We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Inn”
Review of Penny Farthing Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Penny Farthing Inn
Ranked #12 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2007

Marie and David made our stay at the Penny Farthing Inn perfect. Each day we were served an excellent gourmet breakfast. Marie even modified mine to accomodate my diabetic diet. Our room, Victoria, was immaculate and beautifully decorated. Marie took me to see the other rooms, which are all wonderful as well.

We are planning to return to the Penny Farthing when a murder mystery event will be done.

I feel as though I have two new family members.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginny56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

606 - 612 of 669 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2007

We had a wonderful time! After 19 years of marriage we finally got to spend a week by ourselves. David and Marie were fantastic hosts, and they always went the extra mile to make sure we were happy. The breakfasts were very good served in a romantic atmosphere. The location was within walking distance to all the city attractions and shops. I would recommend the Penny Farthing to anyone planning a visit to St. Augustine.

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank marknbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2007

My wife and I stayed in Penny's Attic for our Honeymoon. Very nice stay. Can't say enough about the wonderful owners. They bent over backwards to help make our Honeymoon the best. A wonderful breakfast was prepared each morning. I would highly recommend staying here. I know I will be coming back again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gaB0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2007

Our stay at the Penny Farthing was delightful and we would recommend it to anyone who wants a quiet and peaceful stay in this busy tourist town. The decor is quaint and interesting and very cozy. Our room had its own veranda with a swing seat so we could sit out at night. The food was fabulous and we had complimentary water, soft drinks and wine throughout our visit. David and Marie were wondeful hosts. We would certainly go out of our way to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MollyNaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2007

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at the Penny Farthing Inn B&B in St. Augustine, FL. What a great experience. The owners are beautiful people who make you feel like valued members of their family. Their hospitality and attention to your every need made our visit a real joy.
The Inn is a restored 1890's house tastefully decorated with Victorian furniture. We spent many enjoyable hours sitting on the porch with the owners chatting and drinking wine (which they provide for free!) Breakfast is at 9 AM each morning and is worth the trip alone. The Inn is located within a pleasant walking distance to the downtown historical district and only a couple blocks from a tram stop that provides on-and-off transportation to all the major attractions in town. Our room - the La Casita - was very nice. Clean and well appointed.
We dined at the Rain Tree restaurant and had a great meal. They even provide free pick up and return at the Inn! What a nice feature. St. Augustine is a vibrant town with all kinds of shops, galleries, and dining that are well worth visiting. A large portion of St. George St. is a pedestrian only section well worth the stroll.
All-in-all, we couldn't have asked for a better experience. We will definitely return to Inn in the near future.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank AikenGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2007

My girlfriend and I stayed there Sunday through Wednesday. The owners are so wonderful. The rooms were great. We got to stay in two rooms and we got to see two more. This was our first time staying in a B&B and it is so much better than a hotel. The owners make you feel like you are part of the family. With their charming British accent and wonderful cooking and hospitality, it is truly a place that you will want to visit again!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CSKapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2007

This is an outstanding bed and breakfast. The location is perfect for exploring this wonderful city. The sightseeing trains and trolleys make a stop that is only a block away. The Lightner Museum is only a half a block away and Flagler College is only a block away. I couldn't have asked for a better location. The rooms were very clean. I was in the Cherry Rose Room and I really enjoyed having the deck to relax on in the evenings and in the morning. There is wireless Internet, which was great to stay connected via email to family members back home. There was always snacks in the late afternoon, as well as wine. Sherry was provided in each of the rooms and was also available in the main house. A refrigerator was stocked with water and sodas, which came in very handy. But best of all were the breakfasts. Truly outstanding. I have stayed in many bed and breakfasts across the United States and in Europe, and the Penny Farthing Inn has the best breakfast of all. The hosts were extremely helpful in providing tips on places to go and in providing tips for restaurants. I plan on returning to St. Augustine in the near future and will stay here again.

Stayed: May 2007
2  Thank mgraeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.2 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#11 of 31 in St. Augustine
522 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 31 in St. Augustine
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast
Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 31 in St. Augustine
900 reviews
0 mi away
Peace and Plenty Inn
Peace and Plenty Inn
#15 of 31 in St. Augustine
712 reviews
0.4 mi away
44 Spanish Street Inn
44 Spanish Street Inn
#5 of 31 in St. Augustine
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penny Farthing Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penny Farthing Inn

Address: 83 Cedar Street, St. Augustine, FL 32084-4311
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range: £118 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Penny Farthing Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Penny Farthing Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penny Farthing Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing