We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good sushi if youre a local”

Pacific Asian Bistro
Ranked #248 of 593 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Chinese, Japanese
Restaurant details
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good sushi if youre a local”
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

I live in Nocatee and this place serves one of the best sushi in the area. We have eaten here a few times and have not had a bad experience. We have even arrived during the peak dining hours. We expected to wait but i would say 15 minutes tops of waiting time to be seated. Our order was taken on time and our food came out as we expected. My fave is their Red Corner roll, Dynamite Roll and Jimmy Smith Roll. It always comes out the same every time ive ordered it. Very friendly waiters/waitresses. Most of the waitresses dont really speak good English so you have to repeat your order a few times to make sure they get it right. And if not, they are very willing to bring the correct order with apologies. If u are ordering sushi and dont want seaweed paper, they are more than accommodating to change it to soy paper. And their pad thai is the best in the area that ive tasted. I like going to this place when im craving for asian fusion meal. The meals are on the pricey side but its worth it for the quality of food that i got.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dmb121041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    14
    5
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Toss up between here and the Burger King next door”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Rude service, mediocre food, fast food atmosphere. If you live nearby, it is an acceptable place to eat. Certainly not worth a trip of any distance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Compass_marc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fruit Cove
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Downhill...very sorry to see!”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Wow, what a disappointing meal all around! Particularly because we once had a beautiful meal here. Owner, Mas, seems to have slipped in his concern for detail and customer satisfaction. Our two Chinese dishes arrived cold, and our sashimi platter warm, when it should have been cold. Our Chinese noodles (starter crunchy things) were stale! The eel on my sashimi plate was cold when it should have been HOT! When we sent back the Chinese food, we asked specifically that it be re-heated in a wok. It came back piping hot and the food was overcooked...from the microwave! There were three flat screen tv's blaring, and hip hop music blasting at the same time. When we spoke with the owner, Mas, he walked away and later claimed, when we approached him, that he thought we were "done" speaking and then he asked that we leave. We will not be returning. Sad to see this lovely idea of a restaurant slip into such a demise.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelsforfood18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great night out with no kids!”
Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

I can say everything I tasted was amazing! The sushi was unreal and the 'Happy Family' dish was delicious! The servers were very nice but clearly over worked and stayed busy the entire time. The wait was a bit much, but the food made up for it! So, I say go with someone you enjoy, order sushi and a meal and the time won't be a bother! ;)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RandiGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“SLOW Service. Be Prepared to Wait an Hour.”
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

I have been a loyal customer since Pacific opened, but the service for the past year has been ridiculous. Should you choose to place a carry-out order or even worse dine-in, be prepared to wait an hour or more for any dish to arrive at your table or be available for takeout. They refuse to hire additional staff to meet the demand. I can only imagine it's to keep more of their profit because they charge premium prices due to very little competition in the area. Yes, the food is good, but it's not worth the wait. Some elsewhere until they get their act together.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kskutie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pacific Asian Bistro also viewed

St. Augustine, FL
St. Augustine, FL
 
St. Augustine, FL
St. Augustine, FL
 
St. Augustine, FL
St. Augustine, FL
 

Been to Pacific Asian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing