We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Rate!!!”
Review of Victorian House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victorian House
Ranked #13 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Top Rate!!!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed in Hannah's Suite, which was just perfect for my partner, his mother, and me. The room is quaint - just perfect for the three of us - clean, well-kept, and very comfortable. Anthony, Marilyn, and their staff are well-versed in guest satisfaction and hospitality. Marilyn greeted us upon arrival and spent a lot of time making recommendations for dining and activities. I don't think Anthony could have been friendlier or more gracious. Breakfast each morning was delicious and served in a quaint setting. On our first night, we enjoyed tea on the porch while smelling the jasmine that grows all around the area. While it is true that parking is limited in front of the inn, loading and unloading is easy in front of the inn and the main parking lot is only two short blocks from the inn. The location is close to everything in old St. Augustine and only a short walk to one of the trolley stops. Anthony and Marilyn are obviously very proud of their inn (a late 19th century house) and passionate about the bnb industry. Do not hesitate to ask them for help, advice, or how to make your stay better. If this is your first time at a bnb - STAY HERE! They will help you plan a great visit to St. Augustine and steer you away from the wrong place. Our thanks for a wonderful birthday weekend!

Room Tip: Be upfront with Marilyn and Anthony about your needs or any special requests - they seem eager to do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidAndDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victorian House, Owner at Victorian House, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Wow! You just made our week. On behalf of our staff thank you from the bottom of our hearts for your kind words. Wonderful guests like yourselves are a constant reminder of how fortunate we are to be running our small family owned business in such a fantastic location.
We truly do take great pride in our beautiful B&B and we are so grateful that you noticed.
To be a part of your Moms 80th birthday celebration was our great honor.

Thank you

Anthony & Marilyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    60
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
68
324
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norddeutschland
Level Contributor
791 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 602 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

In short: A B&B is for the personal experience and Anthony delivered just that in a very generous and kind way and since all else is also very good: highly recommended.

Long version.

Location. About perfect just a two minute walk to several restaurants and to the waterside, all attractions of the center are within easy walking distance (none more than 10 min away). Very quiet side street so hardly any noise.

Room: Well kept, comfortable and spacious enough, a very comfy bed, a large bath tub (also working as shower) nicely decorated with all the amenities one could wish for. It even had its own porch very nice to sit there and have a wine.

Communal areas. Also very nice and generous enough with wine and sweets in the evening. There is also a nice porch nice to sit there and enjoy the free Amaretto all drinks generously refilled). The eating area was big enough so if you did not like the communal area, you could sit on smaller tables

Food: Anthony clearly is a foodie and that shows.in the breakfast. Not the often typical sausage, eggs and bacon but daily fresh prepared food with some fruit to begin (nicely made) and some main item behind (quiche in our cases) hot from the oven to your table , very tasty and the amount so that you can easily skip lunch.

Hosts: We dealt mainly with Anthony who was extremely helpful in giving good tips about the area, in finding the best restaurants and very knowledgeable also about our next stop. Very enthusiatic and helpful and I am sure if one would adress him with any kind of complaint he would try to immediately redress this.

One thing though, Diretcly at the hotel there are two places for unloading and loading your car and three to park it, first come first serve. If you are number four you will have to walk a short distance to the B&B.

In total we had a very good time in St. Augustine and that was largely due to the B&B and the hosts.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florian254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victorian House, Owner at Victorian House, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to give us such a nice review. It was a great pleasure chatting with you both and helping to plan your exploration of our beautiful city.
I'm so glad we were able to direct you to some great attractions as you continued your trip south.

Thank you

Anthony & Marilyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Great weekend!! We booked Wedgewood room originally. But when we found out our daughter (went to Flagler) could join us, Anthony told us about Hannah's Room. It was perfect! Both beds are in separate bedrooms connected by a tiny hallway and adjoining bathroom with a double nozzle showerhead in the shower. Each bedroom has a unit for climate control. The rooms were all very clean (I'm picky about room cleanliness when traveling). The B & B is located in the historic district close to the tourist area but not in the middle. We received a very pleasant night's sleep both nights with no sound interruptions. Breakfast was amazing. We enjoyed pleasant conversation with guests though there were also small tables available if a couple wanted to speak privately. Breakfast had coffee, fresh OJ, home-made coffee cake and an egg entree (fresh herb fritata and bree-can. bacon quiche on our two mornings). Soda and tea were available upon request. Delicious! Check in and check out were bith quick and painless. Anthony knew a lot about restaurants, services and activities going on in St. Augustine. He offered to help in any way we needed and gave us his cell phone number in case we needed help at any point. Hopefully we can do this again one day, and if our daughter can join us, we know Hannah's room is waiting!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiselTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victorian House, Owner at Victorian House, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review. It warms our hearts to know we were able to make your stay memorable. We enjoyed your lively conversation at the breakfast table and as always it was our pleasure to have a Flagler graduate stay with us.
Our staff is very appreciative that you recognized the great job they do keeping all of our rooms immaculate.

Thanks again

Anthony & Marilyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tampa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed 2 nights in Hanna's suite with our college age daughter. We found the rooms very small, worn and tired. The cozy fireplace mentioned is a nonworking brick edifice with a fake lighting kit and a tacky screen. The only place to sit, which we referred to as the "family room", is the narrow closet (doors removed) housing 2 wooden chairs and a small table with the TV. The beds were very uncomfortable, one hard, one sagging. The bedding so bulky and heavy it took up whatever remaining room there was, towels and bath rugs very thin and worn. Worrisome red shag-like carpet covered the floor in the main room, carpet in the second room was slightly better. The main room is very dark having one window opening up to the walls of the building next door. The walls separating bathroom did not go all the way up to the ceiling, offering very little privacy. The unit is at the back of the house, very uninviting. I can't review breakfast as we were so disenchanted, we didn't want to risk it. Our lodging cost exceeded $500 for the 2 nights! No wonder the owner required a signed receipt upon arrival and before escorting us to our rooms. The rooms were clean, fortunately. That's my only positive. It was just unbelievably over priced.

Room Tip: Just don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InsiderTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victorian House, Owner at Victorian House, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
We are so sorry to hear you had such a negative experience while staying with us.
Customer satisfaction is our number one priority so please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations. We have tried to contact you by phone and email to personally offer our apologies. Perhaps if you had attended one of our socials or breakfast you may have noticed what a great area for chatting with family and friends our parlor is. We also have a large porch with wicker chairs on the front of the house that is ideal for relaxing and chatting.
Our room rates are very competitively priced for Saint Augustine especially considering the fantastic location. There are very few B&Bs in town that offer two queen beds in separate private rooms. It is unfortunate that your take away from the check in process was that we asked you to acknowledge your stay ,it is a necessary document that is required in the event of an emergency. In addition to asking a guest to sign in at check in as is standard procedure for any lodging facility, we welcome you,we give you a map of the town, go over all of the attractions, restaurants, points of interest as well as Anthony's personal cell phone number should you have any need to contact us be it for recommendations, reservations, requests or issues that need attention. Again we apologize for your dissatisfaction and be assured we take your comments very seriously and as small business owners very much to heart.

Thank you

Anthony & Marilyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We had an amazing experience at the Victorian House! We arrived super early not expecting to check in but at least hoping to park. Anthony greeted us warmly and offered us an upgraded room with no extra charge that was available immediately. We gladly excepted. He took the time to sit with us and explain the town and different attractions with restaurant reccomendations. The room was clean with decor appropriate to a Victorian house. The balcony was beautiful and great for reading and relaxing. The location was perfect. Within walking distance to everything and tucked back in a beautiful, historic part of town. Breakfast was excellent and service was superb. A nice touch was wine at 5:00 with homemade cookies put out. Anthony and family really went the extra step to make our stay feel warming and personal. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lissup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victorian House, Owner at Victorian House, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you so much for writing such a nice review. We believe that Saint Augustine has so much to offer that you can't arrive early enough to start enjoying the city. It was our pleasure to have a room available for you before noon. Our staff thanks you for noticing what a great job they do keeping the Inn spotless. We are so glad to hear you are planning to return; Turning guests into friends is a great honor.

Thank you

Anthony & Marilyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Great location with free parking. The innkeepers were very nice and the special touchs with breakfast and happy hour were great. The accomodations we chose were 2 rooms attached with 1 bathroom in the 1 bedroom. It wasn't enough privacy for us .Next time we'll try separate rooms. We would have liked more variety for breakfast. It was too much the same for 3 days together. I also think that our rooms could use remodeling. although the beds were soft .only 1 TV.

Room Tip: Some higher floors have steep outdoor stairs. Not for handicap! Lara's room is not recommended...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nelleFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victorian House, Owner at Victorian House, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate you recognizing the special touches and amenities we offer to our guests.
We do apologize if you felt you did not have enough privacy in your two room King bed suite.
Marilyn did explain to your husband that the room is on the second floor of the carriage house and there is one bathroom in the suite at the time of booking.
We are one of very few B&Bs in town that offer two beds in a room not to mention king beds in separate rooms with a kitchenette. Most people appreciate the budget savings verses booking two rooms but if you are not comfortable using the same bathroom as your travel companions separate rooms are definitely recommended.
During your stay we served Garden omelettes, scrambled eggs with home made home fries, maple sausage, seven cheese with green chili pepper frittata, waffles with fresh fruit and maple syrup, Canadian bacon crusted brie cheese quiche on a balsamic reduction as well as some vegetarian and vegan dishes specially requested by guests not in your party. Also fresh fruit( different every day) with homemade granola and yogurt, fresh baked sweet breads, croissants,biscuits, and an array of fruit juices herbal teas and of course coffee. We are sorry that you felt we did not offer enough variety, we would have gladly tried to provide something more to your liking if you had said something.
We do ask about your dietary restrictions, likes and dislikes at check in. We are sorry we didn't live up to your expectations. Hopefully you will re-visit us in the future and try a room more to your liking.

Thank you

Anthony & Marilyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loxahatchee, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Loved this Bed and Breakfast! Short walk to pretty much everywhere! The only attraction we drove to was the lighthouse. When we arrived to the Victorian House, Marilyn showed us our room and even offered us an upgrade. We just decided to stick with our original room but we appreciated the gesture! Breakfast was great each morning - fruit with vanilla yogart, coffee cake, orange juice, coffee, and a large slice of quiche. (I am really simplifying the deliciousness and elegance of the presentation of breakfast!) Wine was set out in the parlor each evening, as well as, cookies. Just lovely!! My husband and I enjoyed celebrating our one year anniversary there and would definitely return whenever going back to St. Augustine! Thank you for the great experience!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSSherard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victorian House, Owner at Victorian House, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
How wonderful that you chose The Victorian House to celebrate your first anniversary: Thank you!
We are so glad that you had such a wonderful time. We do all of the cooking and baking ourselves, it's one of the things we love to do, and Anthony particularly enjoys the open kitchen where he has the chance to chat with everyone at the breakfast table while he cooks at the stove. thank you for the great review. We look forward to seeing you next year for your second anniversary:)

Happy Anniversary!

Anthony & Marilyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.5 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.1 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#11 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Agustin Inn
Agustin Inn
#10 of 31 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian House

Property: Victorian House
Address: 11 Cadiz St, St. Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Victorian House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian House of St Augustine, Florida having rooms and suites is centrally located in the heart of St. Augustine’s Historic District, Old Town, nestled between the two oldest streets in America (Aviles and Cadiz). Our inn is tucked away from traffic noises but is a close walk to the center of town, City Marina at the bayfront and to historic sites and activities. Sit on our porch, listen to the horse-drawn carriages clip-clop down Aviles Street, and experience the charm of Hotels St Augustine FL in Victorian comfort. St. Augustine FL is revered as a gateway through time, a city in which to discover the early history of Florida as well as America’s oldest community. Having prospered almost 450 years, St. Augustine proud to be referred to as the oldest city in the United States, and will celebrate those 450 years with some great events throughout the year and a grand fiesta in September. The perfect place for your romantic weekend in St. Augustine, Victorian House was built in 1895 and meticulously restored in 1983. There are guest rooms in both the Main House and in the Carriage House–each lovingly trimmed with unique touches and comforting heirlooms. For the utmost convenience, all rooms feature private baths some with double Jacuzzi tubs, fireplaces, and private porches. This Victorian bed and breakfast is the perfect setting for your small wedding, elopement, or vows renewal and offers various packages created to fulfill (if not exceeed) your individual needs. Choose the beautiful Victorian parlor or small garden as your ceremonial spot. Inn hosts Anthony and Marilyn will help you plan your special day! Though we’re located in St. Augustine’s beautiful historic district, we’re not far from the beach, shopping, local attractions, and so many great things to do it will make your head spin! If you’re into auto racing, consider staying in St. Augustine at the Victorian House while visiting Daytona in January, February, or March for Daytona speed week and the Daytona 500 or in July for the Daytona 400. If you’re a motorcycle aficionado, St Augustine is the place to be during spring break / Daytona Bike Week or in October for the Biketober Fest. Golfers enjoy World Golf Hall of Fame and Resort golf course and museum, just a few remote miles north of Downtown, while they enjoy staying downtown at Victorian House Bed and Breakfast. Holidays are special times in St. Augustine. Come visit in December to experience our city’s Nights of Lights (on National Geographic's Top 10 light displays in the world), and the annual Saint Augustine Bed and Breakfasts Tour. Watch spectacular fireworks on the fourth of July. St. Augustine Art Walks On the First Friday of every month experience Saint Augustine's Art Walk featuring local and guest artists. Artists and musicians share our City as their canvas introducing us to wonderful sights and sounds. In October enjoy the St. Augustine Bed and Breakfast Romantic Writers Tour. Weekly summer Concerts in the Plaza and Changing of the Guards at the Government House. Whatever brings you to town, we hope you’ll consider staying at our lovely St. Augustine bed and breakfast, the Victorian House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Victorian House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian House Hotel Saint Augustine
Victorian House St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing