We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Place - Very Quaint”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place - Very Quaint”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our Wedding Anniversary, and I am happy to say that this place is awesome, it is right in the middle of the action (you can walk anywhere). This was our first time staying at a B&B and we were not sure how different it would be from a hotel... Well, it was not that different; it was very clean and we received daily service, the breakfast was always so good and the experience was priceless. The staff at the B&B were ever so nice, I believe they were all a family, and that made it so nice to stay in. They say they are gone by 7 PM so you have your own key to come and go and it just felt some awesome, like this was your own house. The place is so pretty too, they offer free wi-fi. Parking is in a different place, so you have to drop your stuff off and then go drive a couple of blocks and park in a city parking lot. We did have our car broken into, but we never went to check on the car during the 5 days we went there, so my advice would be to check on the car daily and move it to a different spot withing the parking lot. Other than that, everything was just wonderful!!!!! We will definitively stay there again!! :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenbeba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadeSolana, Manager at Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
We couldn't be happier to hear that you and your husband had such a fantastic time. Thanks so much for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay. We can't wait to see you both again the next time you head our way.

Warm regards,
Jeff, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    113
    27
    12
    6
See reviews for
71
577
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Coconut Creek, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This was my first bed and breakfast experience and I loved it. I was going to be getting there very late but that was no problem and the staff was very accommodating and made it very easy for us since we got there around 2 am. The parking is sort of far but I noticed that most places in St. Augustine are like that, so why should that matter? I only saw one man working the entire time but he was very nice and talkative and friendly and made it a comfortable stay. Outside area was beautiful and there are nice shops and restaurants you can walk too from the inn. It really is in the center of basically everything. We stayed in the cielo room and it was smaller than expected but I still loved it and thought it was gorgeous. Only problem was that the outlets didn't work so I couldn't charge my phone but that wasn't a huge deal for us. Actually kind of relaxing without the technology. The whirlpool jacuzzi was amazing and also the shampoo and lotion they provide smell delicious. I didn't wake up for breakfast the first morning, but the second morning the breakfast was delicious. Some sort of egg and mushroom omlete. Overall, I had a great experience here and would defiantly recommend it for a nice little vacation with a loved again. And too the staff who is reading this, keep up the good work. It was wonderful.

Room Tip: If you would like a small but not too cramped room, Cielo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miranda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadeSolana, Manager at Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
We couldn't be happier to hear that your first B & B experience was so wonderful, Miranda! Thanks for taking the time to share your kudos and spread the word. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you head to St. Augustine.

Warm regards,
Jeff, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My wife and I were given a gift certificate from our daughter for Casa de Solana for helping her get through college at UNF. We have stayed in several B&B's in St Augustine, but we were not familiar with this B&B. I can tell you that we were very pleasantly surprised. What a beautiful stay we had. The B&B is both historical and beautiful. We stayed in the Segui room. The grounds, building, facilities and the room are all very well maintained. We are definitely planning a return visit and we highly recommend this B&B and will refer friends and family as well.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadeSolana, Manager at Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to leave such a thoughtful review for us, John! It's great to hear that you and your wife enjoyed such a romantic and relaxing time in St. Augustine. We look forward to seeing you both again the next time you head our way from Jacksonville.

Warm regards,
Jeff, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anacoco, Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The location of the B&B was perfect, off the beaten path but close to plenty of restaurants and shopping. Our room 'Francesca', was decked out with antique furniture and was very comfortable and romantic. At night, you could hear the clip clop of the horse drawn buggies coming down the brick street, which made you feel as if you had been taken back in time. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Our package included tickets to a few historical locations and the Red Train, which took you around to numerous historical locations.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadeSolana, Manager at Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
It's great to hear that your stay in the Francesca room was exactly the romantic getaway you were looking for. I love you you made note of the horse drawn buggies clip clopping in the evening, such a special touch! Thanks for letting us know how much you enjoyed your time -- we look forward to seeing you again the next time you head over to St. Augustine for a little old world charm.

Warm regards,
Jeff, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Our room was very comfortable. We stayed in the Mary Mitchel room with the sleep number bed which was very comfortable, and the toiletries were wonderful. Had the wine and cheese the first evening which was very nice. Breakfast left a lot to be desired on the 3 ,mornings we were there. If you like bacon or sausage with your breakfast, eat out. Other than that it was a wonderful stay. The people upstairs were kind of noisy, but the ambiance of the place more than made up for it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadeSolana, Manager at Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
While it's great to hear that you enjoyed your room, I wish you could say equally good things about the breakfast and noise levels, Suzi. Thanks for taking the time to share your honest feedback. I hope we might have a chance to make a better impression on a future visit.

All the best,
Jeff, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This B & B is fantastic. The location is perfect. It is right in the middle of the old town in one of the most historic streets in St. Augustine. The place is very comfortable, absolutely gorgeous and the staff is very attentive. Parking is a couple of blocks down the street but is not a big deal. You can pull in the front, unload the bags in your room and then go drop it off at the parking lot. The walk there is nice through a pretty little street. It is not a big deal at all.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariposa_viajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadeSolana, Manager at Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Your thoughtful review absolutely makes our day -- thanks a bunch! I'm so happy to know that your St. Aug getaway was exactly what you were hoping for and look forward to seeing you again the next time you head our way.

Warm regards,
Jeff, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We booked the Sail Away wedding package. It was very romantic and everything we'd hoped for. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable and beautiful. Breakfast was delicious. Location was very convenient. Can't say enough good things and looking forward to going back for our anniversary.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaraKerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadeSolana, Manager at Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
I'm so happy to hear that the Sail Away wedding package was exactly what you and your husband were looking for, Sara. Thanks for taking a moment to share your recommendation with us. We look forward to seeing the two of you back for many years to come.

Congratulations again!
Jeff, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.1 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#9 of 79 in St. Augustine
550 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 79 in St. Augustine
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.0 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#12 of 31 in St. Augustine
491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast

Property: Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast
Address: 21 Aviles St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-4441
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Solana Bed & Breakfast is where old world charm meets modern amenities and where epic romance begins!Casa de Solana Bed & Breakfast takes its name from the original owner, Don Manuel Lorenzo Solana, a member of one of the city's first Spanish families. Today, Casa de Solana is a 10-room, full-service St. Augustine B&B. You'll often be greeted by the smell of something fabulous going on in the kitchen. The dining room presents with gorgeous dark wood floors, intimate seating, and elegant place settings, and each room has been uniquely decorated by the owners. Guests and passer-byers alike love the seasonally manicured courtyard with jasmine gone wild and an impressive collection of romantic cherub statuary, making it the perfect wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Solana Hotel Saint Augustine
Casa De Solana Bed And Breakfast St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing