We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Powder House Inn
Ranked #15 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We spent a weekend at the Old Powder House Inn for a wedding and had a nice time. It was a terrific location as the wedding was in the historic district. The innkeeper is very friendly and gave us wonderful recommendations for food and entertainment during our limited stay. They serve a wonderful breakfast in their dining room. It would be nice to have a little more space between tables as it was a tight fit with five couples all eating at the same time. But, we did get to meet some friendly people in those circumstances. My only real complaint was how the staff responded to a need we had to have our last breakfast outside of the community area. My husband had been stricken with a horrible stomach virus overnight and needed to eat. I didn't believe he should be in the tight breakfast area with other people. However, the staff informed us that no food could be taken into the rooms- inn policy. We ended up negotiating our way into eating breakfast on a chilly morning on the porch. The owners were not there and I think the staff felt unable to make special arrangements.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    18
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
31
171
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Our stay at the Old Powder House Inn with Bob and Suzanne was amazing. The breakfast was delicious and our room was beautiful. We stayed in the Splendid Time and we LOVED having the exterior door to come and go as we pleased. There was also snacks and drinks 24HRS a day. The location is perfect, just a 2 minute walk to St. George Street and close to everything. We loved it.

Room Tip: The Splendid Time room has an exterior door which we loved, we could come and go as we pleased and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay in a B&B and it far exceeded our expectations. The innkeepers were friendly, our room was absolutely spotless, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was excellent! We really enjoyed our stay and look forward to going back!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We've stayed I many B&Bs over the years, and this one is definitely a winner and a keeper!
We're already trying to decide when we can make a return visit. Bob and Suzanne, the new owners as of August 2013, are absolutely delightful. They made us feel like we were old friends from the first time we met.
Location, location, location....in the Historic District within easy walking distance of all of the historic attractions, restaurants and bars with music, and more. The inn was decorated for Christmas in a traditional style using untraditional colors of turquoise, pink and purple along with white lights and silver for sparkle. It was beautiful and fun!
Breakfast is prepared and served with care. They even ask if there are any special dietary accommodations...how thoughtful. Oh, yes, and there was a delicious complimentary sherry in our room; and in the parlor always wine, sherry, coffee, and more. Our room was lovely and beautifully appointed; it even included a Jacuzzi tub, which we enjoyed after a full day and night of activities in town.
Truly, we had a delightful stay and would recommend a visit. Maybe we'll see you there...because we will be back:) Dottie & David

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunshine_KollyBalook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We went to the Old Powder House Inn to celebrate New Years with friends and their one year anniversary. They were actually married at the Inn the previous New Years Eve. The new owners Bob and Suzanne were some of the nicest people I've ever met. They made you feel at home and were more then willing to go out of their way to provide you with anything you needed. They even made a special trip to town to get some chocolate covered strawberries which were so yummy and champagne to surprise our friends and make their anniversary even more special. The Inn was very clean, charming and the Holiday decorations were fabulous! The breakfasts they prepare are amazing and so creative. It was by far the best stay at a Bed & Breakfast we've ever had. We loved sitting on the porch and watching the carriages go by. It is a perfect location with just a short walk to all the shops, pubs, trolley and dining. A New Years to remember! Thanks so much Bob, Suzanne and staff!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyR925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This place is wonderful, not only the marvelous accommodations but the new owners make you fell like home...
We recommend this awesome breakfast and bed 120%
Thank you Bob and Katie with your extraordinary breakfast and hospitality
Cordially
Wladimir, Angelica, Ashley and Nicole

Room Tip: we stay at the Gardens room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wdorta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Can't praise the Old Powder House Inn enough. Suzanne and Bob are terrific hosts and go out of their way to accommodate. The breakfasts were scrumptious, definitely gourmet, in a splendid atmosphere. The room was very nice and the Inn was beautifully decorated for Christmas. We enjoyed spending time in the parlor visiting with the other guests and indulging in the baked goodies and drinks. The location is perfect, within easy walking distance to everything. Suzanne and Bob can tell you all you ever wanted to know about what to see, where to eat, etc.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.2 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 78 in St. Augustine
908 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.0 mi away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 31 in St. Augustine
902 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agustin Inn
Agustin Inn
#10 of 31 in St. Augustine
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Powder House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Powder House Inn

Property: The Old Powder House Inn
Address: 38 Cordova St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3629
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Powder House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1899, this inn has nine guestrooms all with private baths. Located in the center of the historic district, it's just a short walk to museums, historic attractions, restaurants, art galleries and gift shops. A three course gourmet breakfast is served every morning at 9. The sprawling verandas are the place to relax after an exciting day in our fabulous city. Complimentary beverages, fresh baked cookies and snacks are always available. Private on-site parking. We'd love to have you stay with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Powder House Hotel Saint Augustine
The Old Powder House Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing