We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay!”
Review of Edgewater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edgewater Inn
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Sebastian, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Stay!”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights and wish I had many more to stay. The room was super clean which is an absolute must for me, and had no weird smells - also a huge plus. The bed was comfortable, the view was lovely and the location was perfect, not too close to the action so it afforded peace and quiet and just a short walk across the bridge to put yourself in the middle of all the fun! You simply cannot beat the Edgewater Inn for the price. Hey, maybe I shouldn't be talking this up so much or they might raise the prices... :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinthea1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    90
    22
    6
    7
See reviews for
64
221
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Location and view were great! Our room was comfortable and clean. I am aware that the bridge construction over the past 5 years did hurt the business somewhat. Consequently, the Inn went without needed maintenence and updating. I am very much looking forward to staying @ Edgewater Inn in the future, since improvements are currently being made. This place has the potential to be a wonderful place to stay!!

Room Tip: The 2 Queen Bed Rooms on the water were very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The best thing about this place is the view... and being able to sit right out on the water. The website shows the rooms are dated (I hear they have two queen renovated rooms now). Our room was comfortable and clean (110) - the only issue I had was a running toilet which was hardly noticeable with the bathroom door closed. If you read the reviews you should know what you are getting into - this is NOT a luxury hotel (or motel as it is) nor does the place claim to be. one or two nights would be my limit of comfort staying here. We felt safe and it was quiet on a Saturday night. Honestly, if you don't want to pay $70 plus more a night to be right in downtown, this is a good place to stay -- easy walk over the bridge into downtown and again the view is divine!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We only had two nights in St Augustine so I booked this based on reviews on this site. For once this was a mistake. Not sure how anyone can give this place 4 stars. I realise now that some refurbishment was ongoing and we didn't have a refurbished room but is that an excuse for a stained and torn divan bed? The telephone in the room didn't work so we couldn't ring reception to get someone to come to the office (it was closed a fair bit). The room reaked of stale smoke. The deck out back would have been almost pleasant if it wasn't for the dirty ashtrays and dirty mat and the un-swept floors (it doesn't take much to sort that out). Some rooms have inter joining doors so you can hear every word of your neighbours (ours loved the place). There is no privacy on the deck, if that is what you want. In fact I just wanted to leave as soon as we arrived but we stuck it out. We slept on our sleeping bags if that helps you decide what kind of a place it was. It was a shame because the potential of the place is phenomenal. I thought I would get a drink from the machine but that was out of order and it was the only hotel on our east coast trip where the internet didn't work. Go figure.

Room Tip: Get a refurbished room. They must be better!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Letsdoit2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake City, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed in a newly renovated, water view room for one night. It was super clean and well stocked with lines and toiletries. The view from our room was stunning. Although we researched the inn before booking, we were a little surprised at the outdoor condition when we arrived. It is very dated. However, the interior made up for this slight shock and the room served our purpose for a one night stay. We could only locate one accessible outlet (in the bathroom) for our cell phones and the iron. We also had to place a towel at the bottom of the entry door to cover a small gap and used my hair clips to keep the curtain closed and from covering the AC. Again, very dated.
While we were not unsatisfied, we will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Newly renovated rooms are very nice. The water view is gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delilah_raine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kutztown, pa
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed for only one night in January. This was a Monday off season and we were the only guests.
We arrived very early--actually around noon and our room was ready. We booked one of the queen newly renovated rooms and it was beautiful. The fridge, microwave and coffee maker were a nice touch. It was a nice warm, sunny day and was afraid that once my husband saw the wonderful porch he would never leave.
It is an easy walk across the bridge to anything you want to see in St Augustine and the night view from our porch was spectacular.
Thanks to Tripadvisor we knew the breakfast was nothing special so we got our own BF items and enjoyed them early the next morning while soaking in the view.
Also we knew that there is no on sight person after office hours, actually this was a strangw feeling since we were the only people there but it made for a very quiet night. There is a number to call if you need someone.
This suits our style perfectly, we do not like the chain box hotels--no matter how nice. If you need the chains and the same old same old breakfast bars then this may not be for you. If you want a homey feel and a great location with the best view of the city and the fort book right away.

Room Tip: The renovated room was beautiful and the bed comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mountainmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed in one of the remodeled rooms, so we don't have any complaints about it being "dated." The back door opens to a deck right by the water. You have two rocking chairs to sit on and watch St. Augustine on the other side of the water and the sunset. It is right off the Bridge of Lions - all construction has been completed so there are no barges in the way. We found the price to be reasonable (we stayed on New Year's Eve), especially because parking is free and once you get there, you walk everywhere. Parking in St. Augustine didn't seem like something we wanted to deal with. We didn't try the "breakfast" since it appeared to just be pre-packaged muffins and coffee, but a short stroll across the bridge put us right in St. Augustine with many more options. Overall, it was a great deal with a perfect location - very close without any of the hassle of the old town itself.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the remodeled rooms if you don't want "dated."
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunLvrs_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#11 of 78 in St. Augustine
614 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
4.3 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
867 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Inn

Property: Edgewater Inn
Address: 2 N Saint Augustine Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32080-3753
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
#11 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Edgewater Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picture yourself rising from a restful sleep and gaze out the window of your waterfront room, catching first glimpse of the Nation's Oldest City. Sailboats are anchored in the Bay, while others make their way to the Atlantic Ocean. Imagine sitting in your rocking chair, enjoying a cup of coffee as graceful seagulls fly above and dolphins break the waves. It's the beginning of another perfect day. The Edgewater Inn offers a relaxing, scenic and historic escape in the heart of St. Augustine, Florida. Located just a short walk from historic downtown St. Augustine at the foot of the Bridge of Lions, you will find this to be the perfect escape for your next getaway. Our 19 rooms property is ready to provide you with outstanding hospitality for both the leisure and romantic traveler. Recently renovated, the Edgewater Inn offers stylish rooms, a waterfront guest lounge area, a Smart Start hot breakfast, and afternoon refreshments. Come and enjoy St. Augustine with a view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Edgewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Saint Augustine
Edgewater Motel Saint Augustine
Edgewater Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing