We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Annual Event” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn On Charlotte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn On Charlotte
Ranked #4 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Our Annual Event”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

My husband and I just returned from our third annual getaway with our group of friends to the Inn on Charlotte. Coming back to this Inn every year feels like going home and we are welcomed like family. From the moment you walk in the door and are greeted with warm chocolate chip cookies and delicious cold citrus water, you just know it's going to be a great getaway. We stayed in the same room this time as we did last year - "The Audobon" and it is just the most lovely room. It's bright and sunny during the day, very spacious and the best part is that it's just one of a couple of rooms that just had the bathroom renovated. It has a spacious, bright bathroom and a huge step in shower with several choices of shower heads. The king size bed in this room is so comfortable that you never want to get out of it, but the fun of the day ahead always makes you want to get up and get going. Rodney will send you off on your day with such a delicious breakfast. The first morning we enjoyed a cold peach soup, followed by a fabulous frittata, homemade blueberry bread and endless hot coffee and juice. Sunday's breakfast consisted of Rodney's famous Belgian Waffles, sausage, and sliced bananas which followed his poached pears with vanilla sauce.
This Inn is centrally located right in the middle of all the action. If you want shopping, endless choices of restaurants or a walk to one of the many historical venues, you are just feet away. You can park your car when you arrive and forget about it until the day you leave. After a great day of being out and about in the town, you can come back and enjoy sitting on the front porch with all the guests and enjoy a nice glass of wine which is offered at 5:00 (unless you can coerce the staff that it is 5:00 somewhere).
Every room in this Inn, and I believe there is 8 of them, are beautifully decorated and so welcoming. This year, our group was joined once again by a couple that we met at the Inn during our visit last year. We all hit it off so well that we decided to have a little reunion this year. So we even made new friends here. Rodney and Gerald and their staff will bend over backwards to help direct you to things you may like to do and will recommend things going on around town that you may not be aware of.
So thank you once again to Gerald and Rodney for you outstanding hospitality and warmth. You know we will be back same time next year, if not before. Those of you looking for a perfect spot to lay your head when visiting St. Augustine can look no further than the Inn on Charlotte.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoobdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Goodness - now that's a review! Thank you, and be sure to come on down before next Jan. - we miss you. :)

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    972
    50
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
44
807
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Rodney and his staff took good care of our group. They recommended great restaurants and arranged cabs for 9 of us when we didn't want to drive to the lighthouse. Our group has been going for 4 years and we can't wait until next year.

Room Tip: The rooms in the carriage house are nice, quiet and spacious. We love staying in the main house to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
And as always, it was great seeing you all again. We are impressed with the friendships you have with one another, it's rare these days. Thank you for the review and we look forward to seeing you back at the Inn on Charlotte.
Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

This was our 4th year of visiting St. Augustine and the Inn on Charlottle. We are made to feel like home and the service is great. We also look forward to the wonderful Breakfasts. The chef is amazing. We always recommend Inn of Charlotte to our friends and family.

Room Tip: We would be happy with any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rayeap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
We had such a great time with the Sandpipers club from St Simmons Island; our 4 years running now, and each year we find more to do that's fun and educational. We hope to see some if you back here at Inn on Charlotte during the year as well. Thank you, for the review. Our love to Paul.

Yours.
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Seven of us (all women) had an overnight birthday celebration in St. Augustine and stayed at The Inn on Charlotte. It was wonderful from beginning to end. Ann was so gracious when she welcomed us and took good such good care of us. Jerry and Rod were personable and fun and served a delicious breakfast the next morning. They had great stories of St. Augustine and it's people and made the visit very special. The location is perfect. You can walk to great restaurants, St. George Street, museums….pretty much everything in downtown St. Augustine. We'll be returning!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank proudgrandparents_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
What a delightful group of friends with a great idea. We are the better for meeting all of you and we are so impressed with your enduring friendships. We really enjoyed meeting all of you and are delighted that you consider returning to the Inn on Charlotte. We can't wait.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

This was our first time staying at a B&B and we would definitely stay at this one again. It was a great experience that I strongly recommend to others. The service staff was also very helpful on what to see in the city and what restaurants to eat at.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
We are happy to hear we've 'turned' another guest away from hotels. While we can't assure that every B&B will be like the Inn on Charlotte, as long as you experience them together, you will always have a happy story no matter is your stay is good, or bad. Come back soon.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

My husband and I completely enjoyed our stay at the Inn on Charlotte over the MLK weekend. Our room was spacious, clean, and quiet. The location is central to everything and within walking distance. The parking is ample for a compact car, and the staff provides detailed directions on where and when to park.

There are several small touches that go above and beyond the expected, such as homemade syrup for your Belgian waffles, unlimited chocolate chip cookies and pretzels in the living area, fresh citrus water and lemonade in the refrigerator, and complementary umbrellas on cloudy days. Rodney and Jerry also paid special attention to our dietary needs and made sure that we were happy and well fed. (And Rodney even gave us some leftovers to take for our trip home). The staff also made sure to send us an e-mail wishing us a Happy Anniversary—even before we stayed there! Everyone at the Inn made us feel welcome, and we found a new favorite place to stay the next time we are in St. Augustine.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ro H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you, guys - this is very kind. You made our holiday weekend and we enjoyed the time we spent with you. It's great to know folks care and appreciate our extra efforts. We hope to see you again at the Inn on Charlotte.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

My fiance and I stayed here for only 1 night Jan 16th & we wish we could have stayed longer! We were in the Studio which is on the main floor and is a very large "master" type of room with large sitting area, super comfortable king bed, jacuzzi tub and "modern" bathroom with walk in shower. Very nice pillows, linens and towels too! (I love antiques but I like my pillows, sheets and towels to be new!) :) We arrived in town early and Anne told us to go ahead and check in & get comfy. So welcoming! It's in the midst of the shops, restaurants and pubs that we wanted to check out. This Inn is well maintained, clean, comfortable and convenient. Yummy home made french toast for breakfast. Checks everything on my list. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
What a cute couple - it was enjoyable meeting the two of you. This review will be very helpful to travelers who need a bit more room, because there are few rooms in St Augustine are is very... roomy. :) Come back to the Inn on Charlotte and stay a bit longer.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.2 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.2 mi away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 31 in St. Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#12 of 31 in St. Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn On Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Charlotte

Property: Inn On Charlotte
Address: 52 Charlotte St, St. Augustine, FL 32084
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
!! Summer Rates In Effect!! A Saint Augustine Adults Only Inn and ranked in the Top 5 because of our breakfasts and the Inn's great location. It was built in 1918 so she is an elegant Edwardian bed and breakfast in the heart of the nation's oldest city. We are just steps from the bay front on a brick-lined street. The home has been lovingly restored to reflect its original grandeur and is carefully decorated with antique furnishings and accessories. As a bed and breakfast since 1993, the Inn on Charlotte has become known for its Southern hospitality which, of course, means relaxation and comfort for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Inn On Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Charlotte Hotel Saint Augustine
Inn On Charlotte St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing