We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word...INCREDIBLE!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Augustine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cedar House Inn
Ranked #1 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 December 2013

I'm always a bit nervous about B&B's, instead of a chain hotel, because at a chain, you know what to expect. Maybe not always great, but, predictable. Honestly, I don't know how you could do better than this inn!! VERY clean, very friendly inn keeper, and the room itself was wonderful! The furnishings, decorations, and especially the bathroom (a place I'm SERIOUS about clean!) were ALL beyond beautiful!

We booked a second room as a special gift for family, and they felt like they were visiting royalty!

The location of the inn was perfect-it's close enough to all the central St. Augustine activities, while being just far enough away to enjoy a peaceful setting!

I have to make a special mention of the breakfasts, though. They were 5 star all the way!! Gourmet, but in a good way- VERY tasty!!

The BEST accommodations I've ever experienced at a price that is within reach!!

Room Tip: The Grove is a very small room, with private bath, thus a less expensive option, but VERY nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dakota P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this gorgeous Bed and Breakfast. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like family. Cyndi greeted us at the door and asked us to have a seat. She went over suggestions for dinner and things to do and outlined them on the map for us. She told us all about the Inn and where the free wines, sodas, and waters were located.

We stayed in the St. Augustine Grand room. This was the only room downstairs and it was located close to everything. We enjoyed the jetted tub and the porch access. The only thing I would say is not to book this room if you are planning to sleep in (but I don't know why you would want to miss those wonderful breakfasts!!). This room is right beside the dining room so around 8am each morning you could hear the chatter of guests so it wouldn't be good if you are a light sleeper. We didn't mind because there was no way we were missing those breakfasts that Cyndi was cooking! They were AMAZING. You don't want to miss any of them.

At night, we sat on the front porch playing board games and enjoying drinks. We also spent time watching the trollys and tours come by and chatting with other guests who were enjoying the front porch.

We never moved our car once we parked at the B&B. Everything was in walking distance. We had an amazing time and we will be back the next time we are in St. Augustine. I am also going to suggest this to my friends and family. Everything was perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmandaKaye79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My wife and I just came back from our week long honeymoon at St. Augustine and our stay at the Cedar House Inn. Cyndi, the owner, was so hospitable, and made us legitimately feel like we were at home. When we first arrived she chatted with us about things to do in town, and about the bed and breakfast itself.
At the end of our first day in town, I needed to mail some postcards to loved ones back home, and asked Cyndi where the local post office was located. She offered to mail them out for us. Cyndi really went out of her way to make certain that we were comfortable and that we were enjoying our stay.

Also, the breakfasts there are exceptional! There are no other words to describe it. We were wowed every morning with a breakfast that not only was pleasing to the palate and filling, but was always fresh and beautifully presented as well.

We plan on going back to St. Augustine for an anniversary and will certainly book early in advance to make sure we get to go back to the Cedar House Inn!
I would, without hesitation, recommend this Victorian era Bed and Breakfast to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 283Travis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My wife and I were looking for a B&B in the St. Augustine Area to celebrate our one year anniversary. After reading all of the reviews on Trip Advisor we decided to stay at The Cedar House Inn.

When we first checked in Cyndi showed us around the Inn and to our room. She also made suggestions about which restaurants to try and which ones to avoid. Since she obviously knew the area well we asked her to make our reservations for us. The restaurants she picked were fantastic and exactly what we wanted.

In Short I would highly recommend the Cedar House Inn for a number of reasons. For one it is a short walk to the downtown area but not in the middle of it. There are several late night bars and organized pub crawls in the downtown area. I can only imagine how noisy it can be. The rooms are great and exactly what I would expect from a Victorian Bed and Breakfast. I especially enjoyed the jetted hot tub that was in our room. (We stayed in the Biscayne) I'm not a big breakfast eater but the breakfasts were amazing. Even the brownies she left out in the afternoon were great. There is always complimentary wine, soda, water, and snacks that are available. And finally Cyndi is always available to give suggestions about restaurants or local activities. My wife and I would never consider staying anywhere else.

PS: If you are a Boston Red Sox fan you should let Cyndi know.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong no matter which room you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Florida__Leo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This is our second time staying at a B & B in St Augustine. Last year we stayed at the Casablanca which was pricey and noisy. We choose the Cedar House Inn because of the trip advisor rating. We were well please with the accommodations in this Victorian Inn. Cyndi had the grounds and house decorated so beautifully for Christmas. We stayed for two nights and were well taken care of. One morning we had "sweet" pecan Belgium waffles with bacon and a bird of paradise fruit plate and the second morning we had the "savory" quiche with teardrop sausage and a fresh fruit cup with banana nut bread croutons, both of which were delicious.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank macska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The Cedar House Inn was the most wonderful and perfect venue for our fall wedding. Every aspect from the beautiful Victorian décor to the absolutely scrumptious breakfasts were impeccable. Cyndi and her staff are phenomenal. The attention to detail, from the obvious to the behind the scenes, were fantastic. The Cedar House Inn is truly a "home away from home" destination. This wasn't our first stay and certainly won't be our last. If you are planning a trip to St. Augustine The Cedar House Inn is the place to stay!!

Julie & Scott Harrison

Room Tip: All the rooms have their own individual charm. It really just depends on what size bed you want. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We have returned from spending two days at The Cedar House Inn,the experience was one not to be missed!
Cyndi and her staff are very welcoming and hospitable,nothing is too much trouble.
The ambiance,cleanliness and attention to detail is fabulous.Cyndi is keen to be of assistance and genuinely presents as being keen to help make the experience of St.Augustine a great one from start to finish,be this in her lovely home or eating out etc.
The food at The Cedar House Inn is exceptional and Cyndi will cater for individual needs without hesitation.
Everything is wonderful at The Cedar House Inn, we could go on and on about how much we enjoyed staying there, the lovely rooms, exceptionally comfortable beds and soft bedding, the well presented bathroom, private balcony, complimentary port,wine,soda, home made cookies (we only got one - as soon as they were made thet disappeared ! Our advice - try The Cedar House Inn for yourselves!

Room Tip: We had a sneak peek at all the rooms, they looked wonderful,we wanted a private balcony to enjoy a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 56Saintsfan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.1 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
The Collector - Luxury Inn & Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 31 in St. Augustine
985 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kenwood Inn
The Kenwood Inn
#7 of 31 in St. Augustine
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cedar House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cedar House Inn

Address: 79 Cedar Street, St. Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range: £107 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cedar House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar House Inn Bed & Breakfast is located in the heart of St. Augustine's historic district. Recapture the elegance of the charming Victorian Era while enjoying 21st Century amenities at Cedar House Inn. Romance and History come alive at the beautifully restored 1893 Victorian home of Cynthia Humphrey ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cedar House Hotel Saint Augustine
The Cedar House Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing