We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First B&B experience and it was GREAT!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Saragossa Inn B&B

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Saragossa Inn B&B
Ranked #28 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brunswick, Georgia
1 review
“First B&B experience and it was GREAT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

My husband and I decided to try a B&B for the first time when going to St. Augustine for a couple of days. I'm so glad we picked the Saragossa Inn. As many have said the location is ideal if you are looking to be close (walking distance) to town but away from the hustle and bustle (and noise). Our room (Southwind) was very nice and clean. It was pretty spacious but I believe it is one of the more spacious rooms. There rooms are very private - everyone has their own entrance, outdoor space and off street parking; which is great.

Some of the reviews I read were complaining that the rooms weren't cleaned daily. I actually had no problem with this. They explained at check-in that this is for our privacy and Gibbs and his staff are more than willing to do it if you ask them.

Brunch (at 9:30 or 10:30) was OUTSTANDING! Ask Gibbs to make biscuits - best I've ever had.

We had a great time and we will definitely stay again when we return to St. Augustine. Thanks all for very nice stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KTD912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    25
    17
    4
    6
See reviews for
27
220
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

A great B&B within walking distance of downtown in a nice quite area of town. BUT the only have two dining times for brunch, 0930 or 1030. Appro if we were in Europe but this is America. Plus they are pet friendly, SO if your neighbor has a young lab that likes to bark all of the time, good luck having any quite time!!!!!!!!!!! OK place but lotxs of problems! Going to Key West for next vacation :) Good gourmet food for the brunch do all is not bad :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tropicalseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesaragossainn, Owner at The Saragossa Inn B&B, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
We’re glad you thought we have “a great B&B,” we think so too! We are also very proud of St. Augustine. It has the feel of an Old World European City AND it’s right here in America! We hope that some of that Old World charm carries through to our B&B. Our English-style Tea Room is the setting for our three-course BRUNCH served daily at 9:30 and 10:30 seatings. Many of our guests, who are here on vacation after all, prefer sleeping-in and appreciate our 10:30 seating.

And yes we do have pet-friendly rooms. And yes one afternoon we did have a dog who was unhappy about being left behind. But the owner was contacted and returned within 15 minutes to take care of the situation and there was no reoccurrence.

If there were other problems, the Innkeeper lives on site and is always just a phone call away. So we would have been happy to help if you had only let us know. Our goal is to provide our guests with a pleasant and individual stay in our home. We WANT you to enjoy your stay with us.

So to conclude, “BEWARE, the Saragossa Inn is “a great B&B” with ”good gourmet food” where all are welcome, including pets, and treated like family by an attentive Innkeeper and helpful staff.

Gibbs Moore, Owner/Innkeeper
Chuck Dunster, Owner/Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

If staying at an impersonal hotel or resort has been your idea of a great vacation then you might consider trying something very different...this B&B is owner operated and the difference is fabulous. The room was romantic and quieter than any (even upscale) hotel my husband and have ever stayed. Instead of hotel furnishings you get a very creative and eclectic vision put together from years' worth of collecting by the owner(s).

The bed was quite comfortable, the water pressure strong with plenty of hot water; because of the heat we showered twice a day. It took us a little while to get oriented to the city, but when we did we realized that this lovely house was within easy walking distance of nearly everything we might desire to see.

Gibbs was a fountain of information and exuded warmth and competency from the time we walked in. If a guest needs anything it is never too much trouble, whether it be making reservations at a restaurant, or calling the tour trolley. My husband asked for ice so we could have a relaxing drink after a day of exploring and Gibbs came out of his house (next door) to provide it.

The daily brunch was always different and fueled us for most of the day until dinner without making us feel bloated! We arrived on a Thursday night and left on Sunday and had one of the best wedding anniversary getaways ever!

Room Tip: We had a large room at the front-I would recommend it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boedicea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Booked a three night stay, great location with its own parking behind the Inn and within easy waking distance of the city. Gibbs is a great Innkeeper and the three course breakfasts he prepares are out of this world. Gibbs and all his staff were really helpful and friendly

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Springs, Florida, USA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

The location was great. Walkable to everything but nestled on a quiet side street with character. Room was cute and bed was very comfortable. Service was amazing. The staff was genuinely friendly and very accommodating. Brunch was delicious. Your stay comes with a daily 3 course brunch which was a great way to start the day.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamendol2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

I booked a room at the Saragoosa Inn for 3 nights and brought my 2 cats with me. The room was decorated in a French Country flair, and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The breakfasts were delish, and John and Cherie (the assistant Inn Keepers) were so nice, helpful and accommodating. I had such a good experience and opted to stay another night which they easily arranged for me. I am planning to come back in one month.

Room Tip: There are two rooms out of the six which allow pets. The entrances are in the back and away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mergatroid003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I'm not sure I can add much to the other positive reviews, but after our wonderful stay here I had to give the Saragossa Inn a great rating. Things I especially liked:
* Great location -- easy short walk to everything in the old part of St. Augustine
* Off street parking -- free and secure
* Gibbs is a great host. He knows everything about the area and wants you to have a wonderful time.
* The 3-course brunch was incredible!
* Our bedroom was clean, comfortable, and quaint.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David_The_Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.4 mi away
Casablanca Inn on the Bay
Casablanca Inn on the Bay
#30 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.1 mi away
63 Orange Street Bed and Breakfast
63 Orange Street Bed and Breakfa...
#26 of 31 in St. Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexander Homestead
Alexander Homestead
#23 of 31 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Agustin Inn
Agustin Inn
#10 of 31 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#12 of 31 in St. Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Kenwood Inn
The Kenwood Inn
#7 of 31 in St. Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saragossa Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saragossa Inn B&B

Property: The Saragossa Inn B&B
Address: 34 Saragossa St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3569
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Saragossa Inn B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
began life as a 1924 Sears Craftsman Bungalow that has expanded over the passage of time and now houses two guest suites and four guest rooms, all with private entrances and private baths. The layout of the Saragossa will allow you all the privacy you want, yet is small enough for you to receive all the attention you need. The Saragossa is rustic and romantic, quaint and comfortable, relaxing and revitalizing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Saragossa Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saragossa Hotel Saint Augustine
The Saragossa Inn B&B St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing