We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did I mention the view?”
Review of Edgewater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edgewater Inn
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Did I mention the view?”
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Clean room. Nicely furnished. AWESOME VEIW of historic district and Bridge of Lions. You can't beat sitting on the rockers right outside your door (which opens directly to the intercostal and these views) in the morning and evening. Only negative was the light flooding the room from the outside at night (had to drape towels over glass door to block light.). Room was a little small for a 3day stay, but that is just personal preference. For the price you cannot beat this place!

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    90
    22
    6
    7
See reviews for
66
226
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The very best part of our little weekend getaway at Edgewater Inn was the view from our water side deck. I am sure it is about the best view of the bridge and the town you will get, even on the other side, the few hotels facing the water are back a little farther with a street between them and the water. The price is lower than most we could find, we did our research since this was our first time to St. Augustine. The old town is just 3/4 a mile across bridge, you could walk if you wanted to, there is a nice walkway for people and bikes. The reason we put average was the room inside was nothing special at all. It was clean enough and because the hotel is older, the bathroom was tiny but worked fine, except when the person downstairs turned on the shower ours went to a trickle, so I had to wait till they were done. But...again, the price was equal to the lack of 5starness. I know they have started upgrading the rooms and a couple are done already. I am not sure if this will up the price in the near future or not. We enjoyed our weekend, the town is fabulous, and would recommend this hotel if you are not super picky about inside decor of most the rooms. I do have a couple suggestions that would have made it even better. One, if the maids could empty the ash trays that are outside on the decks each time, that would have been nice not to have smelled and looked at days old dirty ash trays as we sat outside, I did just put it on the floor away from us. Also, a simple thing that would improve look of the nice decks quite a lot would be to wash down the white rocking chairs. I noticed ours and others had black dirt stains caked on the arms where people lay their hands and they just needed over all cleaned. I know it would come off because I took some wipes to it, just some elbow grease would brighten those up great. Anyway, over all worth the price definitely because of the view.

Room Tip: Water view deck side is a must for the view. Other wise it is just an ordinary stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wetravelalot4years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown, MO
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Room was clean. Loved sitting in the rocking chairs and watching the drawbridge. It was also nice to leave our car there and walk across the bridge to go sightseeing. They were nice enough to let us check in early on the first day so we could unload the car and have a place to park. I was pleasantly surprised by the shower - it had great water pressure. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank dodgehayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed ourselves. 1/4 mile walk over the bridge to get to town. Rooms clean, but starting to show it's age. Good price and a great view of city and fort. Recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venlo, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Just across from the Bridge of Lions you’ll find the Edgewater inn, where all rooms have a porch overlooking the Matanzas River and the old town of Saint Augustine. From the inn everything is at walking distance, although the inn keeper might tell you otherwise! So, unpack, get in your walking shoes and start exploring the sites of Old Town. Since it is the oldest town in the USA you’ll find some pretty and uneven paved streets which make you wonder if you are even in the USA. It is a bit touristy at times, but you just have to take it. The inn has comfortable rooms, but the bath room could have been a bit bigger. All rooms come with a porch, (rocking) chairs and a side table. Pretty comfortable I might say! And as for the $$, all is expensive in Saint Augustine. You just have to make up your own mind how much you want to pay for a comfortable night’s sleep. The Edgewater is good value.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carovh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valrico, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Location, location, Location. This hotel is located besides the Lions Bridge and has a beautiful view of downtown historic St. Augustine. The wrap around porch is the perfect place to start or end your day. We enjoyed strolling over the bridge into town and you are close to everything.
Our room was newly renovated and perfect for our weekend getaway. I would stay here again and refer anyone to this hotel. Very reasonable rates.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have the waterfront view, this adds to the charm. Also, there is one room on the secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahsmile72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

First trip to St. Augustine, FL and we were told about this place. Clean and a great view. Don't expect a five star resort because this is not it. BUT the rooms were clean and comfortable and the view is the best. Its right on the water right next to Bridge of Lions. All you have to do is walk over the bridge and there you are! Right there where you need to be. I stayed in room 109 which had two queen beds. The back door opens up to a deck with two rocking chairs to sit in and anjoy the view of St. Augustine and the Castillo de San Marcos fort. PERFECT.
The rooms need to be updated but will not stop me from returning next year. The only thing I didn't care for is the lighting on the dock is on all night and it lights up the room. They should either turn them off at some point or put a sun darkening shade on the rear door.
Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Pick rooms between 101-112 and you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#12 of 78 in St. Augustine
633 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Inn

Property: Edgewater Inn
Address: 2 N Saint Augustine Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32080-3753
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
#11 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Edgewater Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picture yourself rising from a restful sleep and gaze out the window of your waterfront room, catching first glimpse of the Nation's Oldest City. Sailboats are anchored in the Bay, while others make their way to the Atlantic Ocean. Imagine sitting in your rocking chair, enjoying a cup of coffee as graceful seagulls fly above and dolphins break the waves. It's the beginning of another perfect day. The Edgewater Inn offers a relaxing, scenic and historic escape in the heart of St. Augustine, Florida. Located just a short walk from historic downtown St. Augustine at the foot of the Bridge of Lions, you will find this to be the perfect escape for your next getaway. Our 19 rooms property is ready to provide you with outstanding hospitality for both the leisure and romantic traveler. Recently renovated, the Edgewater Inn offers stylish rooms, a waterfront guest lounge area, a Smart Start hot breakfast, and afternoon refreshments. Come and enjoy St. Augustine with a view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Edgewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Saint Augustine
Edgewater Motel Saint Augustine
Edgewater Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing