We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food For a Reasonable Price”
Review of Cucina Giovanni

Cucina Giovanni
Ranked #194 of 593 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Food For a Reasonable Price”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

On a recent business trip to the St. Augustine FL area, our hotel desk clerk suggested that we try Cucina Giovanni, which was right up the street. It was a wonderful meal: very tasty and fresh spaghetti sauce; superb veal parmesan and lasagna; and perfect pasta. The waiter was very prompt and professional, and kept the drinks and bread plate full. He also recommended some very good local beers for our meal. A great meal for a very reasonable price.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jwr2003b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    71
    38
    17
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Asheville
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Overall Average Italian Food”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This review is based on a large group (50 people) bus tour with advanced reservations so it may not reflect an individual dining experience.

Our group arrived early with about 30 minutes warning. Considering the size of the group and early arrival, service was very good.

I had the cheese ravolie (4 pieces) with a tomato sauce. It was ok but not outstanding. The dinner rolls were heavy on garlic. The dinner salad was fresh. Fellow diners said that their chicken and egg plant parmesan were very good. The cannoli was average.

Overall, an ok restaurant, but not amoung the best.

Parking is available at the restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VikingAsheville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great restaurant Great Staff”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

After driving to St. Augustine for vacation we looked for a place for lunch by the hotel. We found this great restaurant by chance driving around. Food was good and great value. Service was also great.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tammyandlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PFAFFTOWN
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Italian Food & Atmosphere”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stopped off I-95 to check out the Outlet stores and stayed at a Motel across the street. I asked the clerk where to get a good meal and he immediately responded "Giovanni's". It's clearly run by a NY transplant who brought their Italian meal experience/tradition to this business. We ate in the bar, watching sports on TV, and being waited on by the bartender. He did a great job! We had an appetizer, salads and sausage & peppers pasta. The iced tea was fresh & strong and the beer was cold! It was a great value.
If you have the opportunity, stop in and experience some good "Yankee corner bar" atmosphere. You will enjoy it ...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LouET_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utica, New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing!!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I saw the menu of this restaurant at my hotel and was psyched to give it a try. I was very disappointed with the atmosphere... the service wasn't that great and the food was bland... no taste. I would not recommend this to anyone.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cucina Giovanni also viewed

 
St. Augustine, FL
 
St. Augustine, FL
 

Been to Cucina Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing