We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Inn in a quiet neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cedar House Inn
Ranked #1 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southern Illinois
Level Contributor
166 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Inn in a quiet neighborhood”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This is our second time staying at a B & B in St Augustine. Last year we stayed at the Casablanca which was pricey and noisy. We choose the Cedar House Inn because of the trip advisor rating. We were well please with the accommodations in this Victorian Inn. Cyndi had the grounds and house decorated so beautifully for Christmas. We stayed for two nights and were well taken care of. One morning we had "sweet" pecan Belgium waffles with bacon and a bird of paradise fruit plate and the second morning we had the "savory" quiche with teardrop sausage and a fresh fruit cup with banana nut bread croutons, both of which were delicious.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
522
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The Cedar House Inn was the most wonderful and perfect venue for our fall wedding. Every aspect from the beautiful Victorian décor to the absolutely scrumptious breakfasts were impeccable. Cyndi and her staff are phenomenal. The attention to detail, from the obvious to the behind the scenes, were fantastic. The Cedar House Inn is truly a "home away from home" destination. This wasn't our first stay and certainly won't be our last. If you are planning a trip to St. Augustine The Cedar House Inn is the place to stay!!

Julie & Scott Harrison

Room Tip: All the rooms have their own individual charm. It really just depends on what size bed you want. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We have returned from spending two days at The Cedar House Inn,the experience was one not to be missed!
Cyndi and her staff are very welcoming and hospitable,nothing is too much trouble.
The ambiance,cleanliness and attention to detail is fabulous.Cyndi is keen to be of assistance and genuinely presents as being keen to help make the experience of St.Augustine a great one from start to finish,be this in her lovely home or eating out etc.
The food at The Cedar House Inn is exceptional and Cyndi will cater for individual needs without hesitation.
Everything is wonderful at The Cedar House Inn, we could go on and on about how much we enjoyed staying there, the lovely rooms, exceptionally comfortable beds and soft bedding, the well presented bathroom, private balcony, complimentary port,wine,soda, home made cookies (we only got one - as soon as they were made thet disappeared ! Our advice - try The Cedar House Inn for yourselves!

Room Tip: We had a sneak peek at all the rooms, they looked wonderful,we wanted a private balcony to enjoy a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 56Saintsfan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerfield, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We have stayed at B&Bs around the world, and this is one of the best. We arrived a little early, but Cyndi invited us in and gave us lots of great information about St. Augustine. She suggested several restaurants for dinner and made a reservation for us at Collage in Sunday evening - fabulous!!

Everything is over the top at Cedar House Inn - from the room to the common areas to the breakfast. We can certainly understand why Cedar House Inn receives top rating at TA.

The location is perfect. We parked our car when we arrived on Friday and didn't take it our until we left on Monday. It is very close to the tourist area and every restaurant is within walking distance.

Our room was spotless. Our bathroom was small and funky - almost round tub with jets. The only problem was a loose faucet in the sink, but the water was plentiful and hot!!

Cyndi is the pent ultimate hostess. Our weekend was early in the World Series, and Cyndi is a huge Red Sox fan, as were several other guests, so we had lots of exciting conversations.

Our room was right off the dining room and Cyndi advised that it would be quiet. This was true except for Sunday afternoon when several couples were loudly talking in the living area. Sound carried to our room and it was difficult to nap. But for the whole weekend, this was so minor!!

We had the pleasure of observing a wedding happening on Saturday afternoon in the garden. What a wonderful gift for a romantic B&B in a romantic destination! Thank you1!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaRetiree2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My husband and I just stayed here this past weekend after reviews that we read on different sites. We stayed for our Anniversary. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, Cyndi was incredible and accommodating, helping us with restaurant ideas, things to do, etc. etc. Her recommendations were exactly what we were looking for. The inn is in a great location and very quiet compared to some of the other B and B's we considered-somewhat off the beaten path. The breakfasts were wonderful, leaving us full for a big part of the day. We are very happy we stayed here and will definitely return and recommend to all family and friends. Not sure it gets any better than this!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colts Neck
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We just returned from our trip to St. Augustine celebrating our anniversary and stayed at the Cedar House Inn. All of these wonderful reviews are TRUE! You will not find a more gracious accommodating hostess as Cyndi. She made us feel comfortable and was very helpful recommending sight-seeing tips and places to dine. The Inn is beautiful Victorian style as depicted in the photos with both interior and exterior access to rooms from balconies to sit. The location is ideal on a nice QUIET side street literally around the corner and within easy walking distance to museums, restaurants and old town. Onsite parking really helps. Lastly, oh my! Cyndi’s breakfasts are divine!! Each entrée should be a picture in a Southern Cooking magazine for artistic appeal and SO WONDERFUL to eat!!! My husband and I highly recommend the Cedar House Inn as you will have a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forks56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our two night stay at Cedar House Inn. Cyndi made us feel welcome and comfortable right away. She is a wonderful hostess, no detail left undone. The house is beautiful, in period and very clean and tidy. The breakfasts were truly unbelievable! A big WOW every morning. The room (we stayed in The Gables)was very well appointed daily housekeeping well attended fresh baked delish cookies beautiful grounds-good job Beth!, and the list is endless. Stay here you won't be disappointed!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#12 of 31 in St. Augustine
491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 31 in St. Augustine
870 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kenwood Inn
The Kenwood Inn
#7 of 31 in St. Augustine
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cedar House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cedar House Inn

Property: The Cedar House Inn
Address: 79 Cedar Street, St. Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cedar House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar House Inn Bed & Breakfast is located in the heart of St. Augustine's historic district. Recapture the elegance of the charming Victorian Era while enjoying 21st Century amenities at Cedar House Inn. Romance and History come alive at the beautifully restored 1893 Victorian home of Cynthia Humphrey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Cedar House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cedar House Hotel Saint Augustine
The Cedar House Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing