We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cedar House Inn-A pearl in St. Augustine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cedar House Inn
Ranked #1 of 30 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

It was our first time in St. Augustine and we wanted a nice place to stay. We loved the Inn and Cyndie treated us like family. The breakfast was outstanding especially the crispy waffles and fresh fruit cup so beautifully served. It was almost a shame to eat it it was so nice :) Cyndie went out of her way to accommodate us. We highly recommend her place to anyone wishing to visit St. Augustine.
Thank you again Cyndie!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kingkrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (703)
There are newer reviews for The Cedar House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 703 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just returned home from our second anniversary getaway at The Cedar House Inn. Everything was fabulous (as it was the first time). The rooms are gorgeous. The location is great for walking around to historical sites, shops, restaurants, and the bayfront. Also the breakfast is unbelievable! Cyndi is very knowledgeable about the area and can offer great recommendations to make your stay even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Totally faultless! Fabulous house, perfect in every period detail. Loved all the stained glass - so very turn of the 19th century yet fresh and modern at the same time. We stayed in The Gables room and loved it. The decor is light and bright, yet still period in feel, with a beautiful, newly remodelled bathroom. We prefer a shower to a bath so the large walk-in shower suited us perfectly. Other rooms have bathtubs for those who prefer a bath. A highlight in our bathroom was the beautiful opaque stained glass window which shed a lovely hint of color. We had a bijou private balcony on which to enjoy our early morning coffee under the dappled shade of a nearby tree - perfect for pale-skinned Scots! Some rooms have larger, sunnier balconies. The parlour was absolutely charming, as was the adjoining breakfast room. We loved starting the evening in the parlour with a glass of chilled white wine, and ending the evening back in the parlour with a glass of port, leafing through the journals thoughtfully provided, or maybe trying to complete a section of the 1,000 piece jigsaw, or looking through the wedding photobooks gifted by couples whose weddings were hosted at Cedar House.

And so to Cyndi, the owner and host whose style and good taste make Cedar House so exceptional... There is a danger of running out of superlatives! Cyndi is the epitome of Southern hospitality, a wonderful, charming host - she deserves ten stars out of five! AND she's a gourmet, cordon bleu cook!!! Her breakfasts are gastronomic delights!

The location is absolutely perfect, just a hop and a skip from King Street and George Street, the main thoroughfares, with a stop for the sight-seeing trolley bus just round the corner. Having only one full day in St Augustine, the trolley tour proved a great way to see the city, especially in temperatures in the 90s. Cyndi was able to get the tickets for us at a discount on the ticket booth price. Cyndi's dinner recommendations were minutes away on foot and both evenings we had wonderful meals. Our first choice, Collage was booked out on a Wednesday evening, so we tried Casa Maya for a delicious meal served on a secluded patio, and booked for the following evening at Collage which again was full the entire evening, and deservedly so.

We would thoroughly recommend Cedar House to friends and family and will definitely return. Our only regret about our stay? We only booked for two nights! St Augustine deserves a longer visit and Cedar House is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

This was the best weekend getaway! This B&B will transport you back in time. Absolutely amazing! There is not one negative comment. From the minute you walk in you will feel like you have arrived home. The inn keeper/owner, Cyndi, was so welcoming and proved to us why so many guests keep coming back. We highly recommend The Cedar House Inn... You will NOT be disappointed!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 722nancyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We were at the Cedar House for 3 nights for our 40th anniversary and found it to be an exceptional experience. Cyndi was a wonderful host and her staff were exceptional. We stayed in the Sanibel room which is on the 1st floor with an outside entrance and found it to be very comfortable and well appointed. The breakfast every morning was a culinary delight.. The house is located 1 block off King St and 1 block from the Lightner Museum which makes it walking distance from all of the historic area and several outstanding restaurants.
We would recommend the Cedar House without reservation and will definitely stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Look no further! The Cedar House Inn was such a wonderful part of our St. Augustine experience. This was not only our first trip to St. Augustine, but we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. The owner Cyndi was delightful and not a single detail was missed here. She gave us a lot of insight about what to do in town including places to see and great restaurant recommendations. It's a beautiful old historic building that has been thoughtfully and tastefully restored. We chose the Sanibel room which honestly would go toe-to-toe with any 5 star hotel room. It was in a nice location on the first floor and included a Jacuzzi tub in the room. Breakfast was magnificent and you probably won't need lunch later in the day. The Inn itself is conveniently located within walking distance to all that the city has to offer. We also felt like we made a lifelong friend in Cyndi. You'd be making a huge mistake if you choose to book at a large hotel. Wondering how this place can have not a single negative comment??? So was I.....but that became quite obvious shortly after arrival. Thank you Cyndi!

Room Tip: Enjoyed the Sanibel room on the first floor. It was quiet and included a Jacuzzi in the room. Also...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This traditional Victorian is one of the nicest places we know in the US and we just returned from a little early summer break in Fl. Great breakfasts and good location. The town is crazy with loads to do and loads to see - and its nice to come home after a day out in the heat.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.1 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 30 in St. Augustine
930 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#12 of 30 in St. Augustine
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cedar House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cedar House Inn

Address: 79 Cedar Street, St. Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range: £110 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cedar House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar House Inn Bed & Breakfast is located in the heart of St. Augustine's historic district. Recapture the elegance of the charming Victorian Era while enjoying 21st Century amenities at Cedar House Inn. Romance and History come alive at the beautifully restored 1893 Victorian home of Cynthia Humphrey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Cedar House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cedar House Hotel Saint Augustine
The Cedar House Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing