We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new home in St Augustine”
Review of Inn On Charlotte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn On Charlotte
Ranked #4 of 30 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Beautiful Inn, centrally located, friendly and helpful staff and delicious breakfasts. This is the place to stay. We will be back and frequently! We parked the car when we arrived and didn't need it the rest of our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

We could not say it better ourselves - thank you.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,083)
There are newer reviews for Inn On Charlotte
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

543 - 549 of 1,083 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

Just left earlier this AM.

Wife made reservations for our 5th Anniversary based on friend staying there previously.

Location - excellent.
Room - super clean and comfortable and very spacious.
Service - exceptional.
Breakfast - amazing. Really - I might come back just for the fantastic breakfasts. It's a gourmet prepared breakfast!!!

You can tell the owners and staff truly love and enjoy being "hoteliers," and serving the clientele! Looking forward to coming and staying again!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flatus32250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

See now... we are blushing. Thank you, for the kind words. We do it all for you,so come back and see us again soon.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed at the Inn on Charlotte hoping for a charming, romantic experience, and we got it! Everyone on the staff was wonderful and friendly, and they sure can cook! We made sure to set an alarm to be up for breakfast both days we were there, both for the food and the conversation Rodney and Jerry brought to the room. The beer and wine social was a nice way to chat a little more with the folks met at breakfast that day, and a great way to start an evening in St. Augustine. As for location, we couldn't have asked for a better one. Walking distance to everything in the historic district, but far enough away that late night bar patrons weren't a nuisance. We stayed in the Marjorie K. Rowlings bungalow behind the main house. We loved the added privacy it provided and the private courtyard. The only issue I can think of is that the wall mounted a/c unit was working full time to keep the room cool, but the background noise it created was enough to drown out any outside noises and we slept soundly both nights. We're already planning another visit!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cookjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

What a great review, thank you. And you will be happy to hear we just added a new 'split-system' that will cool and heat the room quietly. Come back and see for yourself.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Such a lovely place! A short walk to everything, its in the perfect location. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious and there was an unlimited supply of fresh cookies at all times. The staff was so helpful and sweet. They made us feel very welcomed. What a wonderful experience! I loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rooster029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you, for the kind words. We enjoyed meeting you both and hope to see you back at the Inn on Charlotte soon.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I was a sceptic, when It came to staying at a B&B. Well, after our weekend stay at the Inn on Charlotte in St Ausustine, Florida I am now a believer. Great location, within walking distance of all activites. The Inn itself exceeded our expactations with fabulous rooms and a breaskfast that would put many five Star hotels to shame. The owners were very engaging with the guest and truely made you feel like you were part of the family. If your are a B&B fan, the Inn on Charlotte is a must stay, in the St. Augustine area.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLA33549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

We are so happy to have helped change your mind about bed and breakfasts - and it was a pleasure getting to know you in the process. Thank you for the nice review and we look forward to see you back home, at the Inn on Charlotte.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed at the Inn on Charlotte for one night during July. This was our choice, in part, due to the nice reviews we read about.
We booked the Diamond Lil's Suite (no more rooms available, that's a good sign).
This B&B is located in a beautiful setting, a charming and quiet street close to Castillo de San Marcos. The building is beautiful, and the hosts are really kind and helpful, always with a smile and always willing to make your stay enjoyable.
Parking within a walk from the Inn.
During happy hour you can stay with other guests and have a glass of wine or a beer while chatting.
Our room was nice, with lots of details, and a comfortable bed.
Once at this point, in my opinion, everything is forgivable except sleep quality. When you are staying in a hotel or B&B, your final aim is rest and sleep. Well, one wall of this room is close the a noisy aircon machine (maybe the central), which is constantly turning on and off, even during the night. You can sleep something due to the fatigue, but not thanks to the noise you are hearing. To complete it, the window of this room is faced to a small street where there are more AC machines of the close buildings.
So, to sum up, during the night you are hearing an irregular noise of the AC machines, making impossible to sleep and rest. And paying about 190$ per night, I think it is unacceptable.
I had wanted to tell it in person to the hosts, but the next morning we had to leave early, so I can not give my view about breakfast.
Maybe I had bad luck with that room, but this was exactly my stay.
A shame.

Room Tip: Avoid Diamond Lil's Suite to avoid a noisy room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PezFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you for the long and detailed review. We are happy there was so much that you liked about the Inn on Charlotte. And yes, here in Florida, and most of the USA, we need our air conditioning, especially during the summer months. So it's no wonder you heard our air-handler, and our neighbors compressors running during the night. We are sorry this disturbed your sleep. We do have sleep machines in each room that create a 'white-noise' or natural sounds (waves, crickets, etc.) that helps some guests who have trouble sleeping in a different place. I'm not sure if this would have helped you, but if there is something else we can do to have helped you sleep, please let us know.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny and Jerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The breakfasts were wonderful, the rooms very clean and comfortable, and the location is the best you can possibly get as it is a quick walk to anything downtown.

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in the Marjorie Rawlings room, which is located in the carriage house behind the main Inn. The room was very clean and comfortable, even though it was a hot Florida August outside the room stayed very cool. Loved that the room has a jacuzzi tub. The breakfast's were great, the first day was a cold strawberry soup followed by a wonderful spanish egg souffle. the second morning was a poached pear with an almond cream sauce followed by a belgian waffle with pineapple syrup.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyler D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Congratulations and thank you for the kind review. We are happy to have been part of your special weekend and that you like the breakfasts we made. Come back and see us again soon at the Inn on Charlotte.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny and Jerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.2 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#6 of 78 in St. Augustine
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
44 Spanish Street Inn
44 Spanish Street Inn
#5 of 30 in St. Augustine
487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 30 in St. Augustine
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn On Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Charlotte

Address: 52 Charlotte St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3647
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range: £118 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 'Adults Only' Inn that ranks in the Top 5 because of our, clean rooms, great breakfasts, and the Inn's super location. It was built in 1918 so she is an elegant Edwardian bed and breakfast in the heart of the nation's oldest city. We are just steps from the bay front on a brick-lined street. The home has been lovingly restored to reflect its original grandeur and is carefully decorated with antique furnishings and accessories. As a bed and breakfast since 1993, the Inn on Charlotte has become known for its Southern hospitality which, of course, means relaxation and comfort for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Inn On Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Charlotte Hotel Saint Augustine
Inn On Charlotte St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing