We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Saragossa Inn B&B
Ranked #27 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
171 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2008

Very pleasant accomodations very close to the historic area - we simply walked everywhere and left the car in the parking lot of the inn, which was quite spacious.
The hosts were very friendly and helpful with recommendations for meals, tips for sight-seeing etc. The three course breakfasts were simply amazing - we skipped lunch all three days we were in town because after these breakfasts we didn't even get hungry until dinnertime. The host is quite a cook.
The room was outfitted with antiques and very quaint. Minor quibbles would be that the room was rather small, and the attached bathroom, while functional and in perfect working order, was a bit on the battered side. Everything was quite clean.
The only other drawback to this property was that there did not appear to be a common gathering room besides the breakfast dining room, which was part of the host's apartment on the top floor. It would have been nice to be able to decompress at night with our friends in a common room before heading off to bed.

That said, we found the inn to be a good value and very comfortable, and would not hesitate to recommend it or returnto it for future travels to St. Augustine.

  • Liked — friendly hosts
  • Disliked — small room
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pisendel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    25
    17
    4
    6
See reviews for
27
221
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Debary, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2007

We have been taking weekend vacations in St. Augustine the same weekend in December for 3 years now. I do lots of research every year for just the right B&B to stay at. This year we booked late and had less to choose from. The Saragossa had just the right room with the amount of space we were looking for and because they had a weekend special we ended up staying for 3 nights. It was very easy when it came to booking the room. At first we were hesitant because we wanted to stay in Downtown but we soon realized we really loved the location of the Saragossa even more. It's quite close to all of our favorite places, WITHOUT the night time noises and busy streets on the weekends. Or room was beautiful, well decorated and clean. The owners, Chuck and Gibbs, are new owners of the Inn and are doing a great job of keeping the Inn and the guests very comfortable. They are friendly and knowledgeable when it comes to hospitality. The dining room was cozy and decorated for Christmas. The breakfasts every morning were cooked fresh and so tastey we would have loved to eat lunch and dinner there! From first course to the breakfast 'dessert' (my favorite is the Saragossa Pastry!), we commented every morning how GREAT Gibbs food was. The conversations with other the guests and the Innkeepers at breakfast gave us a really great start in the mornings. While there, we toured dozens of other Bed and Breakfasts in Historic St. Augustine and we can absolutely say that we know where we will be staying next year. It is the best choice, in our opinion, for location, accomodations, price and the experience of staying in a genuine historic B&B.

  • Liked — We loved the location and hospitality.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank amers209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fruitland Park, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2007

I stayed at the Saragossa Inn for the Holiday Historic Inn Tour and was very pleased. We stayed in the Homewood Suite and were very happy with our accommodations. After viewing all the other B&Bs on the tour, I concluded that this was by far my favorite. The room was comfortable and well maintained; enough towels were supplied for the 3 of us staying in the room. Our room, like all the rooms at the inn, had its own private entrance. It was a wonderful 2 room suite, one queen and one full. The decor was elegant with adequate storage space for suitcases, clothes, etc. A 3 course breakfast was freshly prepared by the owners every morning which was out of this world! We especially loved the Saragossa Inn Pastry. The dining area was welcoming and quaint. Chuck and Gibbs were very personable and they made our trip very enjoyable. The location couldn’t have been better; it was 2 blocks from downtown but far enough to be quiet and private. I will defiantly be staying here again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a B&B in St Augustine.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Medic26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2007

The Saragossa is unique for a B&B in that each room has an outside entrance. The location can not be beat. The historical section of town is two blocks away. The owners, Gibbs and Chuck, are new here this year and appear to be making many changes/updates.
When we arrived in our room, Tidewater, the first thing my wife noticed was the soap in the shower was left over from the previous guests as were some shampoo bottles. The next evening when we returned to our room, we found the room had not been serviced. I spoke to Gibbs about this and was informed that they do not service the rooms unless requested. This information should be given when reservations are made. I got some fresh towels from him and went on. My wife felt the bathroom was dirty as if not cleaned from the previous guests. To me the whole idea of staying in a motel or B&B is to have someone take care of your room. I’ve learned from this and will always ask if the rooms are cleaned daily no matter where I stay. Breakfast was at 9:30 each morning, 8:30 would have been better. Gibbs is the chef and he is a very good one. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful. I would stay here again provided the rooms were cleaned daily because the location is perfect. I don’t think my wife would.

  • Liked — Location and Breakfast
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnhinnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaragossaInn, Owners at The Saragossa Inn B&B, responded to this review, 10 November 2007
Here at the Saragossa Inn, we are working everyday to make our rooms more appealing and more comfortable for our guests. We regret if we overlooked an element of housekeeping in our effort to ready this room for an early check-in.

At the Saragossa Inn, we respect our guests’ privacy by not disturbing your room during your stay with us. If you have specific housekeeping requests, we are happy to accommodate them. Our housekeeping policy is stated on our web site and posted in each room.

If you have a need, please let us know at the time of your visit, so that we can make your stay with us as comfortable as possible. We want you to feel like our home is your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2007

We stayed at the Saragossa for our 5th anniversary. The whole experience was about two notches above wonderful. Due to an error we were upgraded to the two bedroom suite which boasted a wet bar, a beautiful chandelier, a faux firepace, a fridge and a stereo in the master bedroom. The inn was on a quiet residential street about 3 blocks from the historic district, so we were not far from the action but not directly in it. Gibbs, the owner made us gourmet breakfasts that were so good they might be illegal in some states. The town was touristy but fun and historically haunting. This was my first B&B experience and thanks to Gibbs and the Saragossa Inn, a whole new world has been opened up to us. My advice, if you're going to St. Augustine, stay at the Saragossa.

  • Liked — The attention to detail in the room and breakfast.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank deelite984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2007

We stayed at the Sargossa Inn for 3 nights. July 28 - Aug 1, 2007. The one thing I found wrong with our stay was that we couldn't stay longer. Well the fact we had to leave at all was very upsetting. I would really like to just move in. My 10 year old daughter, my husband and I were so impressed with this Inn. Gibb's too. He is so wonderful. He greeted us just as we arrived and was so accommodating. He was even able to give us a tour of the rooms not yet occupied. (Which was only a couple because he was pretty full.) Our room was so beautiful. We stayed in the Gardenmist. The pictures just don't do the Inn justice. It looks even better in person. The gardens are so beautiful. The porch was so inviting and relaxing full of beautiful well kept plants.
Breakfast was amazing. Gibbs is a wonderful cook. And desserts....oh my goodness.....Dessert at breakfast is such a great idea.....then you have the whole day to walk it off. Now let me tell you about the coffee. Gibb's Coffee!!! It needs a warning label!! It was also incredible. His own special blend and boy was it addicting. We definitely left everymorning full and awake.
Gibb's had a full diningroom each morning and handled it so well. We met such great people at breakfast. Gibb's gave all of us excellent suggestions of things to do and places to eat and he was right on every time.
My advice is definitely stay at this Inn. But three nights is just not long enough. We will be going back very soon and very often and telling everyone we know how great it is. I will beg Gibb's each time to let us move in.
Have a great time when you go! Say Hi to Gibb's for us!!!!

Nicole, Pedro and Brianna

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ncolon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2007

A last minute trip became a wonderfully relaxing time at the Saragossa. My wife and I arrived on Sunday afternoon. Gibbs greeted us and showed us to our rooms and offered to show us around the house. While he toured us around we learn a sense of what this old Sears House was like at its original construction. He also gave us a great suggestion for dinner too.

The room was very comfortable and the patio very inviting as we enjoyed adult beverage and discussed plans for the balance of our stay.

But the breakfast is what we (who enjoy BnB’s) look forward to and this proved itself to be nothing less than delightful. Gibbs is not only personable, but a fantastic chef. We sat down to a unbelievable blend of coffee and fresh fruit. The main course was an omelet with fresh vegetables and meat. Personally, I’m always nervous when ordering omelets at restaurants as they often tend to over cook the eggs. This was not the case! Light, fluffy and delicious. If this was not enough… Gibbs out did himself with a phenomenal pastry for desert.

If you are visiting St Augustine look into the Saragossa – you will be glad you did.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank hjt101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.4 mi away
Casablanca Inn on the Bay
Casablanca Inn on the Bay
#32 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.1 mi away
63 Orange Street Bed and Breakfast
63 Orange Street Bed and Breakfa...
#26 of 31 in St. Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.3 mi away
Agustin Inn
Agustin Inn
#9 of 31 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alexander Homestead
Alexander Homestead
#22 of 31 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#12 of 31 in St. Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centennial House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saragossa Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saragossa Inn B&B

Property: The Saragossa Inn B&B
Address: 34 Saragossa St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3569
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Saragossa Inn B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
began life as a 1924 Sears Craftsman Bungalow that has expanded over the passage of time and now houses two guest suites and four guest rooms, all with private entrances and private baths. The layout of the Saragossa will allow you all the privacy you want, yet is small enough for you to receive all the attention you need. The Saragossa is rustic and romantic, quaint and comfortable, relaxing and revitalizing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Saragossa Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saragossa Hotel Saint Augustine
The Saragossa Inn B&B St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing