We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, tidy, friendly and in the heart of Old Town.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn On Charlotte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn On Charlotte
Ranked #4 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Clean, tidy, friendly and in the heart of Old Town.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2007

You really can’t fault the location of this B&B, right in the heart of Old Town, within a very short stroll of many attractions, restaurants and bars.

All rooms are individually themed and we stayed in the King’s Tower which was a lovely room in a separate building to the rear of the main house. One of the reasons we chose this room was the fact that it had a private balcony/outdoor area which proved a lovely secluded place to have a spot of time to ourselves before going out in the evening. A point to note though is that it’s right next to the air conditioning unit of the property next door, so may be a little noisy for some. We still think the extra space and privacy is nice, so would probably choose that room again if we went back rather than the rooms in the main house.

The lady at check in was lovely and very chatty and helpful, providing us with a map of the area and some excellent restaurant recommendations. The owner, Lynne, was very helpful in our back and forth emails.

The room itself was clean and tidy, though the bed did remind me of the fairy tale about the princess and the pea! (look it up!) There was no pea as the bed was extremely comfortable, but there were several mattresses, which made the bed very high, hence the reference…

The bathroom in this particular room is split into two. The sink and toilet are in a separate room and there is very luxurious toilet paper, almost like cloth – I would be quite interested in getting something similar at home (yes, I know that sounds strange!!!). The shower part has a screen door which opens directly into the bedroom and the bathmat is actually in the bedroom - which is fine for us, but may be something to note.

One thing to look out for at this B&B is the special offers on their website – they are excellent. We got a complimentary ‘Sail Away to Romance’ cruise on the Schooner Freedom sailing ship together with a free chilled bottle of champagne (you don’t have to have them on the same night of your stay).

We are in two minds about the breakfasts – we only went down to the dining room for one as we had a lie in on our second day and were leaving early the next. The communal table is not really ‘us’ though I realise it may suit many people (the other guests were very nice, but we would have preferred to be in and out quickly so we could explore the area). The main issue is that you aren’t at all sure when breakfast is finished as the servers are so unobtrusive. You seem to get melon in some shape or form to start (that was on the table on our last day when we handed in the room keys too), then something else. Unfortunately, the day we took breakfast, the ‘something else’ was sweet pancakes which we both dislike and then no one appeared again – ever. There was butter on the table and we were hoping for some toast.

There is free parking at the back of the property.

St Augustine is beautiful. We’ve visited before on a day trip, but it’s the first time we’ve stayed and it was definitely worth it, there is so much to see and it’s very eclectic compared to many places in Florida.

I think it’s unfortunate that this B&B isn’t higher in the rankings here on TA - we would definitely consider staying again. I suspect the reason for it being lower down the list is more due to the fact that you can only book directly through the owner’s website rather than through other sites via the ‘check rates’ button. We too may have missed it out that way if other places had been available which would have been a shame.

  • Liked — Location and comfort
  • Disliked — Breakfast setup
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Que
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    972
    50
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
44
807
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2007

Our stay in January was the 4th time we have stayed at the Inn, Lynne the new owner has moved the Inn onto a higher level, she was warm and inviting, the wine and nibbles at 6pm are a great way to meet the other guests.
We had a great breakfast around a large table, the quiche we had on the first morning was the best ever (what was in it?)
We stayed in the Sothern Hospitality suite on the ground floor, we had some of the most restful sleep on our vaction on that wonderful bed.
St Augustine is on your doorstep, just step outside onto one of the oldest streets in the USA,
Thank you Lynne for your hospitality

  • Liked — The warm welcome wjrn we arrived and the wonderful breakfasts
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank barbicanhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Fl
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2006

This was my fist B&B stay, so forgive me if i am too generous. I have no other to compare it to but hotel experiences. I loved this B&B! Maybe it was the great guests who were there that weekend or the fact that the innkeepeer had just bought the place and might have been in perfect form (still excited) as a hostess.

Whatever it was, my boyfriend and I could not have felt more at home. We are an interracial couple and no one made us feel uncomfortable at all.

The breakfasts were a delight. Small talk at the table always turned into laughter and travel anecdotes. The servings were generous. I was worried they would be something lame like a piece of toast, marmalade, and cheap coffee. But I'm glad to say that wasn't so.

The best part of the city, for me, was this B&B.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spritedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Inn on Charlotte Street for Valentine's Day last year. The Inn is a sister to the Casablanca Inn, which is where you check in, eat breakfast, and talk to the concierge. The Inn on Charlotte Street doesn't have a front desk of it's own, but is literally acroos the ally from Casablanca Inn, so basically is just an extension. Our room was a good size, with a great bathroom with jacuzzi tub. Close to everything you would want to see in St. Augustine...we never used the car once. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
5 Thank mksonnenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2004

My husband and I visited this quaint B&B, Christmas 2003. It was a romantic time. We were lucky enough to get the Verandah Room. It has a fireplace and a jacuzzi in the room. It is on the second floor and has a door out to the balcony overlooking the bay.

While this structure was built in 1914, you can tell that is has been loved and cared for. It is simply gorgeous and the furnishings are lovely.

The only negative I could find about this B&B is that the toilet area did not have a wall, yet a partition and no door. Little privacy. That kinda puts a temporary damper on the romance, but it is quickly overcome.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Thank you. And you will be happy to hear there is a water closet in this room now.
Come meet me, Rodney the new owner of the Inn on Charlotte.
Yours,
Rod, Rae Ann, Ann and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.2 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.2 mi away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 31 in St. Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#12 of 31 in St. Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn On Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Charlotte

Property: Inn On Charlotte
Address: 52 Charlotte St, St. Augustine, FL 32084
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
!! Summer Rates In Effect!! A Saint Augustine Adults Only Inn and ranked in the Top 5 because of our breakfasts and the Inn's great location. It was built in 1918 so she is an elegant Edwardian bed and breakfast in the heart of the nation's oldest city. We are just steps from the bay front on a brick-lined street. The home has been lovingly restored to reflect its original grandeur and is carefully decorated with antique furnishings and accessories. As a bed and breakfast since 1993, the Inn on Charlotte has become known for its Southern hospitality which, of course, means relaxation and comfort for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Inn On Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Charlotte Hotel Saint Augustine
Inn On Charlotte St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing