We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious and Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This B&B was beautiful and luxurious. We stayed in the Caroline room which was nicely decorated and comfortable. The large tub and spacious shower were great after a hot day. The breakfasts were delicious. The inn provides an interesting historian to come give a wonderful talk about St Augustine's past, present, and future 3 times a week. You can also get information, tickets, and reservations to local attractions right there which was very helpful. I love the mug I was able to purchase as a momento.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamonaR123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJoy, Owner at Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

We love the title of your review, thank you! Caroline's is a popular room with many of our guests because of the large tub and double shower. It is our pleasure to provide the concierge service, as well as the storyteller. Enjoy your mug and come see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

715 - 721 of 1,306 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

So excited to find out our B&B was right on the bay--such a beautiful view when sitting on the porch having breakfast. Plus we were close to some nice restaurants and attractions. We thought the staff did a wonderful job. Also we found our bed comfy and our room had everything we needed (we stayed in the Minorcan room).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vgp95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJoy, Owner at Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for such a lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your time here at the inn. Your compliments for the staff will be passed along. Hope to see you both again soon. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We had a great time here. The staff will take care of anything you need. They make sure you are informed on all the sites and restaurants in the area. Great attention to detail here! My wife and I stayed for our 10 year anniversary and would recommend the play to anyone.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mikeraz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJoy, Owner at Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Happy anniversary, and thank you for your wonderful review. We try to make sure that your every wish is taken care of while you stay with us, and are very happy to hear that we were able to do that for you! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was a very difficult getaway for us, my husband is terminally ill and we do not know if he will make it another month or two, but I wanted to take hi to one of his favorite getaways, St Augustine. Instead of staying at the regular hotels we normally stay at, I decided to search for a bed & breakfast. The Bayfront Wescott Inn was the only one I found which was wheelchair accessible. From the moment we arrived for our three night stay, we were made to feel more than welcomed, like we were the most important guests (funny, in talking to other guests, we all were made to feel that important)! They took the time to take care of our every need and some we didn't even know we had. From the beautiful appointed spotless rooms to the delicious breakfast, I truly have never had a better stay! Thank you for helping my husband and I create some more great memories!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJoy, Owner at Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hi Kelli, we are so happy that we could give you and your husband a special trip, and lasting memories! Every person that stays at the Westcott is very important! We wish you all the best! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We booked 2 nights on Expedia and paid $319 per night. Upon arrival we were told Alison's Loft was the only room available (this room was advertised for $269 on this weekend).

Alison's Loft is converted attic space with a steep narrow stairway, 7 foot ceilings, NO SHOWER, a window unit AC and a bathroom with a ceiling so low you CAN'T STAND UP without hunching over. There are no pictures of this bathroom on the website, so I included one!

Owner said she was sorry, but when she got the booking from Expedia, this was the only room she had available. I can only wonder why she didn't CONTACT US IMMEDIATELY upon receiving the booking to explain that the room we paid for wasn't available. She initially offered us "trolley tickets" to make up for the mistake! Only after our request did the owner refund the difference in the room rates ($50/ night) but we never would have booked this room at any price. Owner said we should call the Inn directly instead of using Expedia. I find it unacceptable that an Innkeeper would ask a customer not to use a booking service from which they accept reservations.

My opinion is that a difficult situation such as this reflects the true character of a business owner, and I feel that this owner failed from the time of booking.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank wildrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJoy, Owner at Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

I apologize for this situation. Please understand that we do not deal directly with Expedia. We list our availability on BedandBreakfast.com who distributes our info to their booking partners. The only contact information we get is the customer’s email address, and we absolutely should have emailed you with regard to the fact that we did not have available the room type you requested, giving you the opportunity to decide for yourself if Alison’s Loft would suffice. We are not at all happy with the process of booking through outside sources nor do we like having to offer to those sites availability based on a room type versus specific rooms. We already have in the works a solution to this problem; unfortunately, we were not able to have this new system in place in time to avoid what happened to you.

We would suggest to anyone reading who does frequent booking engines versus booking direct for smaller lodging facilities like a bed and breakfast, if you are booking a room type, it is always wise to just call the establishment or visit their website. You’ll often find better deals and you’ll have piece of mind knowing you are getting exactly what you want. This is not a Westcott House specific problem; this process is tenuous at best (when booking room types versus specifics). Always read closely your confirmation letter and visit the vendor’s personal website to view the room you have been assigned to make sure the experience you are hoping to have is indeed the one you are going to have. If not, call them right away.

To reiterate, we have already taken the bull by the horns with regard to this issue and are taking serious steps to ensure this does not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My wife and I wanted to stay in a nice Bed & Breakfast for the last leg of our 10 day honeymoon vacation. We had gone out of our way to find and pay pay (extra if needed) to make our wedding and honeymoon as flawless and perfect as possible. After a lot of deliberation we decided on a Bed & Breakfast since this was our honeymoon and nether of us had ever stayed at one before. After may more hours of deliberation, we decided on the Bayfront Westcott house because of there location, reviews and the pictures of their rooms. Everything about our stay was pleasurable. We stayed in "The Rachel" and it was amazing. Please be forewarned that if you stay in the lower level rooms in the Carriage House that you can hear the upstairs occupants walking around and using the amenities. When we booked the room, the staff made sure we understood this, and since the room was so amazing in the pictures, we decided it wasn't an issue. So this is in no way a complaint because staying in The Rachel was worth the slight inconvenience of hearing the upstairs occupants using the restroom, this is just a warning to anyone who this might be bothersome to. The upstairs rooms in the pictures were also very beautiful, but The Rachel was the one for us. The view of the bayfront during the amazing, delicious breakfasts they served while out on the patio was excellent. The service from Joy and all of the staff was perfect. They really went of their way to make us feel at home. If you are willing to pay the extra to stay at a bed & breakfast vs. a hotel/motel, this is definitely one that you should stay at. We will stay here again if given the opportunity to return to Saint Augustine.

Room Tip: Average rating for "Value" because the cost is the same average as other B&B's in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJoy, Owner at Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Hi Michael, Congratulations on your recent nuptials, and thank you for choosing to stay with us on your honeymoon. We appreciate your feed back on Rebecca's room. Hopefully you are now addicted to bed and breakfasts from this point on! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Wescott has it all, gorgeous views, peaceful atmosphere, top of the notch staff and convenient to the historic district. We really enjoyed the storyteller and the social hour as well. We will definitely return to this bed and breakfast during our next trip to St. Augustine.

Room Tip: Alison's room is so nice if you can get up the narrow staircase. The room does not have a standi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youngcoupletravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewJoy, Owner at Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so pleased that we were able to make your visit memorable and look forward to seeing you again. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.3 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 31 in St. Augustine
971 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn On Charlotte
Inn On Charlotte
#4 of 31 in St. Augustine
1,113 reviews
0.5 mi away
44 Spanish Street Inn
44 Spanish Street Inn
#5 of 31 in St. Augustine
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 146 Avenida Menendez, St. Augustine, FL 32084-5049
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range: £157 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At this romantic St Augustine B&B, (the only one on the bayfront), we'll coordinate your every wish & spoil you every second. Chocolate-covered strawberries, in-room massages, breakfast on the veranda (or in bed), evening social hour (hosted by a professional storyteller on Mon & Wed), romance packages, in-room Jacuzzis, and so much more! Our quiet bayfront location is within walking distance of dozens of restaurants, galleries, shops, and sightseeing attractions. Bayfront Westcott House--One of the Best Florida Getaways! - Dream Travel Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayfront Westcott House Hotel Saint Augustine
Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing