We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sister trip”
Review of Southern Wind Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Wind Inn
Ranked #25 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sister trip”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Every year my sis and I travel to somewhere new. I booked with Southern
Wind Inn after talking with Scott several times before driving to St. Augustine. He is as friendly in person as on the phone. The home is old but very warm and inviting. If you want to experience what life was really like back in the day, then you wont be disappointed with this place. Charming, clean, and the breakfast is wonderful. Good food and friendly guest who we enjoyed visiting with every morning. You can't beat the location!! We had the "Crystal" room, which we loved. Great for sisters, as we each had our own space to sleep in and get ready. Loved going out on the upstairs veranda each evening as the town quietly went to sleep. The only surprise was that the Old Town district is opened at 9:00 and pretty much closes down at 5:00. Didn't expect that. If you plan on coming to St. Augustine, I strongly suggest having Scott help you out with reservations for evening activities. You will have a more pleasant stay.

Room Tip: If you cant handle steps stay on the main floor. No elevator so large suitcases are a pain to haul u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    52
    39
    20
    10
See reviews for
25
182
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Starke, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This is our first stay in a B&B and we loved it! Excellent rooms and excellent management! Right in the middle of St Auugustine. You can walk everywhere. Best for the July 4th fireworks because we walked to and from the show!! Recommend this highly!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles1288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2013

After reading all the reviews on this B&B I was not sure if I was doing the right thing to book this vacation for my boyfriends birthday getaway. I took a chance due to I really liked the way the Inn looked and the Pullman room with the double Jacuzzi tub was a plus. We were greeted by Scott who is very friendly and got us to our room before the 3pm check in time. He gave us a map and highlighted where we were and what was around. Everything was in walking distance except the Fountain of Youth & Jail. The room was very nice, the king size bed very comfortable, the shower had a great showerhead. The room was very comfortable, but a bit small. The 4pm cookies were fresh baked and the ice tea was refreshing, but there is no wine as the brochure states. Scott even showed me some of the vacant rooms, which were smaller but decorated very nice. Breakfast was delicious if you like egg dishes. Coffee, tea, fresh fruit, juice & yogurt was on the table to help yourself. Yes, I've stayed at better B&B's but this one was lovely in this quaint old town.

Room Tip: The private entrance rooms all have steps. The Pullman room has a glass door with stained glass side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We were greeted by Scott and though we only stayed one night, he made every effort to make our stay comfortable and convenient. He called a car for our Murder Mystery dinner show at the Raintree (highly recommended, by the way!) and suggested we leave our car parked out back after we had checked out so we could continue to explore the city without worrying about finding parking (very helpful--Thanks again!)

We would stay with the Southern Wind Inn again.

Thanks-
Casey & Rob

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pullman Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smokeysgirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy, Utah
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Scott was a fantastic host. The location was perfect, the rooms were very comfortable, and the breakfast was delicious. My wife and I were in St. Augustine for only one night and we are glad that we chose the Southern Wind Inn to stay. We will definitely stay here again when we return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heathinutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2013

The Southern Wind Inn is so convenient to the historic district and great food. The Veranda room was just what we needed, a little like home but so far from it we could relax. We have already recommended it to many friends and family.

Room Tip: Veranda room has a smaller bathroom but spacious bedroom space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tickelcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This was a great b&b in St. Augustine. The location was great, within walking distance to everything and the hosts were extremely accomodating. The breakfast each morning was great as well. All in all, I would definately stay there again and highly recommend this establishment.

Room Tip: The pullman room was great with it's own entrence on the outside of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterpag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.0 mi away
Centennial House Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#12 of 31 in St. Augustine
506 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa de Suenos Bed & Breakfast
Casa de Suenos Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 31 in St. Augustine
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
44 Spanish Street Inn
44 Spanish Street Inn
#5 of 31 in St. Augustine
470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agustin Inn
Agustin Inn
#10 of 31 in St. Augustine
570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 31 in St. Augustine
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Wind Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Wind Inn

Property: Southern Wind Inn
Address: 18 Cordova St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3619
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southern Wind Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Southern Wind Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Wind Hotel Saint Augustine
Southern Wind Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing