We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn On Charlotte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn On Charlotte
Ranked #4 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Seven of us (all women) had an overnight birthday celebration in St. Augustine and stayed at The Inn on Charlotte. It was wonderful from beginning to end. Ann was so gracious when she welcomed us and took good such good care of us. Jerry and Rod were personable and fun and served a delicious breakfast the next morning. They had great stories of St. Augustine and it's people and made the visit very special. The location is perfect. You can walk to great restaurants, St. George Street, museums….pretty much everything in downtown St. Augustine. We'll be returning!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank proudgrandparents_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
What a delightful group of friends with a great idea. We are the better for meeting all of you and we are so impressed with your enduring friendships. We really enjoyed meeting all of you and are delighted that you consider returning to the Inn on Charlotte. We can't wait.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    972
    50
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
44
807
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

This was our first time staying at a B&B and we would definitely stay at this one again. It was a great experience that I strongly recommend to others. The service staff was also very helpful on what to see in the city and what restaurants to eat at.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
We are happy to hear we've 'turned' another guest away from hotels. While we can't assure that every B&B will be like the Inn on Charlotte, as long as you experience them together, you will always have a happy story no matter is your stay is good, or bad. Come back soon.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

My husband and I completely enjoyed our stay at the Inn on Charlotte over the MLK weekend. Our room was spacious, clean, and quiet. The location is central to everything and within walking distance. The parking is ample for a compact car, and the staff provides detailed directions on where and when to park.

There are several small touches that go above and beyond the expected, such as homemade syrup for your Belgian waffles, unlimited chocolate chip cookies and pretzels in the living area, fresh citrus water and lemonade in the refrigerator, and complementary umbrellas on cloudy days. Rodney and Jerry also paid special attention to our dietary needs and made sure that we were happy and well fed. (And Rodney even gave us some leftovers to take for our trip home). The staff also made sure to send us an e-mail wishing us a Happy Anniversary—even before we stayed there! Everyone at the Inn made us feel welcome, and we found a new favorite place to stay the next time we are in St. Augustine.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ro H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you, guys - this is very kind. You made our holiday weekend and we enjoyed the time we spent with you. It's great to know folks care and appreciate our extra efforts. We hope to see you again at the Inn on Charlotte.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

My fiance and I stayed here for only 1 night Jan 16th & we wish we could have stayed longer! We were in the Studio which is on the main floor and is a very large "master" type of room with large sitting area, super comfortable king bed, jacuzzi tub and "modern" bathroom with walk in shower. Very nice pillows, linens and towels too! (I love antiques but I like my pillows, sheets and towels to be new!) :) We arrived in town early and Anne told us to go ahead and check in & get comfy. So welcoming! It's in the midst of the shops, restaurants and pubs that we wanted to check out. This Inn is well maintained, clean, comfortable and convenient. Yummy home made french toast for breakfast. Checks everything on my list. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
What a cute couple - it was enjoyable meeting the two of you. This review will be very helpful to travelers who need a bit more room, because there are few rooms in St Augustine are is very... roomy. :) Come back to the Inn on Charlotte and stay a bit longer.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent Memorial Day weekend here last year and we could not have had a better time. We stayed in the Tiffany Studio, which was beautiful, and comfortable.

Now the reason for the review.....we were back in St. Augustine in December and stayed at the Bayfront Westcott House and there is no comparison between the two. There are rave reviews on here about Charlotte's breakfast....it was a waffle with a syrup, and a McDonald's sausage patty (I really think it was the same thing). Yes, the poached pear was nice, but seriously, do not go here thinking you are going to be blown away with a gourmet breakfast. It just isn't very good. We were also instructed upon check-in not to bother the owner unless it was an absolute emergency. Westcott's motto was "Ask and you shall receive" and they meant it.

I don't write this because we were unhappy with our stay, but because of the reviews that it has been given. After staying at the Westcott house, there is no way we would ever go back here. I hope anyone deciding on a trip to St. Augustine would have the most wonderful experience possible, in a very lovely city. The Inn on Charlotte was fine, but it is waaaay overrated.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Grant R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Inn on Charlotte, and we are glad that you liked your room, and surprised that you didn't enjoy our Sunday breakfast of Poached-Pear coated in home-made chilled Almond-Cream sauce, fresh cooked Deep-pocket Belgium waffles served with our home-made sauces, (Pineapple Glaze for summer or, Apple cider syrup for winter). But we hope you liked your Monday Breakfast of Honey-dew melon with low fat vanilla yogurt, and the Inn on Charlotte Frittata (fresh-baked with par-boiled potato, Swiss & Pram cheese and chive) served with bacon and home-made banana-bread. That’s one of our favorites. But I’m sure it was not as good as your ‘eggs over easy’ that you ordered on your recent visit to St Augustine. (Seen from pic you posted on TripAdvisor). But that’s only to be expected when you stay at a premier property like the one you recently stayed at, who is twice the size, and has twice the staff, than the little 8 room Inn on Charlotte.

We must admit that we are a bit confused by 2 of your comments. 1) About 'bothering the owners': We were both there each day through-out the busy holiday weekend, and as a policy we leave our personal phone numbers (2 of them) in each room in case guests need us after hours. 2) Why insult the previous guest reviews on TripAdvisor, by stating that we are ‘over rated’, after only staying in one other inn? After all, there are over 30 in the St Augustine area, each with their own qualities and flavors.

But in any case, we are very pleased that you found a new place to stay when you visit St Augustine.
Rod & Jerry - IOC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
294 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

My husband and I recently spent two days at the inn and were very pleased with the accommodations as well as the location. It's right in the heart of the historic sites which allowed us to walk everywhere we needed. Rob, one of the owners, greeted us upon our arrival. It turned out that we hit a slow time - post holidays - and were the only guests the first evening. Nothing like having a beautiful home with a large front parlor to call our "own." Rob invited us to take a look at the other rooms. They were all beautiful.

Rob adjusted the breakfast menu to fit our needs. My husband got his plain bowl of oatmeal with toast while I opted for the lemon/ricotta pancakes which were delicious. They were served with sausages and a fruit cup. The following morning we were served a quiche with sugared bacon and mango "soup." (I'm glad we weren't scared off by the name. It's really a mango smoothie and was very delicious even for me who's not fond of mangoes.) For the second breakfast, we were joined by a couple who was staying in the back cottage. As for meals, It really wouldn't matter how many people are staying at the inn since the dining area is set up with tables for two. We were there during a cold spell (in the 30s) so we really didn't get to appreciate sitting on the front porch near the fountain watching people go by. Between 5 - 6 p.m. snacks are set out including wine, beer, pretzels and freshly baked chocolate chip cookies.

As for our room (Diamond Lil's), it was everything we anticipated. Rob was very proud of the large, tiled shower that had just been completed. A word of warning - the bed is very high off the ground which could pose a problem for some. Ann, the inn keeper, does a great job making up the room as well as cooking the breakfasts. She's a local and a great source of information about the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatriz121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
We had a great time with y'all - thanks for staying with us. We enjoyed our time with you and thank you for this review. And you are right, the reproduction bed in that room is a bit higher off the floor. We have a step-stool in the hall for those who need it. Thanks again, and we look forward to your return to the Inn on Charlotte.

Yours.
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We loved this place. Second time here but a couple brought their 18 month old and he screamed the whole time he was there. He screamed thru breakfast and parents never said a word. This was to be a romantic getaway for us. Will look for a B&B that is adult only for next trip. We also had to share a balcony with the people in the next room. There were some plants between us and them but we could see and talk to them. The guy in the next room started talking to us as soon as we came out to the balcony. Not very romantic.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 8662cardio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
We are an 'Adults Only' B&B - and we were as shocked as you were that morning, at the start of breakfast, when we were told an extra guest with us. But we are heart-broken the 'little one' ruined your special get away, and thank you for this review to allow us to fix the situation. You see this was a 'first' for us but now, after your review, we have created a procedure to handle this in the future. So thank you, again. And we hope you will reconsider staying at the normally romantic Inn on Charlotte the next time you come to town, but we understand if you don't. Always, travel safe.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.2 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.2 mi away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 31 in St. Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#12 of 31 in St. Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn On Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Charlotte

Property: Inn On Charlotte
Address: 52 Charlotte St, St. Augustine, FL 32084
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
!! Summer Rates In Effect!! A Saint Augustine Adults Only Inn and ranked in the Top 5 because of our breakfasts and the Inn's great location. It was built in 1918 so she is an elegant Edwardian bed and breakfast in the heart of the nation's oldest city. We are just steps from the bay front on a brick-lined street. The home has been lovingly restored to reflect its original grandeur and is carefully decorated with antique furnishings and accessories. As a bed and breakfast since 1993, the Inn on Charlotte has become known for its Southern hospitality which, of course, means relaxation and comfort for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Inn On Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Charlotte Hotel Saint Augustine
Inn On Charlotte St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing