We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (553)
Filter reviews
553 results
Traveller rating
486
42
16
9
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
486
42
16
9
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit history tour rose house unique property lox coquina walls happy hour quaint hotel modern conveniences king suite cream cheese within walking distance lightner museum small pool continental breakfast is historic district perfect location
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 553 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Collector markets itself as a "Luxury Inn", at a fairly high room rate, plus a daily "resort fee". Luxury was not the term I would use. To be fair, the location is pretty good, the grounds are pleasant, and the staff is friendly. However, the room--at least ours--left quite a bit to be desired. It was a suite, and there were 2 wall-mounted TVs but the layout is old and the bathroom--especially around the counter-less sink--was cramped. But the biggest surprise was the lack of hot water. If barely tepid showers are your thing first thing in the morning, then this is the place for you. The response from maintenance was denial, even though one of the staff went to check and acknowledged the problem, together with poor water pressure. I'm waiting for a call-back from the GM because the value was not there.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie R, General Manager at The Collector - Luxury Inn & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you David for sharing your concerns regarding your recent stay. I am very sorry that your experience was anything but stellar.
Please keep in mind that we are an historic property, some of the houses go back to the 1700's. Each of the 30 rooms and suites are unique and yes, some do have some different layouts. Some of this is due to the fact that we had to add bathrooms to houses that were build before indoor plumbing was the norm.
During the renovation we installed on- demand water heaters on all the buildings. The faucets and rain showers are European and can be confusing.
I apologize for the staff not doing a better job of instructing you in the use of what can be a confusing system.
We are obviously not a resort and the fee you mentioned is an amenity fee which includes things like valet parking, the extensive European Continental breakfast, the history tour and more.
I assure you what you described is not the memories we want our guests to take home with them.
Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had an absolute wonderful stay at The Collector Inn!! Truly was a relaxing getaway-Very friendly and attentive staff; luxury accommodations, beautiful grounds. We really enjoyed sitting in the courtyard at The Well for awesome libations in the evening-don’t miss their continental breakfast! I didn’t want to leave!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank TMDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie R, General Manager at The Collector - Luxury Inn & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hey "TMDavid"
Sorry you had to leave bur rest assured, you can always come back!
We look forward to your next stay!
Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great experience. Everything they advertise is true. In historic district. Walking distance for most sites. Well maintained grounds and amenities. Rooms have flat screen TV and iPad. Not much more to say.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie R, General Manager at The Collector - Luxury Inn & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Greetings "GLS"
Of course everything we advertise is true, Id hate to be here to welcome people if it wasn't LOL'
We are all very proud of The Collector, and love to share it's history with our guests.
Come see us again soon.
Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staying at The Collector is an experience and worth the price! The Well has the BEST happy hours at 5-6 PM and 10-11PM and amazing cocktails. We especially enjoyed taking the bikes around St. Augustine. The location is prime, but just far enough from all the tourists that the compound feels tranquil. The friendly staff were the cherry on top!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank earooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie R, General Manager at The Collector - Luxury Inn & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there "earooney",
Thanks for the great review, we appreciate every word.
Come back and see us again.
Cheers,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018

The required $30 convenience fee was worthless as we did not see any additional “conveniences” that we paid for. Not quite sure what the management is attempting to accomplish with this fee. It would be nice to know what the convenience fee is actually for.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Davidstep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
31concierge, Front Office Manager at The Collector - Luxury Inn & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We apologize if you were unaware of our $30 amenity fee prior to your arrival as we try to make it very clear that this fee is included with every reservation. The fee includes such amenities as our valet parking with in-and-out privileges, our European Continental Breakfast, history tours 3x a week, bottled water, coffee, tea, infused water and lite snacks throughout the day, bicycle rentals, turndown service, as well as a few other items throughout your stay, We hope you were able to enjoy a few of these amenities during your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews