We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only For The View and If You Must”
Review of Edgewater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edgewater Inn
Ranked #7 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2012 via mobile

We made the mistake of staying at this poorly equiped and tired motel. The location on the water at the side of the Bridge of Lions is superb and in the morning, or indeed the night,sitting on the deck,in a rocking chair,looking across the intracoastal at St Augustine is quite lovely. That however is all. Our room was poorly furnished with a strong musty smell. The air conditioning unit was both loud and inefficient,the tv an old 4.3 model,a fridge and microwave non existent as was breakfast.The bathroom was equally dingy,infact the only thing, apart from the view, that was upscale was the price.Enough said?

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abercwmboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison C, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

We are terribly sadden that you did not enjoy your time while staying at our inn. We apologize that our inn was not what you were expecting. However, we would like to inform you that we do have 2 rooms renovated, with all new floors, brand new TV's and all new furniture. The rest of the inn is being remodeled and we are expected to have the entire inn finished soon. Sorry for any inconvenience and we wish you happy holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

For the past two years, I have celebrated my anniversary at Edgewater Inn, even though we live 10 minutes away. For my money, the location cannot be beat: Anastasia Island, right on the Intracoastal Waterway at the base of the historic Bridge of Lions. From the back deck, you can see the 312 Bridge to the south, Castillo de San Marcos and the Great Cross on the mainland, the Usina Bridge to the north, as well as enjoy the Bridge of Lions going up and down throughout the day for the passing ships. It's a 10 minute walk across the bridge to downtown St Augustine! Yes, as other reviews have pointed out, Edgewater Inn is not new or fancy, but neither is this amazing city. It IS, however, very clean and the service is excellent. If you're looking for a place to stay for a vacation, or even a staycation :) and you really want to immerse yourself in St Augustine... Edgewater Inn is the perfect choice.

Room Tip: There is a special upstairs room that is the best of all. It has a cute A-frame roof and private ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foodie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison C, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

You truly are a loyal guest. 10 years is a long time, and we want you to know we very much appreciate it. Currently the Edgewater is going under some renovation, new paint job, new room renovations and a few other additions. We hope loyal guest like you can be the first to experience it. Make sure you join our mailing list if you haven't already. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Have stayed here many times over the last 10 years even when the old bridge was under construction. Location is great rooms have always been clean and tidy, yes it needed updating but if you are expecting the Hilton go and pay Hilton prices for me this is a great little motel and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison C, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

It is wonderful to hear that you had such a good time staying at our Inn. We truly appreciate your business. We hope you come back soon, especially after all the renovations are complete. Many rooms are being redone and upgraded and we want our loyal guest to be the first to experience it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We drove to St. A on a whim and found most of the "brand" hotels were sold out. We rode around until we found the Edgewater Inn, and LOVED the location...right on the bay. We arrived around 6:30pm and the office was closed, so we called the number listed on the door and someone came and met us within 10 minutes. We were a bit skeptical because of the quality of the "hotels" nearby, so we asked to see a room before we agreed to stay. We were pleasantly surprised!! While the rooms are older, they were very clean. The manager was very nice and even gave us a discounted rate. We chose room 101, which is a room with two queens, but it is an end room, with only one neighbor, and was a bit larger than the others in the "row" section along the waterfront. The bathroom was very clean, the beds and sheets were clean and comfortable, and the a/c unit kept the room nice and cold. The room did not have a mini fridge or microwave, but we were only staying one night so it didn't matter to us. The only drawback we found was that there isn't any privacy on the patio - everyone is kind of "out there" together. And the locals come down to the bay in front of the inn to fish. We had some interesting conversations with a few of those folks. ;) If you're looking for a place with sparkling new everything, lots of amenities and very little small-town flavor, this isn't the place for you. But if you are looking for a place that is just comfy, clean, great view and great value (I felt safe) --- I'd definitely recommend it. It's JUST on the opposite side of the Bridge of Lions from downtown.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed in a King room with a wonderful view of the water and historic St. Augustine. With the the hotel being right at the bridge to the main area of attractions we just made the short walk back and forth. Definitely got a nice little workout throughout the day. My only complaint is no mini fridge but the beds were clean and decent, and the hotel in general was a just a cute little place. I would recommend for short trips!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HollywoodGoesLightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Our stay here was for a quick get-a-way based on a friends recommendation. We were not disappointed in the least. Our room, #117, was on the back side of the hotel, without any real views at all, not bad, just the local neighborhood. The room was very clean with a comfortable king size bed and tidy bathroom. The a/c worked perfectly and was quiet. The pool area is also clean and well maintained. We choose this motel as it is an easy 5 min walk across the Bridge of Lions to downtown St. Augustine. There are plenty of wonderful family restaurants within walking distance. We were impressed enough to book a room on the water for Memorial Day weekend. Minor upgrades, such as painting, are being made to the motel. The day staff was curtious, when available. Often, the lobby door is open for self service to coffee & muffins, or to drop off your keys on the way out. Overall, good experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLCROBERT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in a King bed waterfront room. The King rooms have not been redone like the Queen rooms but it was clean, comfortable and spacious. A/C was cold and the view out the back door was incredible. I could have sat and watched boats go by all day long on the rocking chairs provided or on the little beach. The best part about this inn is the location and price. Just a quick walk over the Bridge of Lions and we were in downtown St. Augustine where hotel prices skyrocket. We made the walk over the bridge 5 or 6 times total and a few of those time we saw dolphins. I would definitely recommend this as a great place to stay as it is priced reasonably and is clean, which are the two things I'm always looking for in a place to stay. Next time, we might try the queen room just to check out the newly remodeled rooms.

Room Tip: According to the website, the Queen rooms are newly remodeled so may not have the older motel room f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tabby8517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
2.0 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#10 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,373 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#12 of 78 in St. Augustine
668 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
1.2 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Sebastian St Augustine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Inn

Address: 2 N Saint Augustine Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32080-3753
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
#11 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: £98 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Edgewater Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picture yourself rising from a restful sleep and gaze out the window of your waterfront room, catching first glimpse of the Nation's Oldest City. Sailboats are anchored in the Bay, while others make their way to the Atlantic Ocean. Imagine sitting in your rocking chair, enjoying a cup of coffee as graceful seagulls fly above and dolphins break the waves. It's the beginning of another perfect day. The Edgewater Inn offers a relaxing, scenic and historic escape in the heart of St. Augustine, Florida. Located just a short walk from historic downtown St. Augustine at the foot of the Bridge of Lions, you will find this to be the perfect escape for your next getaway. Our 19 rooms property is ready to provide you with outstanding hospitality for both the leisure and romantic traveler. Recently renovated, the Edgewater Inn offers stylish rooms, a waterfront guest lounge area, a Smart Start hot breakfast, and afternoon refreshments. Come and enjoy St. Augustine with a view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Edgewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Saint Augustine
Edgewater Motel Saint Augustine
Edgewater Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing