We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and personal service are excellent”
Review of Inn On Charlotte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn On Charlotte
Ranked #4 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Location and personal service are excellent”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed above the carriage house in this lovely inn for three nights. We like the fact that we could be close to the house but still a bit secluded. The room was not large but it had what we needed. The shower is in the bedroom area and not in the bathroom so you won't have much privacy. We knew that in advance so it was not a problem.
Location was primarily the reason we selected the inn.We parked (at an off-site lot for our room) and never needed it until we left. It's a very walkable city. We bought the hop-on/off trolley pass which was perfect.
Finally, the owners and staff were helpful and pleasant. They served a lovely breakfast each morning.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilygirl1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
It sounds like you guys had a really good time in St Augustine. That's great, and we are happy we could play a little part of that. Thank you for the review and we look forward to seeing you again soon at the Inn on Charlotte.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    991
    51
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
47
823
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We loved our stay at the Inn on Charlotte so much we made it our honeymoon destination and we couldn't have been in a more romantic hotel. We stayed in the "Henry Flagler Veranda" and found it hard to leave the room and explore St. Augustine. The bed was so comfortable, like sleeping in a cloud. Fine linens, thick plush towels, an over sized tub, fireplace and private veranda overlooking Charlotte Street. The owners see to every detail. The Inn is clean, plush and feels like home. The breakfast is beyond gourmet, large portions served in beautiful china and crystal.I always feel right at home here. After being spoiled here, it is not possible to stay anywhere else when visiting St. Augustine.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frani223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Congratulations, and it was good seeing you both again! We are happy you feel so comfortable at the Inn on Charlotte you think of it as home. That is the best review of all. Have a great year and we will see you back at the Inn on Charlotte soon.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I stayed at the Inn a few weeks ago with a group of friends. The staff was extremely courteous and pleasant. The owners went out of their way to make sure each and every guest was satisfied. The furnishings in the room were inviting and comfortable. This was the first time staying at a B & B and I was not sure how one operates in comparison to a hotel. The homemade breakfast each morning was delicious! I would love to have their recipes (hint hint). The next time I am back visiting St. Augustine I would love to stay at the Inn on Charlotte again. Thanks for a great weekend!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
We are so happy you wrote and review, thank you, and stayed at a B&B! Even better, that you liked your experience at the our BB, the Inn on Charlotte. We hope that you always stay at B&B and keep on traveling. Thank you for your review and we look forward to your return.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We loved the location of the Inn, we didn't need a car until we were ready to leave but it was nice to have reserved parking spots near by. The rooms are first class and well appointed. The breakfast was excellent ! I loved the poached pears with almond sauce and then belgian waffles. Cocktails on the front porch are a great way to start the evening before dinner at one of the many great restaurants near by. The staff are always able to recommend a great restaurant and even arrange reservation.

Room Tip: There is only one room down stairs. I prefer upstairs and on the back as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you, Thank you, thank you. It was such a pleasure to spend time you you all, laughing, talking, drinking, and eating too. What a great time. See you back at the Inn on Charlotte again soon.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny, & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Garden, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This was the first time I've ever stayed in a B&B. Booked it for a nice weekend trip with my girlfriend. We had the Tiffany's Studio, which is one of three rooms that includes parking behind the Inn. Everything near the downtown area is tight for parking. The other rooms have reserved spots a couple of blocks away.

The room we had was large with a King size bed, seating area (couch will pull out) and a two person Jacuzzi in the room. It's located in the back corner of the main house. The room had three windows, which just had a view of the back parking spaces and towards the house next door. They were single plane windows, which means not extensive noise reduction.

I mention that because on the Friday/Saturday night we were there, you could hear the noise from the bar across the street as well as some construction noise in the morning. The noise didn't bother my girlfriend or myself, but exceptionally light sleepers may find the noise a little distracting.

The breakfasts were fantastic and well worth the experience, particularly the Strawberry Soup. I'm not usually a big eater, especially in the morning, but I finished all of my food with delight.

One of the main reasons I picked this particular B&B is the location. I wanted a place where I could just park and walk everywhere, which this one served quite well. On our trip out, the owners recommended a couple of places we could see as well.

When I make my way back to St. Augustine, I certainly hope there will be a room available here to stay at again.

Room Tip: Three of the rooms include parking behind the inn. However, it is tight parking, so if you drive a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cadarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
What a great review, thank you. We think it will be very helpful to anyone coming to town, make the right choice. There is so much fun to be had in St Augustine, we just wish they would go to bed when we do. :) And everyone will be happy to know that are investing in Inner Windows, which mount inside each window frame, reducing the noise that come from the windows. We will update everyone about the progress. And finally, we are very happy to hear we will see you again, the next time you come to town.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny, and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My husband & I stayed for our anniversary weekend and had an amazing time. Centrally located with walking distance to every eatery, pub, cafe, museum or any other tourist attraction you may want to see. The owner & staff are very helpful and friendly and made you feel right at home. The breakfast each morning was so delicious and we enjoyed it immensely. We stay in the Marjorie K. Rawlings' Bungalow in the back house which is very private and secluded. You can also have a private breakfast in the court yard if you choose this room for an extra fee which we loved. This is the 2nd time I have stayed here and will always stay here when we visit St. Augustine.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
We saw you out there having breakfast. You guys looked like you were really enjoying your selves - el fresco. You made us want to have breakfast out there too. Thank you, for your review and thank you for returning to the Inn on Charlotte. We hope to see you back again soon.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
128 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in January 2014.

The Inn is located centrally in St. Augustine, parking possibility 5 min walk, and the house itself looks nice from outside. These positive things said, we can only say that we were so happy to leave again and will for sure not come back if returning to St. Augustine.

The room (Diamond Lil) was just a nightmare to us, we felt like in a prison cell from the beginning to the end of our stay. Not enough space to put suitcases, totally overloaded with heavy furniture, dark and gloomy. Bed with a dirty pillow. Worst thing of all: the windows were sealed shut, so do not open, and the ‚view‘ is towards a dirty narrow space between the buildings and to a not much nicer courtyard (see photos). More, the air-condititioning cannot be regulated from the room itself, but is regulated somewhere centrally outside the room and to our impression for all rooms at the same time from one and the same air-con. You are therefore completely dependent on the owners‘ decision on how to set the temperature. And: the air-con is unbearably loud and obviously located right next to Diamond Lil room: EVERYTHING, bed, chairs, cupboard…, in the room was vibrating all the time the air-con went on (this was every 20 min in the night what prevented us from sleeping even though wearing earplugs). It felt like being in an inner deck cabin of a large ship right next to the machine room. Right after check-in (by the way, you are asked to pay before you are shown to the room) we told Ann, the only person of the staff present, that we are so unhappy with all of it, but the only thing she said was a short „sorry“ before quickly disappearing and never coming back to us. No try to talk to us, no attempt for any compensation to make us maybe feel better with it.

In the morning, you can get coffee from around 8 am on, but breakfast is served at 9.15 am only, which we think is much too late, and there is no possibility to do it earlier even if leaving earlier on the day of departure or if wishing to start the day earlier anyhow. On top, there is really no reason for all the hype around the breakfast. What a verbal ado about a half of a pear with almond sauce and a waffle with cinnamon sauce and some slices of banana. No choice for any other things- …..a kind of ridiculousness and for sure not worth waiting for until 9.15 am. Would on top have preferred to choose ourselves what to eat and when.

We found the owners not to be very friendly. They seemed very convinced of themselves and their B&B, and a bit arrogant to us, maybe all the good reviews did their parts to it. When we departed they did not even ask if we enjoyed our stay or if everything was fine. Seemed like they were only interested in getting the breakfast done for the day and then leave for their day pleasures.

We cannot recommend staying here, but if you still like do so, we recommend to avoid Diamond Lil room, and not to let youself be blinded by all the -from our point of view- overrating reviews. The Inn is ok, but nothing you cannot also find somewhere else. FUTURE GUESTS: OPEN YOUR EYES!

Room Tip: Avoid Diamond Lil room: dark and too much noise from the AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TravelSiMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
First, thank you for your review. These are important and mean a lot to us as we continually strive to use them to improve our product and services. We sincerely apologize for the stain on the pillow-case. That is unacceptable within our standards, and our quality control process will be re-addressed today to prevent this from happening again.

Unfortunately, we don't have control of the view of our neighbors' buildings. With that in mind, we purposely don't advertise that room as a "room-with-a-view" and we are quite sorry if you were under any impression it was. We would love to have scenic and water views from every window, however considering our location in the heart of the historic district, we do not.

As for the air conditioning (AC), in the Southern Hemisphere of the US, it is quite humid. We provide Central AC in the main house to keep the rooms cool and comfortable for all guests. Central AC units can be considered noisy to those who are unaccustomed to them. AC controls are in shared spaces, and we ask that all guests be thoughtful of other guests, when adjusting them. As a small bed and breakfast, we don't have individually controlled AC/Heat as hotels do.

We would like you to know we consider you a valued guest and one we hope will return and give us another try knowing what you know now. However, it may be in your best interest that if you require individual room temperature control and additional staff to serve you, to consider a larger hotel that can accommodate the needs of your travel style.

Sorry your experience with us was less than satisfactory. Your comments that can be addressed, will be addressed, and we will continually strive to improve upon the Inn on Charlotte.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.2 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#11 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 31 in St. Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agustin Inn
Agustin Inn
#10 of 31 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn On Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Charlotte

Property: Inn On Charlotte
Address: 52 Charlotte St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3647
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saint Augustine's only 'Adults Only' Inn that ranks in the Top 5 because of clean rooms, our breakfasts, and the Inn's great location. It was built in 1918 so she is an elegant Edwardian bed and breakfast in the heart of the nation's oldest city. We are just steps from the bay front on a brick-lined street. The home has been lovingly restored to reflect its original grandeur and is carefully decorated with antique furnishings and accessories. As a bed and breakfast since 1993, the Inn on Charlotte has become known for its Southern hospitality which, of course, means relaxation and comfort for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Inn On Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Charlotte Hotel Saint Augustine
Inn On Charlotte St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing