We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Powder House Inn
Ranked #15 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Can't praise the Old Powder House Inn enough. Suzanne and Bob are terrific hosts and go out of their way to accommodate. The breakfasts were scrumptious, definitely gourmet, in a splendid atmosphere. The room was very nice and the Inn was beautifully decorated for Christmas. We enjoyed spending time in the parlor visiting with the other guests and indulging in the baked goodies and drinks. The location is perfect, within easy walking distance to everything. Suzanne and Bob can tell you all you ever wanted to know about what to see, where to eat, etc.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    18
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
30
167
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lutz, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

We just spent a wonderful weekend at the Old Power Inn. New owners Bob and Suzanne Hailey are relative newbie innkeepers--but maybe that's why they try harder! The rooms are lovely, and the little extra surprises we found there were a nice surprise. Suzanne is a former personal chef, so you can just imagine how yummy the breakfasts were! But most important, we found their warmth and sincerity the best part of the stay. You can tell that this is a lifelong dream for them, and they seem to be enjoying every minute of it! They are located right in the heart of the old city, and we were able to walk to everything.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Victorian Rose room--lovely. It looks out to the front porch but not directly to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

It was our first time staying at The Old Powder House Inn – and our hosts Bob & Suzanne, as the new owners, definitely embodies the spirit of hospitality. The beautiful Inn is welcoming with a relaxing atmosphere that makes you feel at home; the mornings you are greeted with Suzanne's and Bob's smiles and her gourmet breakfasts are wonderful and always accompanied by homemade muffins and fruit (Bob, we especially liked the baked pears); homemade cookies entice your munching along with coffee, tea, hot cocoa, wine and sherry available for your enjoyment. The parlor is a great meeting room to sit and chat with the other guests or the hosts. Our room was cozy and comfortable....two great porches to relax and enjoy life going by...free on-premise parking and the Inn is only steps away from everything to explore in the city.
Give this B&B a try - and I think you'll agree it's a great way to spend time in St. Augustine...and you will leave feeling like “family”. Thanks to everyone at The Old Powder House Inn for making our stay comfortable – we truly enjoyed our time at your wonderful B&B and our evening chats - it was a wonderful three days!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol Art V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We spend 4 days/nights at The Old Opwder House Inn and it was awesome. Our hosts Bob and Suzzanne we just wonderful., they were very accomodating, the breakfasts were unbelievable, it was decorated so beautifully for Christmas, our room was immaculate. We can't say enough nice things about this B & B. We are definitely coming back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CyndiinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tybee Island, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

If you want to experience the most relaxed, welcoming and lovely place to stay in St. Augustine, it is the Old Powder House Inn. Located right in the historic district, the charming Inn is within walking distance of all the wonderful sights of the old city--yet it is not smack in the thick of it. So, It's a restful, beautiful historic Inn that has inviting porches--upstairs and downstairs-- that yield hours of curling up with a good book, lazy afternoons on the porch swing or lively conversations with new found friends. Suzanne and Bob Hailey are the most perfect Bed & Breakfast hosts I've ever had the privilege of meeting. If you want to chill and not "be all up in it," fine! If you want to chat and mix and mingle with them and/or their most interesting guests (from all over the country and the world), great! And the food! Suzanne is a fabulous chef from Nashville (and being a Chicago native most certainly adds and extra flair). Both Suzanne and Bob have worked for years in the TV and Music Industry and have lived most interesting lives. Their many Nashville friends at Country Music Television can vouch for what an entertaining and fun couple they are. And no CMT party would have ever been complete without one of Suzanne's much-anticipated culinary sensations. St. Augustine is an awesome city to explore. And having Bob and Suzanne Hailey as the new proprietors of such a cool Inn, there's even more reason to visit this enchanting city and stay at the most perfect Inn- The Old Powder House. .

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden Room which is perfect for up to 4 people, so it's a good value. There ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tybee Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

The Old Powder House Inn is the perfect place to stay in Saint Augustine. The inn, which is actually a bed and breakfast, is located within walking distance of most of the sites and attractions. The staff is friendly and the breakfast is excellent. I didn't see any ghosts (Saint Augustine is, purportedly, one of the most haunted cities in the country) but the ghosts at the inn are, according to many accounts, just some little girls who play with dolls. I probably scared the hell out of them.

Room Tip: I was in the Garden Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purgatorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

"Mischievous" Suzanne and Bob are new owners to this quaint, semi-"enchanted" house by only a couple months. There are some things that need fixing in the house and they are on it - I'm sure in the near future this Old Powder House Inn will be a stellar B&B. I write this hesitatingly, because I was so positively influenced and warmed by both Bob and Suzanne, it really made the experience for me, and I strongly recommend staying with them for that reason. Both were willing to be flexible and friendly. Bob was outstanding at having discussions while multi-tasking at serving the breakfast to the small breakfast room, packed with people that ended up being a great, open conversation jointly across all the tables. Both took time in really getting to know us and be interested in who we were - it's not something you commonly experience and left an amazing impact on us; we left feeling that we'd made new friends in Bob and Suzanne.

Pros: Nice veranda on the 2nd floor with comfortable chairs and a swinging chair for two; perfect and easy location to everything; tastefully decorated with authentic victorian artifacts; pleasing color scheme; concern about the little details to the stay; flexible, warm and patient owners; nice room (Veranda3); the hosts (see below).

Cons: Some rooms are not up to the standard (The Enchanted Room) - too small, contained, miniature bathroom, overly strong scent; the breakfast was very good, but a little limited (had to get a 2nd breakfast). Pricing for any of the decent rooms is a bit high, but the experience could be worth it once everything is set up. The person who works for Bob and Suzanne that greeted us and checked us in was not as pleasant and warm as Suzanne and Bob - too rigid and strict to set the tone for what is supposed to be a "home"-like experience - but that's a minor point.

All of the cons can be addressed and doesn't overwhelm the positives of our stay. I highly recommend staying with Bob and Suzanne and wouldn't hesitate to do so myself when I visit again.

Thanks!

Room Tip: Veranda rooms are likely the best...and best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garrett W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.2 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 31 in St. Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agustin Inn
Agustin Inn
#9 of 31 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.4 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#12 of 31 in St. Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Powder House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Powder House Inn

Property: The Old Powder House Inn
Address: 38 Cordova St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3629
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Powder House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1899, this inn has nine guestrooms all with private baths. Located in the center of the historic district, it's just a short walk to museums, historic attractions, restaurants, art galleries and gift shops. A three course gourmet breakfast is served every morning at 9. The sprawling verandas are the place to relax after an exciting day in our fabulous city. Complimentary beverages, fresh baked cookies and snacks are always available. Private on-site parking. We'd love to have you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Old Powder House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Powder House Hotel Saint Augustine
The Old Powder House Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing