We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice, nice stay!”
Review of Penny Farthing Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Penny Farthing Inn
Ranked #13 of 30 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Beautiful room and gracious hosts. We came down from North Georgia for the charm of the town and beach to unwind for a couple of days. Marie and her family were attentive and we enjoyed the ambiance of their Victorian house very much. Wonderful breakfasts and carot cake, Marie! We'll be back!

Room Tip: Close to the fort, shopping, and restaurants. We were able to leave the car at the inn and walk eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happyhummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 668 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were lucky to stay in Penny's Attic during our stay at Penny Farthing - such a lovely room. We loved the high bed - super king size, the decor and the private deck complete with gazebo, relax loungers & views over historic St. Augustine. Marie & Betty are very welcoming & clearly care for their guests & we loved the full English breakfast! The location is perfect, everything is in walking distance & even the trolley bus is right around the corner. We had a great time at Penny Farthing & will be back!

Room Tip: Go for Penny's attic! Yes you will have to go up 2 (very easy) stairs, but it's well worth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catt720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I picked Penny Farthing Inn B&B for lodging on our honeymoon. Marie and her staff were wonderful. I purchased the Romance Abounds package with the reservation and when we arrived, the room was decorated with rose petals, chilled champagne, and chocolates from a local stop. AWESOME. We stayed in the Catherine Bedchamber and loved the jacuzzi tub. The bed was a little stiff, but maybe it's just me. Each morning we were served a lovely breakfast. The service was simply top-notch. Marie and Betty make you feel welcomed and always greet you with a smile! I enjoyed talking soccer with Marie; she was always excited to have a conversation. The location was perfect; just a couple of blocks away from the heart of the city so it was nice and quiet, yet we could walk everywhere. If we go back to St. Augustine in the future, there is not doubt we will be staying at the Penny Farthing!

Room Tip: The Catherine Bedchamber is accessed from an outside staircase on the second floor. This made it qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Penny Farthing Inn for 2 nights and 3 days prior to going up to Jacksonville for the Florida Country Superfest. This was our first experience at a bed and breakfast and we couldn't have been more pleased. The staff was super friendly and made us feel right at home. The location was excellent. We were in walking distance of everything that downtown St. Augustine had to offer. The only time I used my vehicle was to take a trip across the bridge and check out the old lighthouse. Our room was cozy and well decorated as well as very clean. We stayed in the York which is located on the first floor and close to the dining area. Do not skip out on the breakfast as it was delicious. The first morning we had French toast stuffed with bananas, maple bacon and fruit. The second morning we had sausage quiche, roasted potatoes and fruit. Throughout the day they offer wine, cookies and other assorted refreshments. Our overall experience was excellent. We will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fireman4547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This b&b is in a good location to ride your bike around town. The owners are very helpful . The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. I don't eat eggs, but it was no problem for them to get me an English muffin, yogurt , and fruit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bv57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a couple of nights, and we sure didn't want to leave. Marie and Betty made sure you had everything you needed, and we felt like we were staying at a family's house. I truly enjoyed this beautiful inn and we will be back soon!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Love4vacations84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My wife and I have been to Penny's Attic more than half a dozen times, including our wedding night and always had a great time in a clean and spectacular room. The attic has the best views of the city and the whole inn is well run and David and Marie are the best.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Will B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.2 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#10 of 30 in St. Augustine
518 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
44 Spanish Street Inn
44 Spanish Street Inn
#5 of 30 in St. Augustine
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast
Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 30 in St. Augustine
882 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 30 in St. Augustine
940 reviews
4.5 mi away
Beachfront Bed & Breakfast
Beachfront Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Saint Augustine Beach
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penny Farthing Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penny Farthing Inn

Address: 83 Cedar Street, St. Augustine, FL 32084-4311
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range: £120 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Penny Farthing Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Penny Farthing Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penny Farthing Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing