We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St. Augustine Beach KOA
Florida
Level Contributor
161 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a cheap alternative to a hotel in st Augustine, this campground might be for you. We rented the fully furnished, with linens, cabin and were pleased with our choice. Complete with full bathroom, gas grill, fire pit and a view of "lake" we had all we needed for a great weekend in St Augustine.

The trolly provides transportation to Old Town, a huge bonus bc parking is horrible. The beach is about a mile away - easy if you have bikes. You can drive and park on the beach beginning at A street, just South of KOA.

As a destination campground, I wouldn't consider it. There is a playground, pool and game room, but they are all old and in disrepair. There is no security at the entrance so anyone can wander in and hang out. I wouldn't feel comfortable with my kids walking around by themselves in this small campground.

The ducks are cute.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    60
    58
    22
    20
See reviews for
80
73
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
231 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

The location of this KOA is ideal as it is an easy walk down to the beach. Luckily they are putting in a light at the end of Pope where crossing A1A can be perilous. There is already a light with crossing signal at Pope and 1A. There is also a CVS on the walk to or from the beach where I suggest you pick up supplies as everything is overpriced in the KOA store. We didn't find any issue with the lake (as previous reviewers have) or the staff (very helpful and friendly).

My largest issue is that the cabins, bathrooms and pool are all incredibly dirty. In the time that we were there (4 days, 3 nights), I know for certain the bathrooms were not cleaned at all because the trash, discarded toilet paper, hair balls, etc were all in the exact same location. In addition, the sink that was out of soap remained out of soap the entire time and the very full feminine disposal boxes remained full as well. Our cabin was very dirty and when using some water to clean up the floor, the distinct odor of urine was evident. For some reason, they do not supply trashcans in the cabins or a chair - which has been standard at the dozens of other KOA cabins we have stayed in. For some reason there was a broken trash can bolted to the back of the cabin but no bag was provided and the lid was broken as well.

Second to this issue of cleanliness is the fact that the facilities are old, most likely the original installation. This normally wouldn't be a problem (for me at least) but for the fact that they are not kept clean and the cost of renting a cabin rivals the costs of renting a hotel room (e.g., Hampton Inn and Super 8) that is right on the beach. If you are tent camping (or RVing), I suggest checking out Anastasia State Park for better pricing and faciliites.

Room Tip: Don't splurge for a lake view simply because the facilities are not worth the extra fee. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phykos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed MLK weekend. The State Perks filled up months before so no primitive camping for us. When I called they were very helpful with their recommendations about what sites and how many. Our 2 sites were the perfect size. It was close to the city and easy. The boys enjoyed having the store. The KOA folks were friendly and helpful. I loved the ducks who made their way over. The boys fed them a while and they were on their way. I also loved having the clean & truly indoor bathroom for a change! :)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013 via mobile

We were given a "LAKESIDE PREMIER" site for which we paid an additional fee.
The so called "lake" is actually a polluted stream that is on the other side of the street BEHIND the RV. LAKESIDE INDEED!

The streets are in need of repair, the sites are in need of raking, the laundry area is outside on the side of the building and consists of a couple rusty rundown machines. There is no gate or security at the entrance so, as a result, anyone can walk in or drive in at anytime throughout the day or night.

This is a poor example of a KOA.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marima3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Augustine hotels

Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

This has been one of our favorite campgrounds so far! We paid extra to have the lake side (which is man made but very pretty). We were able in the late afternoon to watch the ducks and the strange bird they swam totally underwater barely coming up for air. Some of the lakeside spots can be pretty tight if you have a MH with 4 slides. The first sites thru I believe 73 on lake side were pretty tight but had the better views. 74-80 I think, had better spots for big rigs but not as pretty view nor as much shade. The sites are pretty level as long as you pull way towards the front. You could catch the trolley with a 3 day pass to town for think $23. Be sure to walk to the Italian restaurant that is in the shopping center next door, It was very good and did have some sea food and awesome bread! The staff was very friendly and always working. They had a good dog run which was nice for our babies! We would stay here again! Camped here in a motor home.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We were scheduled to spend the 2013 MLK weekend in St Augustine KOA. My son picked up a fever about 4 days before our scheduled trip. My wife, super MOM, said cancel the trip. We moved the trip with KOA to Feb. Then he started to get better so we moved it back. Then the night we packed to leave at 6am the next morning for the trip the fever came back. We again called KOA and the moved it back to Feb. All the while they moved things around to make sure each time we had the big rig, full hookup, on the lake. Now I can’t wait to visit. If they are as good as they were shifting our reservation back and forth 4 times we will be happy.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satchiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Made reservations over Thanksgiving weekend, asking for a two room cabin. We'd stayed here with our kids about 7 years ago, in a cabin on the lake. When we checked in, we were given a cabin that overlooked an enormous dirty concrete wall - the back of some kind of shopping center. I went back to the office to ask about a cabin on the lake, and was told, "Well, you have to specifically ask for the lake, or you won't get it." She wasn't very nice about it. At all. She told me all the lakefront cabins were reserved, but that wasn't true - we saw empty ones for the next 3 days. I have an idea - how about giving your customers the best accomodations you have, so that they'll want to come back, or even post a nice review on TA. Wouldn't that be good business???

Room Tip: Ask for a freakin lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cowgirl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn
Best Western St. Augustine Beach...
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.8 mi away
Regency Inn & Suites
Regency Inn & Suites
#50 of 78 in St. Augustine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Augustine Beach KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Augustine Beach KOA

Property: St. Augustine Beach KOA
Address: 525 W Pope Rd, St. Augustine, FL 32080-9132
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 Speciality Lodging in St. Augustine
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Augustine Beach KOA 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're well-situated to explore the historic city of St. Augustine from this campground on Anastasia Island. Visit the Fountain of Youth park (known as the site where Ponce de Leon landed in 1513), the St. Augustine Lighthouse and Museum and the Lightner Museum-filled with artifacts from America's "Gilded Age." Anglers can cast for snapper, grouper, amberjack and other tasty fish on a deep-sea charter or from the pier that's just a mile away. From your Cabin, RV site or tent site, take a 3/4-mile walk to the ocean or enjoy on-site amenities, including a pool, fishing pond and paddleboats ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your St. Augustine Beach KOA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Augustine Beach Koa Hotel Saint Augustine
St. Augustine Beach KOA Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing