We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in Historic St. Augustine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 30 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Casa de Solana is a Wonderful choice for a getaway to St. Augustine, FL. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Not to mention the breakfast was fantastic. Jeff made us some delicious egg, ham and cheese crepes with hollandaise that rivals any breakfast restaurant around. Our room, the Montejurra Room was extremely spacious and romantic. Especially with the balcony and rocking chairs, and GIANT whirlpool tub. It was very charming, ALL OF IT! I definitely recommend that you stay here. Not to mention it is on what I like to think of as the hidden gem of a street in St. Augustine; Aviles Street. Very quaint and free of the hustle and bustle of the tourists you find on St. George Street. Very Very nice with various restaurants right across the street. Thank you Jeff for making our anniversary very memorable!

Room Tip: Montejurra Room for a romantic getaway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 July 2012

It absolutely was our pleasure to host your annivesary stay. We thank you for your kind words and look forward to your return visit (so we can spoil you even more)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

714 - 720 of 869 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

I have nothing but good things to say about this bed-and-breakfast. My husband and I got married there last week and everything was lovely. The food was lovely, the people are lovely, and we met amazing people just hanging out at the dining room and courtyard. It was everything I could've ever hoped for and never dreamed possible. It was quaint and quiet and absolutely amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Girlnamedemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

We didn't consider your minor! We loved having you here. You were a beautiful bride and your family was wonderful. Thank you for the review and we wish you a wonderful first married year together!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Great location within a short walking distance to everything in the "Old Town" area. We were visiting St. Augustine celebrating our 19th wedding anniversary and decided to try a B & B. We had never stayed at one so we took a leap of faith and decided on Casa de Solana. We enjoyed the experience so much that we will definitely look to stay in B & B's from now on.

We stayed in the Montejurra room which is directly above the dining room and is big with approx. a 10-12' ceiling. I am 6' 3" and never felt cramped in the least, quite spacious actually. The room was beautifully appointed and maintained. We loved the fact that in this room the garden tub for two was in the bathroom and not in the middle of the sleeping area. We also liked the "rainfall" shower head mounted in the ceiling. The canopy bed is gorgeous and very comfortable. Other nice amenities worth mentioning: Free Wifi, individual room thermostat for AC, Bikes (free) available for check-out, small refrigerator, hair dryer, iron and facial cleaning towels--my wife loved these for make-up removal. Also, the room was extremely quiet, virtually no outside noise was noticed.

One reviewer complained about parking, well parking was actually closer to walk than to drive, because of "one way" streets. Never once complained about the walk from the parking lot because the sights were wonderful on the way back and depending on your pace it only took about 3-5 min., plus you would not want a parking lot next to the B & B because it would totally destroy the historic charm & beauty of the "Old Town" and this B&B.

Jeff the innkeeper, was wonderful and friendly. He also had some great suggestions for dining. We ate at "La Pentola" a couple blocks away on Charlotte Street and "Collage" on Hypolita Street. Both were wonderful dining experiences. The breakfasts served in the morning were wonderful creations. Plus, plenty of coffee, tea, milk, cereals, hard boiled eggs, croissants, scones, etc. The afternoon wine and cheese social was also a nice touch.

Not enough room in this review to say enough nice things about Casa de Solana!
My only advice to those researching where to stay is to just book your stay at this B&B and pick the Montejurra room.

Room Tip: The Montejurra Room was well worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fsu91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

What a nice review. Very perceptive and well written. Thanks so very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I spent 3 days in June at the Casa De Solana for a long weekend .I chose this praticular INN because of its central location to the historic district of St Aurustine. Great Choice! I was in walking distance of everything. The INN istself is beautiful. It has the beauty and charm one would expect in the oldest city in the US. It also has all the modern amenities one has come to expect. The food was delicious. Each morning i was greeted with a hot breakfast. And greeted by a friendly and knowledgeable staff. Their recommendations for sights to see, where to have dinner, shopping where fantastic. I cant wait to plan my next trip to Casa De Salona and Historic St Augustine.
Robert.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadeSolana, Manager at Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

Thanks, Robert, for the kind words. Will pass those cudos onto the staff as well; they will appreciate that! Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

My husband and I spent our anniversary at Casa De Solana. It is a beautiful location on the oldest street in the U.S. A wedding party was blocking Aviles Street so we couldn't park there to check in but the Oldest House Museum is a block and a half, equivalent to 1/2 a city block, from the bed and breakfast which had free parking for museum visitors, but we weren't there over 10 minutes, so I found that convenient, just waited in the car while my husband walked over to check in.

Parking is only a couple minutes up the road so take the opportunity to take in the beauty of the area while you walk. Having stayed in New Orleans and Savannah this was much more convenient than having a valet park and retrieve your vehicle, which they charge for. They gave us the opportunity to purchase a carriage ride which picked us up there and would drop us where we wanted. Our guide was wonderful and it was so romantic.

The person who checked us in was kind and accommodating. He was knowledgeable about places to see and restaurants.

Breakfast was wonderful. I saw complaints about the quaintness of breakfast but it is a bed and breakfast and walking around town you don't want to be overly stuffed anyways. It was the perfect amount of food and DELICIOUS! Ours was French toast casserole, which I had never had, and sausage patties. There's so many restaurants to experience anyways I loved being hungry enough to eat lunch and dinner at other places.

Or room was adorable! My husband did get a little claustrophobic since he's 6-1 and being an old house the ceilings are low, I found it funny:)

The garden is beautiful! My only complaint was the horrible mosquitoes, but not the owners faults for that one.

Loved our stay and can't wait to do it again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ileona l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadeSolana, Owner at Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

We are pleased to hear that your anniversary trip was a success! We appreciate the very kind words and support! We wish you another happy year and hope you'll stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We picked the Casa de Solana due to its pet friendly policy and we were not disappointed. Our beloved Frenchie had a wonderful time and service couldn't have been any better. We were lucky enough to have a room with a door to the outside (The Confederate) which made it very convenient when having to walk our pooch. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bartique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadeSolana, Innkeeper at Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Bartique,

It's great to hear from you! We're glad to know you all enjoyed your stay in the Confederate. Frenchie had her own private entrance and exit! Thank you for recommending us as a friendly inn to pet-lovers and travelers, alike.

Hopefully you can return to St. Augustine sooner than later. We'd love to welcome you back!

Thanks again,
Jeff Sonia
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We picked the Casa De Solana for it's elopement package they offered. The wedding was nice (Jamie the officiant is very chill :) ) and the grounds were absolutely lovely! The location was also very nice and we were right on a pretty street filled with restaurants. The parking lot if a few blocks away but the walk is minimal (plus walking is the only way to travel in St Augustine :P) and theres a small unloading lot on the property so it's not like you even have to carry your bags from the further parking lot. The breakfast was abundant and delish!

My only gripe was our room. It was big, beautiful, and all around a delight...until we fell asleep. The walls are PAPER THIN and we literally heard EVERY NOISE our upstairs neighbors were making. And trust me, that is not something you want to be wake up in the middle of the night to. And I do mean literally every noice - grunts, sighs, moans, and all o__o

But I digress... To sum it all up: great place, great food, great location. If I had to do it all over again I'd stay therem but I'd bring some dang earplugs!

Room Tip: I was in the Kirby Smith Room - so maybe avoid that one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadeSolana, Front Office Manager at Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2012

You were an absolutely beautiful bride, and we were honored to host your wedding. We are sorry to hear you were disturbed by overnight noise. The welcome letter in each room does highlight the fact that we have an after-hours phone number, and had we known a disturbance was in the midst, we certainly would have addressed the matter immediately. It does sound as though you enjoyed the rest of your stay, and we definitely enjoyed the good energy both you and your new husband brought to the Inn. We wish you all the best as you begin your married life!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.1 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#11 of 30 in St. Augustine
512 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Agustin Inn
Agustin Inn
#9 of 30 in St. Augustine
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast

Address: 21 Aviles St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-4441
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range: £123 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Solana Bed & Breakfast is where old world charm meets modern amenities and where epic romance begins!Casa de Solana Bed & Breakfast takes its name from the original owner, Don Manuel Lorenzo Solana, a member of one of the city's first Spanish families. Today, Casa de Solana is a 10-room, full-service St. Augustine B&B. You'll often be greeted by the smell of something fabulous going on in the kitchen. The dining room presents with gorgeous dark wood floors, intimate seating, and elegant place settings, and each room has been uniquely decorated by the owners. Guests and passer-byers alike love the seasonally manicured courtyard with jasmine gone wild and an impressive collection of romantic cherub statuary, making it the perfect wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Solana Hotel Saint Augustine
Casa De Solana Bed And Breakfast St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing