We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place. Have stayed multiple times.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St. Augustine Beach KOA
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We love this place. Have stayed multiple times.”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Family vibe atmosphere. Have campsites and cabins. 60 seconds from beach access, less than 5 from old downtown. Run well, clean and friendly staff. Classic video games in game room for all you children of the 80's.
We stayed here every time we came to St. A when we had our camper (we'll get another), can't reccomend enough. Met some guys that turned into great friends, if you go during Thanksgiving, they put on a pretty nice spread for all the guests, too.
A little more expensive that Anastasia State Park, but you get more too.
Also, is next to a strip mall, quieter setting would be nice, but no foul.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dualshowman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    62
    60
    23
    20
See reviews for
84
74
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We reserved here for a week as part of our vacation this year. This KOA is a nice property, but one can see that it was once not so surrounded by the town. We liked the location but the traffic noise and so on were not for us. That said, it is an ideal location to tour the area, is good value for the money and has a fine set of amenities. We have found the staff to be friendly, helpful and polite. The place is very clean and well looked after. We would certainly recommend this KOA to friends.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PKinNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, OH
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Just under a mile from the beach, this very quaint KOA offers a great value to guests. When we travel in our RV, I dislike gigantic Rv parks that seem more like mall parking lots. This campground is nothing like that... it is relatively small- each site is nestled within a picturesque canopy and is allotted a very comfortable amount of room. Almost every site has a view of the water, if not directly on the water. (The water, I should note, is a small man-made pond- still very nice to look at with plenty of fish and fowl to watch.) The staff are all very pleasant and accommodating without being obtrusive, and all of the other guests here seem friendly and easy-going.

Closest to the KOA is a main intersection which features a Wendy's, a 24-hour CVS, Dominos Pizza, a general looking sort of pub and a Dollar General Store. A block away is a fAmily-style Italian restaurant which came highly reccomended by KOA staff and smelled very good when i passed. The beach is just a short bike ride away, with plenty of places to grab a bite- I recommend the FA Cafe for atmosphere, value and QUALITY above all else. A 2 mile bikeride back towards town will bring you to another great restaurant, Gypsy Cab Co. There is also a variety if pubs a d shops in that area as well.

Overall, I am extremely impressed with this campground. The location is just fantastic. We would stay longer if it  was a little warmer, and look forward to DEFINITELY coming back for a longer stay in the spring.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmm_travelsforfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, FL
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed at the St. Augustine Beach KOA over Labor Day weekend in one of their 2 room Kamping Kabins. The Kabin was lakefront with a great porch swing and deck overlooking the water. Although the water level was a bit low, it still was full of turtles and ducks that were fun to feed and watch. The grounds at the campsite are kept clean and the property is full of trees. There are tons of Kabins on the lake and a few off the lake. The campsite has lots of RV spots amongst the trees. They seemed a bit tight to get in to, but then again I don't own a RV so I'm not sure how easy it is to manuver. Yes, this campsite is behind a strip mall but I didn't even notice it. The location is great...less than a mile to the beach and 3 miles to downtown. There is a CVS within a block along with some fast food rest. We walked to the CVS a couple of times to pick up things- very handy! The property is very quiet and clean. We used the bathrooms by the pool and they were always kept clean and bug free! The pool area looked nice and the pool water was clear, never actually made it in the pool though because we were soo busy! I would highly reccommend this KOA....we are making plans already to return!

Room Tip: If you are looking at renting a cabin....pay the couple extra dollars for a lakefront. The other on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank awatson1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

When we visit St. Augustine we stay here because of the location, the staff and how nice they keep it. What makes this a special place are the owners. We pulled in and one AC wasn't working so Ed, the owner, changed the plug and breaker and with that not fixing the problem, offered to assist in changing the plug on my shore line. He did it for me since he had the tools and got things running! THAT is exceptional customer service and that is why we love it here (besides just loving this town).

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mfreeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Less than mile to beach, very clean bathrooms, friendly and accommodating staff. Pretty campus tucked in behind strip shopping center. Good mix of retirees and families staying there. Only 15 min drive to historic St Augustine. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merrydb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewing, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here as part of our vacation. We stayed May 31st. We pulled in and the staff was very nice and friendly. We got to our site (tent) and it was very small. We were lucky that the campground was not busy but we did not have much room on our site. We do have a big tent that sleeps 7 but it took up most of the site. The bathrooms were clean and so were the showers. Overall it is in a great location to visit St. Augustine but I am not sure if I will return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orionshorti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
1.5 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
875 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn
Best Western St. Augustine Beach...
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
761 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
845 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#6 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,329 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Augustine Beach KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Augustine Beach KOA

Property: St. Augustine Beach KOA
Address: 525 W Pope Rd, St. Augustine, FL 32080-9132
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Speciality Lodging in St. Augustine
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Augustine Beach KOA 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're well-situated to explore the historic city of St. Augustine from this campground on Anastasia Island. Visit the Fountain of Youth park (known as the site where Ponce de Leon landed in 1513), the St. Augustine Lighthouse and Museum and the Lightner Museum-filled with artifacts from America's "Gilded Age." Anglers can cast for snapper, grouper, amberjack and other tasty fish on a deep-sea charter or from the pier that's just a mile away. From your Cabin, RV site or tent site, take a 3/4-mile walk to the ocean or enjoy on-site amenities, including a pool, fishing pond and paddleboats ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your St. Augustine Beach KOA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Augustine Beach Koa Hotel Saint Augustine
St. Augustine Beach KOA Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing