two-night stay was very pleasant. Yes, bathroom was small but nice fluffy towels and very helpful and pleasant staff. Home cooked breakfast. Comfy bed and pillows and a comforter for the cool nights.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 118 near the office on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marsha3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayfront, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you so much for your gracious comments. We really appreciate you for taking the time to give us this valuable feedback. I'm am happy to hear that your trip to Saint Augustine was a delightful experience, and that our hotel played a major part in that experience. It was certainly a pleasure to serve you. I hope we have another opportunity to serve you and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal River, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

After a planned trip to NAS JAX, we decided to do an overnighter in St. Augustine for the serious history and sights. We chose this facility on short notice and don't regret it. Yes, the bathroom was a little small, but all was clean. The night staff was helpful and knowledgeable

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayfront, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
It was our pleasure to take care you during your stay last week. I am happy to hear that we left a great impression on you and that you will be back to see us. Thanks again for taking the time write this review, and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eustis, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Have visited St Augustine several times over 32 yrs.. this is the 1st time we stayed so close to town & we loved it! The Best Western Bayfront is a great hotel.. everything there you need for a pleasant visit to St Augustine. We parked our vehicle in the lot and just left it there for 2 days. Bought tickets for the Old Town Trolley tour which picks up right in front of the hotel.. and takes you on a great informative tour to quite a few places all around St Augustine.. get on and off as you please during their daytime hours. Buy your tickets right in the hotel lobby! After Trolley hrs.. it's a very short walk into the old town area.. we love St George Street best. The hotel location is also a short walk to MANY restaurants.. take your pick. We reserved a king bed non-smoking room. It was on the petite size.. but it was just fine for the 2 of us. The room and bathroom was clean with a good air conditioner and had plenty of towels.. sm complimentary toiletry amenities and pillows.. plus a sm microwave.. sm mini fridge and a nice flat screen tv. We were right next to the upstairs deck overlooking the bay.. it was a nice place to sit out there with a drink and enjoy the view. The only problem that we could see was the parking. We got there early enough it was no problem for us.. but as it gets later in the day it gets crowded and congested.. but there is someone out there to help direct.. so it's workable. We were visiting St Augustine to celebrate our 32nd wedding anniversary.. Thanks Best Western Bayfront for completing a great trip.. we'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NormBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayfront, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you so much for your gracious comments. We really appreciate you for taking the time to give us this valuable feedback. I'm am happy to hear that your trip to Saint Augustine was a delightful experience, and that our hotel played a major part in that experience. It was certainly a pleasure to serve you. I hope we have another opportunity to serve you and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

I chose this hotel primarily due to its location. Was pleased that the positive reviews were spot on.

Room was not huge, but was cozy. Had a king size bed, desk/chair, an upholstered chair, mini fridge, microwave, coffee pot & closet. Bathroom with small vanity, tub and small window for ventilation. I know others complained rooms were small, but I'm not there to be in my room all day.

Room was clean. Plenty of towels, pillows and blankets. Recommend room on the same side of the hotel office, as the trolly runs down the street next to the other side of hotel & it could possibly be an issue if you sleep during the day.

Hotel staff were pleasant & answered our questions. Recommend purchasing trolley tickets for the orange & green trolley. The hotel sells the tickets and the trolley picks you up right in front of the hotel.

The fort is only a couple of minutes to walk to. There are also several restaurants next to hotel.

Parking is a bit cramped, but somehow they make if work. You don't really need to use your car to go anywhere, particularly if you use the trolley.

Overall, I would recommend. Think we'll be repeat customers the next time we come for a visit.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank zhillsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayfront, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you so much for the awesome review. This provides us with so much motivation to keep delivering on the things you have outlined in your review. Delivering the best customer service in the hospitality industry is our goal, and our purpose is to make our guest happy. Thank you for the support, and will be sure to acknowledge everyone listed in this review. I look forward to your return, and another opportunity to accommodate your lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

I almost always stay in a Best Western when traveling. This particular Best Western room had an extremely small bathroom and just not the quality you find in most Best Western King rooms. The location was great, the bed was comfortable and the television was nice, but that is about all I can say that was good about this room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sabraj B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayfront, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for not making your stay wonderful. As the leader of our Best Western team, it's my job ensure that all guests have the best stay possible. We hear you loud and clear and will take the proper steps to improve on the area you mentioned. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Great place. great staff, petite rooms, fair price, excellent location, small bathrooms, what else can i say, i will recommend this place and will be back. I haven't heard any noise, all the restaurants and attractions are walking distance, don't be lost as there are 5 different best westerns, stay at the one right in historic area, across from the Fort and bridge of lions.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleonora L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayfront, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for the great words about the hotel. When a guest comes back by choice we know we are doing it right. There are so many options today it really is about comfort and how you are treated. Our team is great and they enjoy what they do, that makes it easier. Looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
#22 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casablanca Inn on the Bay
Casablanca Inn on the Bay
#28 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#9 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#44 of 79 in St. Augustine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bayfront

Property: BEST WESTERN Bayfront
Address: 16 Avenida Menendez, St. Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Bayfront 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you sit on the sundeck of Best Western bayfront overlooking beautiful Matanzas Bay, you'll experience true St. Augustine-style relaxation. Located in the heart of the historic district, our St. Augustine, Florida Best Western Bay-front has a long family tradition of service and quality. Our many wonderful amenities include a swimming pool and delicious dining at our on-site café. For business travel, we feature Internet access, data ports and comfortable workspace in every room. We're also conveniently located adjacent to restaurants and just steps from some of the city's most interesting and exciting sights. For a romantic getaway, try our Honeymoon Room. Or bring the whole family and enjoy in-room conveniences such as cable TV, king - or queen-sized beds, and a refrigerator that's ideal for storing drinks and snacks. For exploring the city, enjoying the beach or simply unwinding, Best Western bay Front is your destination in St. Augustine. We have a $10.00 Parking fee per car per night. Our bay front hotel overlooks the Matanzas Bay and puts you within walking distance of the historic district, including the Spanish Quarter, the Castillo de San Marcos, St. George Street, and countless shops and restaurants well-suited to any taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel Saint Augustine
Monterey Motel Saint Augustine
Monterey Bed Breakfast
BEST WESTERN Bayfront St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing