We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn On Charlotte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn On Charlotte
Ranked #4 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

The Inn on Charlotte was perfect. Rodney and his staff are absolutely top notch. Breakfast was amazing. The room was perfect(we stayed in the Mary Lily Room) Coffee was fantastic, and the chocolate chip cookies, oh my! So yummy. I felt like I was at home from the moment I got there. It was great to meet the other patrons at the cocktail hour and hear their stories :)

Another thing that was great was the location. It was right in the heart of historic St. Augustine. We parked in our assigned parking spot and we walked everywhere, which was great. I am definitely going to make it back again!

My mom and I had the perfect first time B&B experience at the Inn on Charlotte. It's going to be hard to top!

Room Tip: The Mary Lily Room was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you for the kind words. it was a pleasure meeting and hosting you, and your mother. We are happy you enjoyed your girls-get-away and can't wait to see you again.

And you will be happy to hear we are about to switch over from winter's apple-cider syrup to a citrus-glaze (or, Sunshine Syrup as I call it - yum!) served atop Sunday's Belgium Waffles.

Yours,
Rod, Rae Ann, Ann and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    975
    50
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
44
810
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waxahachie, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Inn on Charlotte during a five night stay in St. Augustine. We stayed in the Marjorie Rawlings Room. The innkeeper is so personable as well as the staff. They all aim to please! Absolutely fantastic breakfasts (recipes are shared), fresh baked cookies, beautiful surroundings. Even though our room was a little small, the furnishings (especially the two person jacuzzi) were first class. The location could not have been better. We walked to everything! St. Augustine is a neat city and the Inn on Charlotte would be a great place for anyone who enjoys the finer things in life!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kap1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your long stay and the Inn on Charlotte and we hope to see you again next year. Let us know how your breakfast dish comes out.

Yours,
Rod, Rae Ann, Ann and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Hill, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The Inn on the Charlotte is a perfect getaway! It's location was well within walking distance of all the St. Augustine attractions, yet far enough away to enjoy a quiet evening. The staff are extremely friendly and accommodating. The breakfasts are OUTSTANDING! Some of the best breakfast meals we've ever had. The room was very clean, cozy, and romantic. We loved the Inn on the Charlotte and can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: The floors creak a little so upstairs rooms are preferred. Also, the phone and doorbell are only au...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Thank you for the amazing review. That was very kind of you. 'Charlotte' - as we call the old house - was built in 1918 and getting close to 100 years old but, good for a second 100!

Yours,
Rod, Rae Ann, Ann and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

My boyfriend and I made a last minute decision to go away to St. Augustine for the weekend and de-stress. I was referred to the Inn on Charlotte and booked a Saturday night stay. We were allowed to check in early (definite plus!!!) and I immediately saw why there were not more nights available. The place is adorable!!! It is charming, quiet, gorgeously decorated and the staff are all amazing. RaeAnn and Ann answered all of our questions and gave us tips on where to dine. Now, more about the room; we stayed in the "Verandah" which was beautifully decorated, in immaculate condition and exceptionally clean. It included a king size bed, jacuzzi tub, electric fireplace, sitting chairs and a balcony verandah. Each time my BF and I sat for a while out on the verandah, we counted tons of people walking by the inn, stopping to admire it and even taking pictures. This place is, after all, quite picture worthy! The interior has a cozy elegant feel with just the right amount of period decor with modern amenities that blend seamlessly together. If there was anything at all that I did not just love, it escapes me. The entire inn was just perfect. Our breakfast Sunday morning consisted of poached pear with an almond creme sauce. The creme was very light and a perfect complement to the pear. This was followed by belgian waffles with a homemade apple cider with cinnamon syrup, and sausage. Throughout the day, chocolate chip cookies and pretzels, lemonade, water, and a very delicious iced tea were available. The iced tea had a delicious light fruit flavor but I forgot to ask about it further. Our stay here was absolutely perfect, very romantic, and worth every cent. I know that for future trips to St. Augustine, we will definitely book ahead because after our own experience and after reading reviews, we know there is no better place out there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
What a good writer. Thank you for the eloquent review. We are happy to have meet you both. Come see us again soon.

Yours,
Rod, Rae Ann, Ann and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We're Florida residents who visit St Augustine regularly. The Inn on Charlotte is now our "home away from home!" With Rodney as host and his friendly dedicated staff, this is the best B and B experience we've had in or out of Florida. Location is great, in the heart of the historic district. Rodney has put his heart into this inn; authentically decorated, clean, beautiful, comfortable. We stayed in the Marie Lily and Audubon rooms (lucky to get a room each of 2 nights as our reservations were last-minute.) Comfortable beds, jacuzzis, all the amenities. We enjoyed great conversation at happy hour with the other guests, in the parlor and on the front porch, both arranged to make you feel "at home." Felt like we were hanging out with family. Beverages and fresh cookies always available, as well as discounts from local restaurants and attractions. After dinner at our favorite restaurant (free dessert with Inn on Charlotte coupon), a long soak in the jacuzzi. In the morning, the aroma of breakfast; Rodney's recipes cooked fresh and delicious, served at our beautifully set table with antique dishes and crystal stemware. Rodney and Rae Ann were attentive and friendly, without "hovering." Kudos to Rodney and staff. When you love what you do, it shows. Whenever we visit St Augustine, we'll stay at the Inn on Charlotte!

Room Tip: Marie Lily is a good bargain with a queen bed, large 2-person jacuzzi. Audubon is also bargain-pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pgbull7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
You are so sweet to say such kind things. You have touched our hearts and reminds us why we love our jobs. Thank you and we cant wait to see you back, at the Inn on Charlotte.

Yours,
Rod, Rae Ann, Ann and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

My fiance and I stayed at the Inn a couple of weeks ago. It was our first time to stay at a bed and breakfast. I was very impressed, to say the least. There were fresh baked cookies when we arrived and an enthusiastic Innkeeper. The stay was very pleasant. The space is beautiful, personalities are kind and the little touches throughout the stay were indescribable. We will definitiely be returning as soon as we can get away from the hustle and bustle in Atlantic Beach.

Room Tip: Maria Andreu's Haven is on the second floor with a large porch directly above the entrance to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
We are please we could be your 'first'; and we hope we have spoiled you for any other B&B you might go to. Thank you, for the review and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Yours,
Rod, Rae Ann, Ann and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Lovely B&B and lived up to the reviews. Great location - right next to downtown St. Augustine and the Fort. Only issue was we were in Anna Marcotte's Hideaway and it was perfect except space was a little limited in the overall room - next time we'll stay inside the house.

Room Tip: Rooms inside the house seem more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzannesg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Thank you for the review, and now you see why we recommend you drive the smallest car you can find. Everything about St Augustine - like other cities of it's age - is small. Small streets, small parking spaces, small shops and pubs... Most B&B rooms in historic houses are much the same. We ask guests to review the photos and read the descriptions on the website.

Yours,
Rod, Rae Ann, Ann and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.2 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 31 in St. Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agustin Inn
Agustin Inn
#10 of 31 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#12 of 31 in St. Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn On Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Charlotte

Property: Inn On Charlotte
Address: 52 Charlotte St, St. Augustine, FL 32084
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
!! Summer Rates In Effect!! A Saint Augustine Adults Only Inn and ranked in the Top 5 because of our breakfasts and the Inn's great location. It was built in 1918 so she is an elegant Edwardian bed and breakfast in the heart of the nation's oldest city. We are just steps from the bay front on a brick-lined street. The home has been lovingly restored to reflect its original grandeur and is carefully decorated with antique furnishings and accessories. As a bed and breakfast since 1993, the Inn on Charlotte has become known for its Southern hospitality which, of course, means relaxation and comfort for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Inn On Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Charlotte Hotel Saint Augustine
Inn On Charlotte St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing