We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and beautiful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casablanca Inn on the Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casablanca Inn on the Bay
Ranked #30 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Very pleased and would stay here again! Free beverages all day and bar credit every night! A great view and worth the money! The rooms are very nicely updated yet still feels homey and quaint! A wonderful place for a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelDiva1084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldestcity, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Bay, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thanks so much! Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    173
    67
    60
    21
See reviews for
63
478
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

we went to this bed and breakfast because we love st augustine and the location was great, the breakfast was delicious, the free coffee and softdrinks were helpful, happy hour was good and the staff went out of their way to be helpful and solve any problem.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Teresa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldestcity, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Bay, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Casablanca. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We've stayed here several times over the last few years. The location is great, having the Martini Bar onsite is fun, breakfast in the morning and snacks at night are enjoyable. Unfortunately, the property just doesn't seem to have been maintained well lately. We even stayed in 2 different rooms in the past week and both had mold in many corners of the shower (I mean a lot of mold) and the one room even had cracked tiles in the built-in seat that were so broken you could just see water pouring behind them and thus helping us to realize where the moldy/musty smell was coming from (the wood under there had to have been so rotted out). This was Room #1 which I understand is no longer able to be rented due to renovations in the Kitchen. We then stayed in Room #3 and were excited b/c it had a separate sitting area. However, the carpet in this area was so stained and dirty and we felt so gross walking on it. The shower had a lot of mold in it as well. The private patio off the side isn't too enjoyable in the hot months as the window AC unit sits right there on the porch with you and spits out water and is quite loud. You also have 2 other window units from the 2 rooms on either side of you running so it's all very loud.

The towels, sheets and beds were high quality and felt great and the staff was very friendly. I think it's more along the lines of the property owners just don't seem to be on property often enough to make sure the regular maintenance and cleaning is being done and the property kept up with in the way it needs to be.

Overall it's an older property that with just some updating and a little tighter job done on the cleaning could really bring it up to par.

Room Tip: I'd avoid room #1 and #3. We prefer the rooms in the carriage house out back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank allyfloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldestcity, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Bay, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
I'm sorry for any issues you had. We have looked in to all the situations you addressed. We are always improving our Historic Inn on the inside and out. We hope you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We've been here before and will be back! The rooms that we've had have always been very comfortable and welcoming. Of course, there will be little creaks here and there... it is a very old building! But that is part of the charm to me. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast in the morning out on the front porch. It is very nice including eggs benedict, mimosas, and very friendly service. Parking in the historic downtown is terrible, so it is really nice to have a reserved spot (it is just a short walk away.) Of course there are some things that you will have to drive to to visit, but if you just want to wander around on foot, Casablanca is in the perfect location. We will stay again next time we are in St Augustine!

Room Tip: This trip we stayed in room #00 (originally #13.) It was a nice room out in the carriage house that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank THaley1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldestcity, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Bay, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Great to hear!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

The worst part of our stay was the 'Sleep Number' bed, horribly uncomfortable. The portable A/C unit in the room was annoying but the fact that it's such an old house it's understandable. The staff were very friendly and attended to any needs we had.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Uglywerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldestcity, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Bay, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
If you decide to stay with us again we have a few rooms with out a sleep number bed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

This place does enjoy a favorable location being in the old historical part of the city and does have a view of the water from the front porch or rooms on the front of the building. The water is across the very busy street so you have to pick up your courage along with your feet to get across. There are some good restaurants with-in a 2 to 3 block or so stroll from the property. The rooms were handsomely decorated when they were new. These are the high points. The low points: My first impression: you have to drive around and around and around blocks and blocks to find a place to park since it fronts on the main very busy street to check in. There is no space held open for people checking in. So I sent my husband around again while I went in to check in. The door frame and door opening into the property was filthy, i really didn't want to touch the handle. We found this condition everywhere. There was no signage directing you to the front desk so I hunted around and found it. I checked in and went back to get my husband so we could bring our bags into our room and find the parking space assigned to us. You go around back to unload which wasn't marked so that was tricky. Then the real fun began. It took us a bit to find the parking lot with our assigned spot which is a couple blocks away. There is a huge tree in the parking lot making it only possible to park our small car with my assistance directing hubby while backing in. Thank goodness we only had to move the car once when they gave us a slightly less stressful space. The only up-side here is that you don't have to pay for parking. The breakfast was only the standard fare, we had hoped it would be better, like some of the other B&B's we stayed in on our trip. It is nice that do give you a drink credit, that's a small perk. Our room fronted on another busy street with the walking and driving traffic noise. I'm not sure if the rooms in the front building are any quieter since they front on the other busy street. The workmanship in the rooms seemed rather like someone did it themselves rather than using professionals. This wouldn't be so noticeable if the paint chips, scrapes and marks on the walls were taken care of. The lack of maintenance is the key here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldestcity, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Bay, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Our town is historic so parking is very minimal. We do however include free parking with your stay. As soon as you do arrive our lobby is right near the front entrance. I'm sorry for any inconvenience you may have encountered. We do wipe down our front doors constantly but with high traffic people leave finger prints. If you had called we could have helped you locate the inn with ease.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, FL
Level Contributor
505 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

What a beautiful Inn, with beautiful staff. Chef Rory's eggs benedict is worth the stay alone. This place has it all...and in a wonderful beautiful location. Checkin was fast and professional and pleasant. Parking is included, as is a $15 daily bar credit. Old Town St. Augustine is very tight with very little parking. Other hotels charge up to $29/daily for parking! The Tiny Martini Bar is a gem in and all of itself. The location is perfect with beautiful views of the bay. What more could a guy ask for...yes very romantical too!

Room Tip: #10 is the best, with great views, hot tub, and all of the amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daytonabeachguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldestcity, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Bay, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thanks so much! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.2 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#9 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bella Bay Inn
The Bella Bay Inn
#54 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bayfront
BEST WESTERN Bayfront
#35 of 79 in St. Augustine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Inn on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Inn on the Bay

Property: Casablanca Inn on the Bay
Address: 24 Avenida Menendez, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3644
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Casablanca Inn on the Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twenty-two luxury suites and rooms in a panoramic bayfront location in historic St. Augustine. Enjoy Matanzas Bay views, whirlpool baths, private porches and sundecks, decorative fireplaces, private entries,and peaceful luxury. Our Tini Martini Bar features a full palette of fine wines and liquors, as well as fabulous martinis, beers and views onto the stunning bay front. Guests can enjoy these views as well as a $15 credit at the Tini Martini Bar plus a $25 credit towards breakfast or lunch in our restaurant Brunch! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casablanca Inn On The Bay Hotel Saint Augustine
Casablanca Inn On The Bay b&b
Casablanca Inn On The Bay St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing