We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Touch of Heaven on Earth”
Review of Penny Farthing Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Penny Farthing Inn
Ranked #12 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Woodstock
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Touch of Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Upon arrival to this Lovely Inn we were greeted by our lovely Hostess Marie (even before we got completely out of our auto) who welcomed us w open arms...fresh made nut bread...sherry....a special tray of assorted cheeses and crackers and a brief history of the Inn before showing us to our beautifully appointed and Romantic Quarters. Before embarking to dinner...We met David whom took many requested pictures outside the Historic Inn of us as a couple before both he and Marie escorting us to our dinner spot thru amazing Christmas lights past the Corner Lightner Museum...Wow!! How's that for hospitality and making you feel truly at home!!! Breakfast (Eggs Benedict) second to none!!! I have stayed at many Bed n Beakfast Inn's along our journey but never felt so at home then at Penny Farthington on this joyous occasion! A can't miss experience across the board!!! Can't wait to revisit!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bkbalboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    554
    72
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
57
465
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida, Siesta Key
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

My family and I have staid numerous of times at Penny Farthing Inn and loved it every time. This time we invited 4 other couples to join us at Penny Farthing Inn. We all had a relaxing weekend.
Marie and her family (including staff) is the kindest and friendliest host anybody can meet. The accommodation was impeccable and the homemade breakfast was delicious. All rooms are perfectly designed with thoughtfulness and charm. We came to see the Christmas lighting. It was a perfect weekend. My daughter found a hidden "love letter" from a couple who just got married. I assume that this couple left this letter behind for any next arriving tenant (Penny Attic) which made our weekend get-away even more romantic. We enjoyed our stays and will definitely be back in the near future.

Room Tip: We have stayed in almost all of the rooms and we cannot decide which room is the most beautiful one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaHb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We stayed two nights at the Penny Farthing Inn in late November 2012 and would highly recommend it. The Inn is within walking distance of the historical area and many fine restaurants. It is beautifully decorated in Victorian style with many interesting antiques and accessories of the period. We stayed in the Victorian room, with a very large bedroom and sitting area, but a small bathroom and particularly small, out-dated sink area. The breakfast was delicious and adequate in size. The Inn's owner and staff were very friendly and helpful and provided extras including wine/sherry/port, fancy snacks, and coffee/tea at various points throughout the day.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

In a nutshell: excellent location, charming "old world" ambiance, beautiful breakfast creations, and most probably the finest hosts in all of St. Augustine! Thank you, Marie and David, for a truly unique weekend experience! We'll be back...

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ahavah411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2012

I've reviewed Penny Farthing Inn before, and simply can not say enough about how wonderful of an experience it is to stay here!

Besides the accomodations being ample, comfortable and beautifully decorated, Marie and David are gracious and warm hosts whose flexibility in making sure everything is just right for their patrons is refreshing.

Breakfast is, quite simply, some of the most scrumptious food I've had to start my day anywhere.

Betty is a sweetheart and keeps the place looking lovely.

You can't beat the location - literally park your car at the inn and leave it there the whole time. Pretty much everything you would be visiting in the historic downtown district is within a short walking distance (and even the Fountain of Youth is roughly a mile walk away with some delightful antique shops to peruse along the way!)

Will definetly be staying here again in the future and can't wait to go back (again!)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littleharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We stay at the Penny farthing Inn at least once every year, usually in the fall. We've been staying there close to 10 years! The rooms are nicely decorated, and they're always spotless! Breakfast is always sumptious! Loved the cinnamon apple French toast! Marie and dave are gracious hosts!

The Penny Farthing Inn is located one block off the main street entering the area of historic St. Augustine. You can park your car and walk everywhere. San Sebastian Winery is a few blocks west, and the historic city center is a few blocks east.

We can't wait for our next visit!

Room Tip: Check out their website to choose the room that best suits you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marini01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

To put it bluntly, this is the only B&B we've stayed at in St. Augustine, and we've found absolutely NO reason to change that. The Penny Farthing is everything anyone could ask for, and more... as their breakfasts and amenities are incredible.

David and Marie are incredibly accommodating and, as always, friendly. They'll always take the time to chat with you, ask how your day was, what your plans are, and offer advice for things to do around the city if you're not familiar. We stay every year, sometimes twice a year, and they've always greeted us like family.

Betty does a wonderful job! We cannot say enough kind words about her.

We met Matthew for the first time this trip and he was as friendly as everyone else at the inn.

Again, no reason for us to ever stay anywhere else in St. Augustine! We'll be back again soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Digitalburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.5 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 78 in St. Augustine
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Kenwood Inn
The Kenwood Inn
#6 of 31 in St. Augustine
911 reviews
0.4 mi away
Agustin Inn
Agustin Inn
#10 of 31 in St. Augustine
558 reviews
0.0 mi away
At Journey's End Bed & Breakfast
At Journey's End Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 31 in St. Augustine
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penny Farthing Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penny Farthing Inn

Property: Penny Farthing Inn
Address: 83 Cedar Street, St. Augustine, FL 32084-4311
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Penny Farthing Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Penny Farthing Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penny Farthing Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing