We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible!”
Review of Inn On Charlotte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn On Charlotte
Ranked #4 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Incredible!”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Rodney was greatest. The location can't be beat, the inn was so charming and tastefully done, and the breakfast is worth a thousand words!! I can't thank the whole staff for the hospitality enough. I will definiately return.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonirose0579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Just what an Innkeeper wants to hear. Thank you; and we hope to see you again very soon.

Yours,
Rod, Rae Ann, Ann and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,004
    52
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
47
834
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We pick this B&B accidentaly, owners are very charming and make us confortable after a long day of driving. Nice to find a quiet place in the city of Saint Augustine which is charming but busy.
Location is great, you could walk easily to all the main interests of the city.
We stayed in the studio on ground floor (I would prefer to stay upstairs with the balcony) but only the studio left, warm atmosphere, jacuzzi and big shower.
I would say it is a little bit expensive for a backyard and parking lot views (should keep all curtains closed all time) and a flat screens would be apreciable.
Nice home made breakfast.
I think this is the perfect stay for a week end, having more time to stay in the parlor or on the porch.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mougnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Thank you. We were happy we were able to accommodate you at the last minute, St Augustine is in high-season and fills-up fast on weekends. Luck, that room had recently become available.

Your room, the Tiffany Studio, is one of our most popular rooms with the plush king-size pillow-top bed, and 2-person spa tub... perfect for romantic get-a-ways. (AND!!! This week we added a little elec. fireplace to set the perfect mood.)

We hope you get a chance to visits the US again soon.
Rod, Rae Ann, Ann and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My partner and I have stayed in many, many B&B's over the years. Some experiences were good - some not so much so. The Inn on Charlotte, however was perfect from the moment we checked in and each staff member made quite an impression. Anne checked us in upon arrival and was warm, welcoming and made us truly feel at home. Raye Anne served breakfast the next morning and provided directions to the beach. The owners Rodney and Jerry could not be more pleasant and genuine. We stayed in the Anne Marcotte Room which is in the carriage house behind the main building - it was great. A nice, private space where you feel you have your own little hideaway. We had access to the common areas in the main house where complimentary lemonade and iced tea was available. The Inn itself is stunning. In fact as we sat out on the front porch passers by would just stop and take the view in. The location cannot be beat. Smack in the middle of town, right near plenty of restaurants and only a block from the water. Breakfast was spectacular. It has been a few weeks now since our trip and I still think about how delicious the poached pear with almond cream was. We missed breakfast one morning as sleep was more important and I still regret it! We had never been to St Augustine before and quite honestly its worth making the trip just to stay at the Inn on Charlotte. We know where we will be staying next time and are looking forward to it already. I can't understand why this isn't yet the #1 B&B on Trip Advisor in St. Augustine. In my opinion, the Inn on Charlotte is simply top notch - you can't do better and believe me I'm a tough customer.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Thank you for your kind words, I'm confidant this will help other couples choose the inn right for them. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Yours,
Rod, Rae Ann, Ann and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Staying at the Inn on Charlotte reminded me of long ago visits to my grandmother's home. From the outside it doesn't look like much, just a plain-faced brick building, solid and homely, a little time worn. But there is a wide welcoming front porch that leads you into a large hallway and comfortable parlor with cozy overstuffed couches, and turn of the century furniture that fit the house's unpretentious exterior. It feels totally warm and welcoming, and so are owners Rodney, Jerry, and their wonderful staff -- they are all very open, friendly, and helpful -- genuinely nice people who clearly enjoy getting to know their guests. During our three night stay we felt like we were visiting with family -- the Inn on Carriage is definitely the friendliest B&B we have discovered. We stayed in Diamond Lil's, a charming room, small but with an nice oversize bathroom with a large jetted tub The bed was a lovely four poster with a comfortable mattress and quality linens, and the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. No ghosts while we were there! Loved curling up on the porch with a glass of wine and chatting with the other guests during happy hours, and breakfasts were delicious -- served at nine, a little late for us but St. Augustine doesn't wake up until after 10 a.m. so we relaxed and went with the flow. The location is better than perfect, in the heart of downtown, but it still feels private and off the beaten path, and we were able to walk everywhere. And, for those inclined the rear entrance to the Tini Martini Bar in just steps across the street. Perfect vacation, wish we could have stayed longer -- we'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thank you, for such kind words and such detailed review. Where do I begin?
We have no doubt that this will helpful to other travelers and yes, we love the front porch too. Especially with such beautiful weather you had during your visit. We look forward to seeing you again, soon.

Yours,
Rod, Rae Ann, Ann and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The Inn on Charlotte was perfect. Rodney and his staff are absolutely top notch. Breakfast was amazing. The room was perfect(we stayed in the Mary Lily Room) Coffee was fantastic, and the chocolate chip cookies, oh my! So yummy. I felt like I was at home from the moment I got there. It was great to meet the other patrons at the cocktail hour and hear their stories :)

Another thing that was great was the location. It was right in the heart of historic St. Augustine. We parked in our assigned parking spot and we walked everywhere, which was great. I am definitely going to make it back again!

My mom and I had the perfect first time B&B experience at the Inn on Charlotte. It's going to be hard to top!

Room Tip: The Mary Lily Room was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you for the kind words. it was a pleasure meeting and hosting you, and your mother. We are happy you enjoyed your girls-get-away and can't wait to see you again.

And you will be happy to hear we are about to switch over from winter's apple-cider syrup to a citrus-glaze (or, Sunshine Syrup as I call it - yum!) served atop Sunday's Belgium Waffles.

Yours,
Rod, Rae Ann, Ann and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waxahachie, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Inn on Charlotte during a five night stay in St. Augustine. We stayed in the Marjorie Rawlings Room. The innkeeper is so personable as well as the staff. They all aim to please! Absolutely fantastic breakfasts (recipes are shared), fresh baked cookies, beautiful surroundings. Even though our room was a little small, the furnishings (especially the two person jacuzzi) were first class. The location could not have been better. We walked to everything! St. Augustine is a neat city and the Inn on Charlotte would be a great place for anyone who enjoys the finer things in life!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kap1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your long stay and the Inn on Charlotte and we hope to see you again next year. Let us know how your breakfast dish comes out.

Yours,
Rod, Rae Ann, Ann and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Hill, Florida, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The Inn on the Charlotte is a perfect getaway! It's location was well within walking distance of all the St. Augustine attractions, yet far enough away to enjoy a quiet evening. The staff are extremely friendly and accommodating. The breakfasts are OUTSTANDING! Some of the best breakfast meals we've ever had. The room was very clean, cozy, and romantic. We loved the Inn on the Charlotte and can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: The floors creak a little so upstairs rooms are preferred. Also, the phone and doorbell are only au...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Thank you for the amazing review. That was very kind of you. 'Charlotte' - as we call the old house - was built in 1918 and getting close to 100 years old but, good for a second 100!

Yours,
Rod, Rae Ann, Ann and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.2 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#5 of 78 in St. Augustine
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.2 mi away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 31 in St. Augustine
909 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agustin Inn
Agustin Inn
#10 of 31 in St. Augustine
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn On Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Charlotte

Property: Inn On Charlotte
Address: 52 Charlotte St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3647
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 'Adults Only' Inn that ranks in the Top 5 because of our, clean rooms, great breakfasts, and the Inn's super location. It was built in 1918 so she is an elegant Edwardian bed and breakfast in the heart of the nation's oldest city. We are just steps from the bay front on a brick-lined street. The home has been lovingly restored to reflect its original grandeur and is carefully decorated with antique furnishings and accessories. As a bed and breakfast since 1993, the Inn on Charlotte has become known for its Southern hospitality which, of course, means relaxation and comfort for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Inn On Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Charlotte Hotel Saint Augustine
Inn On Charlotte St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing