We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but needs some work.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St. Augustine Beach KOA
Jacksonville
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location but needs some work.....”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Staff was friendly but stretched thin. They must have overbooked or not planned well because you were on too of each other. Bathrooms were frequently out of supplies. Pool was disgusting. Trash sat out all day waiting for pick-up. For the price of the cabins, a little more can get you a hotel room with amenities versus a hot cabin with dirty bathrooms.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    61
    60
    23
    20
See reviews for
84
74
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed here 3 nights in our 5th wheel trailer. You have to watch carefully for the entrance as it is on the left just as you turn onto W. Pope. We missed it and had to turn around. There are some sharp turns in the park . We had a pull-thru with a good side site. Ours had a block paver patio with a table and 4 chairs. We were able to squeeze our extra car in - though it was on the grass/weeds. Convenient to Old Town.
The people in the office are very pleasant and helpful. There is a pool but we did not use it. There are 2 laundries but I recommend the one up at the office as it is air conditioned - same for the restrooms. It was a bit of a walk to the office from our site. Trash pickup directly from sites.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesertMagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

After reading some reviews, I was wondering about this campground. We found it to be very relaxing and pleasant. They have a nice pond in the middle with beautiful birds. Sites are near each other but not that close. Very convenient to old town. We are in an RV so we don't use the bath house. I definitely would go back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NFleetwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This is our third time here. It's easy to get to the beach and to old town. As coming here in January ,February it is a pleasant place to stay. People have been friendly and the upkeep is good. It's a place that we will come back to.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We went to St. Augustine for a Steve Martin concert in the amphitheater. The KOA was just a mile away. It's also very convenient to St. Augustine and the surrounding area. Very nice park. Clean. We were able to get a pull through which we needed for our RV with the trailer for the car. Nice pond with ducks and people were fishing especially from their cabins. Great, helpful staff

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at St. Augustine Beach KOA, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our campground. We are conveniently located near the beach and many area attractions which makes us one of the best places to come if you plan on seeing all that St Augustine has to offer. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

St. Augustine KOA is both a good and bad stop. Although not very well marked, once in, they layout makes it easy to setup. Lots are close and you will get to know your neighbors. The location makes it easy to get to all of Augustine sites as well as beaches. It is, however, not really close to anything (except some strip malls). The beach is in walking distance, but it is a significant walk and requires a vehicle to bring anything of weight. The overall facilities are not well cared for. The paddle boats were dirty and in disrepair. The game room had all of the arcade games on, but after money was inserted, none (not one) of them were playable. The pool was nice but really needs to be heated in the cooler seasons. The overall value for the stay was reasonable. If you just need a place to stop and stay, this is an acceptable stop, but for a recreation stay, you may want to look at some of the other St Augustine sites.

Room Tip: Lots near the lake (pond), are worth requesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at St. Augustine Beach KOA, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
We're so sorry to hear that your stay at our campground was not as great as we hoped it would be. We are always looking to provide upgrades at the park so we are glad that honest reviews like yours point our places we can improve. Typically our paddle boats are clean and the arcade room works without any issues but it can always be better. We'll look into improving these aspects of our park as well as considering the temperature of our pool and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seward
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I'm sure others enjoyed this camping experience more than we did...it was a rainy time in St. Aug. and our campsite was mud-ridden...and we had children and a white dog who could not keep from tracking all that mud inside our small camper. Envision it! We were designated to a crowded area on the outer ring, quite a distance from the restrooms and were asked rather impolitely by folks from a huge RV in the inner circle to NOT CUT THROUGH others' sites to reach the restrooms. We'd about had it as we trudged around the outside circle in the pouring rain to visit the laundry and the restrooms. We had just spent 5 days traveling and staying in the lovely, uncrowded State Parks from CO to FL, so this KOA did not cut the mustard by a long shot.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at St. Augustine Beach KOA, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
We are so sorry to hear that the weather didn't cooperate with your visit to our campground. As much as we would like to control things like the rain, we just can't do it. We do our best to put all guests as close to the restroom facilities as possible but when we are full it is often hard to put everyone right next door. Hope you'll give us another chance on a better day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
1.0 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
842 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn
Best Western St. Augustine Beach...
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
749 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,099 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#6 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,310 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Augustine Beach KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Augustine Beach KOA

Property: St. Augustine Beach KOA
Address: 525 W Pope Rd, St. Augustine, FL 32080-9132
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Speciality Lodging in St. Augustine
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Augustine Beach KOA 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're well-situated to explore the historic city of St. Augustine from this campground on Anastasia Island. Visit the Fountain of Youth park (known as the site where Ponce de Leon landed in 1513), the St. Augustine Lighthouse and Museum and the Lightner Museum-filled with artifacts from America's "Gilded Age." Anglers can cast for snapper, grouper, amberjack and other tasty fish on a deep-sea charter or from the pier that's just a mile away. From your Cabin, RV site or tent site, take a 3/4-mile walk to the ocean or enjoy on-site amenities, including a pool, fishing pond and paddleboats ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your St. Augustine Beach KOA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Augustine Beach Koa Hotel Saint Augustine
St. Augustine Beach KOA Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing