We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Priceless View”
Review of Edgewater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edgewater Inn
Ranked #5 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Boynton Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
99 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Priceless View”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

First trip to St. Augustine, FL and we were told about this place. Clean and a great view. Don't expect a five star resort because this is not it. BUT the rooms were clean and comfortable and the view is the best. Its right on the water right next to Bridge of Lions. All you have to do is walk over the bridge and there you are! Right there where you need to be. I stayed in room 109 which had two queen beds. The back door opens up to a deck with two rocking chairs to sit in and anjoy the view of St. Augustine and the Castillo de San Marcos fort. PERFECT.
The rooms need to be updated but will not stop me from returning next year. The only thing I didn't care for is the lighting on the dock is on all night and it lights up the room. They should either turn them off at some point or put a sun darkening shade on the rear door.
Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Pick rooms between 101-112 and you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    88
    22
    6
    7
See reviews for
61
215
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012 via mobile

Ok the rooms aren't great. They are three star at best. The rooms were clean and the maids did a good job, but they are old. But who cares about the rooms when there is this view! We are on the water, literally when the tide is in. It is right next to the Bridge of Lions on the beachside. You can see all of St. Augustine right from the room or better yet sitting out front on the provided chairs. There is an amazing view of the Fort, the Cross, Flagler's Pillars, Memorial Presbyterian's Dome, and much more. My kids were in bed each night at 8 but my wife and I sat out by the water talking and reading and having a night cap until 10 with the kids just steps away. If your not going to stay in a $200 a night hotel put this on the top of your list.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Totally fabulous funky little Inn with the VERY BEST LOCATION!
Your clean, quaint room at this 50's style small motel is at the base of the famous Bridge
Of Lions in beautiful historic St. Augustine. Rooms have everything you need including
beautiful hardwood floors and best of all is the view! Outside your back door is your veranda
complete with 2 rocking chairs and a table and a small sandy beach at low tide.
It is the perfect spot for viewing the historic town or star gazing at night. And it is within walking
distance from the historic area so no need to worry about parking the car. Rooms are reasonably priced, location is to die for, and I can find no complaints. There is no fitness center but there is a small outdoor pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peabodymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welshman In England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012 via mobile

We made the mistake of staying at this poorly equiped and tired motel. The location on the water at the side of the Bridge of Lions is superb and in the morning, or indeed the night,sitting on the deck,in a rocking chair,looking across the intracoastal at St Augustine is quite lovely. That however is all. Our room was poorly furnished with a strong musty smell. The air conditioning unit was both loud and inefficient,the tv an old 4.3 model,a fridge and microwave non existent as was breakfast.The bathroom was equally dingy,infact the only thing, apart from the view, that was upscale was the price.Enough said?

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abercwmboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison C, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater Inn, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
We are terribly sadden that you did not enjoy your time while staying at our inn. We apologize that our inn was not what you were expecting. However, we would like to inform you that we do have 2 rooms renovated, with all new floors, brand new TV's and all new furniture. The rest of the inn is being remodeled and we are expected to have the entire inn finished soon. Sorry for any inconvenience and we wish you happy holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

For the past two years, I have celebrated my anniversary at Edgewater Inn, even though we live 10 minutes away. For my money, the location cannot be beat: Anastasia Island, right on the Intracoastal Waterway at the base of the historic Bridge of Lions. From the back deck, you can see the 312 Bridge to the south, Castillo de San Marcos and the Great Cross on the mainland, the Usina Bridge to the north, as well as enjoy the Bridge of Lions going up and down throughout the day for the passing ships. It's a 10 minute walk across the bridge to downtown St Augustine! Yes, as other reviews have pointed out, Edgewater Inn is not new or fancy, but neither is this amazing city. It IS, however, very clean and the service is excellent. If you're looking for a place to stay for a vacation, or even a staycation :) and you really want to immerse yourself in St Augustine... Edgewater Inn is the perfect choice.

Room Tip: There is a special upstairs room that is the best of all. It has a cute A-frame roof and private ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison C, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater Inn, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
You truly are a loyal guest. 10 years is a long time, and we want you to know we very much appreciate it. Currently the Edgewater is going under some renovation, new paint job, new room renovations and a few other additions. We hope loyal guest like you can be the first to experience it. Make sure you join our mailing list if you haven't already. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Have stayed here many times over the last 10 years even when the old bridge was under construction. Location is great rooms have always been clean and tidy, yes it needed updating but if you are expecting the Hilton go and pay Hilton prices for me this is a great little motel and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison C, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater Inn, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
It is wonderful to hear that you had such a good time staying at our Inn. We truly appreciate your business. We hope you come back soon, especially after all the renovations are complete. Many rooms are being redone and upgraded and we want our loyal guest to be the first to experience it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We drove to St. A on a whim and found most of the "brand" hotels were sold out. We rode around until we found the Edgewater Inn, and LOVED the location...right on the bay. We arrived around 6:30pm and the office was closed, so we called the number listed on the door and someone came and met us within 10 minutes. We were a bit skeptical because of the quality of the "hotels" nearby, so we asked to see a room before we agreed to stay. We were pleasantly surprised!! While the rooms are older, they were very clean. The manager was very nice and even gave us a discounted rate. We chose room 101, which is a room with two queens, but it is an end room, with only one neighbor, and was a bit larger than the others in the "row" section along the waterfront. The bathroom was very clean, the beds and sheets were clean and comfortable, and the a/c unit kept the room nice and cold. The room did not have a mini fridge or microwave, but we were only staying one night so it didn't matter to us. The only drawback we found was that there isn't any privacy on the patio - everyone is kind of "out there" together. And the locals come down to the bay in front of the inn to fish. We had some interesting conversations with a few of those folks. ;) If you're looking for a place with sparkling new everything, lots of amenities and very little small-town flavor, this isn't the place for you. But if you are looking for a place that is just comfy, clean, great view and great value (I felt safe) --- I'd definitely recommend it. It's JUST on the opposite side of the Bridge of Lions from downtown.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
4.3 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#11 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Inn

Property: Edgewater Inn
Address: 2 N Saint Augustine Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32080-3753
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
#11 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Edgewater Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picture yourself rising from a restful sleep and gaze out the window of your waterfront room, catching first glimpse of the Nation's Oldest City. Sailboats are anchored in the Bay, while others make their way to the Atlantic Ocean. Imagine sitting in your rocking chair, enjoying a cup of coffee as graceful seagulls fly above and dolphins break the waves. It's the beginning of another perfect day. The Edgewater Inn offers a relaxing, scenic and historic escape in the heart of St. Augustine, Florida. Located just a short walk from historic downtown St. Augustine at the foot of the Bridge of Lions, you will find this to be the perfect escape for your next getaway. Our 19 rooms property is ready to provide you with outstanding hospitality for both the leisure and romantic traveler. Recently renovated, the Edgewater Inn offers stylish rooms, a waterfront guest lounge area, a Smart Start hot breakfast, and afternoon refreshments. Come and enjoy St. Augustine with a view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Edgewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Saint Augustine
Edgewater Motel Saint Augustine
Edgewater Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing