We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five star treatment with Southern hospitality.”
Review of Inn On Charlotte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn On Charlotte
Ranked #4 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Five star treatment with Southern hospitality.”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I was a sceptic, when It came to staying at a B&B. Well, after our weekend stay at the Inn on Charlotte in St Ausustine, Florida I am now a believer. Great location, within walking distance of all activites. The Inn itself exceeded our expactations with fabulous rooms and a breaskfast that would put many five Star hotels to shame. The owners were very engaging with the guest and truely made you feel like you were part of the family. If your are a B&B fan, the Inn on Charlotte is a must stay, in the St. Augustine area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLA33549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
We are so happy to have helped change your mind about bed and breakfasts - and it was a pleasure getting to know you in the process. Thank you for the nice review and we look forward to see you back home, at the Inn on Charlotte.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    993
    52
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
47
826
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lloret de Mar, Spain
Level Contributor
283 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed at the Inn on Charlotte for one night during July. This was our choice, in part, due to the nice reviews we read about.
We booked the Diamond Lil's Suite (no more rooms available, that's a good sign).
This B&B is located in a beautiful setting, a charming and quiet street close to Castillo de San Marcos. The building is beautiful, and the hosts are really kind and helpful, always with a smile and always willing to make your stay enjoyable.
Parking within a walk from the Inn.
During happy hour you can stay with other guests and have a glass of wine or a beer while chatting.
Our room was nice, with lots of details, and a comfortable bed.
Once at this point, in my opinion, everything is forgivable except sleep quality. When you are staying in a hotel or B&B, your final aim is rest and sleep. Well, one wall of this room is close the a noisy aircon machine (maybe the central), which is constantly turning on and off, even during the night. You can sleep something due to the fatigue, but not thanks to the noise you are hearing. To complete it, the window of this room is faced to a small street where there are more AC machines of the close buildings.
So, to sum up, during the night you are hearing an irregular noise of the AC machines, making impossible to sleep and rest. And paying about 190$ per night, I think it is unacceptable.
I had wanted to tell it in person to the hosts, but the next morning we had to leave early, so I can not give my view about breakfast.
Maybe I had bad luck with that room, but this was exactly my stay.
A shame.

Room Tip: Avoid Diamond Lil's Suite to avoid a noisy room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PezFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you for the long and detailed review. We are happy there was so much that you liked about the Inn on Charlotte. And yes, here in Florida, and most of the USA, we need our air conditioning, especially during the summer months. So it's no wonder you heard our air-handler, and our neighbors compressors running during the night. We are sorry this disturbed your sleep. We do have sleep machines in each room that create a 'white-noise' or natural sounds (waves, crickets, etc.) that helps some guests who have trouble sleeping in a different place. I'm not sure if this would have helped you, but if there is something else we can do to have helped you sleep, please let us know.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The breakfasts were wonderful, the rooms very clean and comfortable, and the location is the best you can possibly get as it is a quick walk to anything downtown.

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in the Marjorie Rawlings room, which is located in the carriage house behind the main Inn. The room was very clean and comfortable, even though it was a hot Florida August outside the room stayed very cool. Loved that the room has a jacuzzi tub. The breakfast's were great, the first day was a cold strawberry soup followed by a wonderful spanish egg souffle. the second morning was a poached pear with an almond cream sauce followed by a belgian waffle with pineapple syrup.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyler D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Congratulations and thank you for the kind review. We are happy to have been part of your special weekend and that you like the breakfasts we made. Come back and see us again soon at the Inn on Charlotte.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Just returned from a stay at the inn, we were in room 8, the place is gorgeous and the location is excellent. I read several reviews complaining about noise level at night because there are several bars very close by; however, we were there on Friday and Saturday and the live music finished by 11:30 or 12:00 and the bands were good. So we sat on our balcony and enjoyed good music without the crowded bar scene. The inn is within walking distance of everything in pretty much the entire historic district and a big plus is one half block from our favorite restaurant (Harry's). The breakfast provided was five star restaurant quality with a beautiful presentation. We had an excellent strawberry soup and egg casserole on Saturday and poached pear and Belgium waffles with the best fresh made pineapple syrup on Sunday. There isn't enough space to tell how much we enjoyed our stay at the inn, but I would recommend you stay there if possible. It is well worth it! We did have one suggestion to make room 8 even better, add some shade over the balcony, the sun is brutal in August.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lemoncm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
What a great idea, sitting on the balcony enjoying... your own private concert. How romantic. It was our pleasure hosting you both, during your visit to St Augustine. There is so much more to do in St Augustine, come back and see us again soon.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

After just returning from the inn on charlotte I'm sat here wishing we were still there as I write this review,I'm not sure if I can put it into words how wonderful our experience was from the moment we were greeted by Jerry to the time we said goodbye to rod.Our room was extremely clean and comfortable,the breakfast was out of this world and every member of staff were so helpful and kind,the inn itself is in the best location you could ask for with walking distance to every attraction,we have stayed in several of the other inns ranked above and around this one but believe me this is hands down the number one in st Augustine,thank you so much guys..Paul and jenny xo

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wellardikov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
This means a lot to us, thank you! It's a kind gift to say such great things about all of us at the Inn on Charlotte, but coming from regular St Augustine bed and breakfast guests makes it all the more special. Come back and see us all soon.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny, and Jerry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

The Inn was wonderful. The staff and Inn were warm and inviting. The food was excellent and the dining experience was lovely. The location is ideal...only a few steps from everything (shopping, restaurants, landmarks). An overall great value and treasure of St Augustine. Will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDketchum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
That is so sweet of you to say this, thank you. We can't wait for your return to the Inn on Charlotte.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed 3 nights during a swing through Florida. The Inn is beautifully maintained and managed and the breakfast Rodney prepares is always spectacular. Perhaps the best part about the inn however is the location. Easy walking to everything (a block from St George street). Everyone from the owners and staff was friendly and accommodating. if you're planning a trip to St Augustine you won't be disappointed with the Inn on Charlotte.

Room Tip: We stayed in the smaller of the front rooms. With a balcony overlooking the street size didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snugdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Our jobs are made easy, when the guests are as wonderful as you guys are. Thank you, for writing a review, and be sure to make your plans to visit the Inn on Charlotte again next year!

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.2 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#11 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 31 in St. Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agustin Inn
Agustin Inn
#10 of 31 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn On Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Charlotte

Property: Inn On Charlotte
Address: 52 Charlotte St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3647
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saint Augustine's only 'Adults Only' Inn that ranks in the Top 5 because of clean rooms, our breakfasts, and the Inn's great location. It was built in 1918 so she is an elegant Edwardian bed and breakfast in the heart of the nation's oldest city. We are just steps from the bay front on a brick-lined street. The home has been lovingly restored to reflect its original grandeur and is carefully decorated with antique furnishings and accessories. As a bed and breakfast since 1993, the Inn on Charlotte has become known for its Southern hospitality which, of course, means relaxation and comfort for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn On Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Charlotte Hotel Saint Augustine
Inn On Charlotte St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing