We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC!!!”
Review of Southern Wind Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southern Wind Inn
Ranked #25 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
1 review
“FANTASTIC!!!”
Reviewed 6 December 2006

I spent the most wonderful week in St. Augustine, Florida. The Southern WInd Inn was magnificent. My every need was attended to. The inn is beautiful and the host are great. They went out of their way to guide me around the historical city, making suggestion for tours as well as dining. Definitely a place to return to.

  • Liked — The friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — eveything was perfect
  • Tips/Secrets — extend your trip
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travlingranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    52
    39
    20
    10
See reviews for
25
182
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2006

Having booked into the B&B on Halloween weekend I wasn't, at first, sure if the lack of assistance upon arrival was due to the busy event weekend. The gentleman host was quick to take my money and leave the property without offering to take my suitcase upstairs. The room (first right at top of stairs) was clean, although not pristine and had a definite well worn appearance. The bath was chipped in many places and the tv had only four channels. A frugal 2 chocolates were displayed for my enjoyment; I declined the temptation...

Breakfast was hardly a 'gourmet' event. I think the lone slice of cold meat an earlier guest mentioned was still the same piece being served up!

What made my stay pleasant were the 2 lovely couples I met during my stay. Simple as.

The disappointment was for the amount of money charged I expected a higher standard. If I'd been charged $70-80 per night I would have felt quite different. Being from the UK I am more than used to historic buildings but felt that the entire property badly needed some tlc and some experienced hosts.

  • Liked — The location
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure you only pay $70-80 per night
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LittleUkTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 May 2006

We stayed here for the second time in a year and found the visit as pleasurable as the first. Great food, clean accomodations, and handy to all that St. Aug has to offer!

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 May 2006

I stayed here for a week with a friend and we had a wonderful time here. Our hosts were very nice and always available for questions, recommendations, etc., but there were NOT underfoot--which is a good thing. Breakfast was great all 4 days (we had a different main dish every day, but had the same choice of fruit, tea, coffee, bread, granola, and yogurt everyday). The house was very quiet, the beds were comfortable, and the whirlpool tub was a godsend after a day of sightseeing.

Both my friend and I agreed that we would have no problem staying there again on another trip.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 May 2006

We stayed here on vacation and not only was it very overpriced but we were woken up at 6am with construction. I also got a skin infection from the tub.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2006

My husband and I recently stayed at the Southern Wind and were a bit disappointed. I'd read the reviews and they were fairly mixed so I was hopeful. The Inn itself is lovely, and in a great location. Given the multitude of B&B's in St. Augustine, the owners should strive to make guests feel welcome. This didn't happen- it was a consistent lack of paying attention to detail that bugged us, especially given that you pay a higher rate to get that with a B&B. Example- breakfast was the same every day for 3 days..cheesy egg dish, slice of sad ham, muffin. If I wanted the same thing every morning, I can go to McDonalds. Then one bar of soap for the entire stay. We also chose to use the bikes that were mentioned in the site..unfortunately they were also antique and half rusted. We biked down to the Fountain of Youth and will most likely need some type of microsurgery on our nether-regions as the seats had metal protruding from them. All in all, try elsewhere. There are so many beautiful inns in St Augustine, might as well find a place that will cater to their guests.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekc001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 May 2005

After a week at one of Orlando's big conference-center hotels, a long weekend at the Southern Wind Inn's homey comfort was a perfect antidote. We especially appreciated the personal attention we received from our hosts from the moment we arrived right up to our departure.

The Inn has a large front porch, a second-floor front veranda, and a cute back porch just outside our Garden Room. All were great places to relax. We ate our excellent breakfasts (the home baking was superb) on the downstairs porch and spent some time each evening on the veranda listening to the horses clip-clop down Cordova Street.

Visiting Saint Augustine involves a lot of walking and constant activity, so it's really helpful to have a friendly, relaxing place like this to come back to unwind at.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.0 mi away
Centennial House Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#12 of 31 in St. Augustine
506 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa de Suenos Bed & Breakfast
Casa de Suenos Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 31 in St. Augustine
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
44 Spanish Street Inn
44 Spanish Street Inn
#5 of 31 in St. Augustine
469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agustin Inn
Agustin Inn
#10 of 31 in St. Augustine
570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 31 in St. Augustine
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Wind Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Wind Inn

Property: Southern Wind Inn
Address: 18 Cordova St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3619
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southern Wind Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Southern Wind Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Wind Hotel Saint Augustine
Southern Wind Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing