We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The low price of the room was not worth the outdated and filthy condition.”
Review of Edgewater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edgewater Inn
Ranked #7 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2009

While the inn was on the water with most rooms having a view of the intracoastal waterway, the furniture was ripped, stained and outdated. There was paint splatter on the wall and layers of grime on top of the tile in the bathroom. The room was non-smoking but it smelled of old cigarettes. The price was low but I will never stay there again. The room seemed unhealthy.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2009

We spent three nights at the Edgewater Inn recently. The room itself was nothing special but a decent place to spend the night - clean, not smelly, TV, new towels. The bed I would say was neer the end of its lifecycle - still ok but should be replaced soon. The only thing we really didn't like was the air condition which was a bit on the noisy side and quite tricky to control the desired temperature.
But apart from that, the Edgewater Inn is a nice Motel. Most rooms have access to a shared deck with rocker chairs that stretches all along the back of the hotel and is located directly on the water. Very nice to sit there, watch the sunset over the city and enjoy a glass of wine (bring your own wine glasses though).
If your looking for a charming traditional downtown inn - look further, this isn't the right place. If your looking for decent budget accomodation you won't be disappointed.
Breakfast tips: "Bistro de Leon" across the bridge (12 Cathedral Pl) serves great french breakfast all week long and "Zhänras" next door (108 Anastasia Blvd) offers excellent breakfast buffet for $10 on Sundays

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catweazle75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

I don't know what the other rooms are like, but we got #113, paying more for a 1-bedroom suite ($99/night on their web site). Wow. It was huge. Giant living/dining room with a bank of bay windows directly on the water, great view facing west, back door opens onto the deck over the water. Easy 6-minute walk over the bridge into old town, though I will tell you my companions (1 adult, 1 teen) wouldn't do it till the last day because it was hot out & I guess they thought it was going to be exhausting. Ample bedroom w/ a separate A/C unit to keep things extra-cool, smallish bathroom which was more than adequate, and a giant kitchen with big fridge, toaster oven, microwave, coffeemaker, dishwasher, garbage disposal. Nice little private library of paperback books and magazines.

Those seeking luxury may not like the room b/c the carpet was very stained, blankets are clean but stained, and the kitchen floor could have done with another mopping. It's an old-style Florida motel with the pool in the center of the parking lot, no landscaping. When you look at the outside you think, ok, this isn't going to be fabulous. However, it was great for us. Free parking, easy drive to St. Augustine Beach too (which has a section you can drive on with a beach pass, though we never did figure out where to get a pass).

Take note, though, that if you are getting a regular room (much cheaper), it's not going to be like this. Most of those rooms have a back door onto the same deck, but with 2 small windows it's not going to be the same view (though you can just step outside and sit on your rocking chair). They also don't have fridges or microwaves and they appear to be a regular hotel room size.

I couldn't get the Internet in the room to work, and the front desk had no idea.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JupiterFarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

Excluding maneuvering some construction blocking the entrance, my family and I enjoyed our stay at Edgewater Inn. We arrived at 130 and the front desk clerk had no problem letting us check-in before the 3pm designated check-in. The place is older, clean, comfortable, but by no means fancy. Since we aren't the "fancy" type anyway and we only needed a room for sleeping, the room was more than accommodating. For right over the bridge, the price couldn't be beat and it's within walking distance to some incredible restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeldomTravelerFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2009

My wife and I visit St Augustine often, and rather than deal with your typical and often overpriced bed and breakfasts that take up much of the town, or the dirty chain hotels that occupy the outskirts, we ALWAYS stay at The Edgewater. The location is PERFECT. It's just over the Bridge of Lions from downtown, directly on the Matanzas river. The great thing is that it's a small hotel, 12 rooms or so, and they all have back doors opening onto a patio overlooking the river and downtown St Augustine. Each room has rocking chairs on the patio that allows you to sit and admire this one of a kind view that, besides the Edgewater, is only available to island homeowners. Going downtown is as easy as taking a leisurely walk over the Bridge of Lions(which I recommend doing whether staying here or not). If it's the beach you prefer, you already on the island, and it's just a short drive to St Augustine's beautiful wide beaches.

The rooms themselves are a little outdated, but they are always clean,comfortable, and in good condition. For us it didn't matter too much as we were out on the town most of the time, and if we were at the hotel, we were out back on the rocking chairs with a drink. They also have a beautiful pool, which while it looks very nice, we have never used.

For us, this is truly a special place that we enjoy coming to time and time again. We would and will stay here again, and we would and regularly do recommend the hotel to friends who plan on visiting St Augustine.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brandonknarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2009

My wife and I recently stayed here with our 15 year old daughter. Our room with 2 beds had dated decor but was very large, and it also had a large (again dated but serviceable tile) bathroom. We had a great view out the room's picture window of the waterfront, with quaint rockers on the porch/boardwalk in front of the room, inviting you to relax and watch the sunset. This is a small hotel and is in the midst of renovation; several of the smaller rooms have been updated quite nicely - ours was an older room but I expect that it will be updated as well.

The main drawback of the room was its old, noisy in-wall air conditioner. Fortunately the weather was cool enough during our stay that we were able to leave the windows open for the ocean breeze. Another drawback was the lack of a refrigerator - there was certainly enough space in the room to locate one. I think that a continental breakfast was described but it was very modest, consisting of packaged muffins and coffee, though the rate for the room was very reasonable, so I would not have expected much of a free breakfast. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I don't understand the complaints listed by others about the bedding and towels - they were perfectly fine.

The location of this hotel is great - it is across the river from St. Augustine on Anastasia Island, near the Bridge of Lions. However, currently the bridge is being rebuilt, and a temporary bridge has been constructed that is right next to this hotel, making it a bit noisy at times and less than aesthetic. Once the old bridge renovation is completed and the temporary one removed, the true charm of this hotel will undoubtedly be realized. The hotel offers good access to St. Augustine and also southbound on A1A to beaches and other attractions such as Marineland.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OPTraveler73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2008

I first heard of the Edgewater Inn , St Augustine, Fl from reading the reviews from tripAdvisor. I thought I would give it a try. My vists to St Augustine are usually two or three times a year. The Edgewater Inn is located directly on the river next to the Bridge of Lions and is about a ten minute walk over the bridge into Historic St Augustine. .Although, it was a weekend that I stayed there, the room inside seemed very quiet. and there was very little noise from the traffic on the street. The motel may not be new but the rooms cleanliness and updates gave the feeling that management cares about the AAA rating. In addition to the standard room I stayed in, I got to see the one bedroom suite. It was large. impecably clean and had a killer view of the histoirc district across the river. I would definaty stay there again and if possible next time in the suite. The Inn has great rates for it's location on the riverfront

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank 45traveling_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.4 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#12 of 78 in St. Augustine
653 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
1.2 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Sebastian St Augustine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Inn

Address: 2 N Saint Augustine Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32080-3753
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
#11 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: £97 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Edgewater Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picture yourself rising from a restful sleep and gaze out the window of your waterfront room, catching first glimpse of the Nation's Oldest City. Sailboats are anchored in the Bay, while others make their way to the Atlantic Ocean. Imagine sitting in your rocking chair, enjoying a cup of coffee as graceful seagulls fly above and dolphins break the waves. It's the beginning of another perfect day. The Edgewater Inn offers a relaxing, scenic and historic escape in the heart of St. Augustine, Florida. Located just a short walk from historic downtown St. Augustine at the foot of the Bridge of Lions, you will find this to be the perfect escape for your next getaway. Our 19 rooms property is ready to provide you with outstanding hospitality for both the leisure and romantic traveler. Recently renovated, the Edgewater Inn offers stylish rooms, a waterfront guest lounge area, a Smart Start hot breakfast, and afternoon refreshments. Come and enjoy St. Augustine with a view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Edgewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Saint Augustine
Edgewater Motel Saint Augustine
Edgewater Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing