We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing paddle!”

Ripple Effect Ecotours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ripple Effect Ecotours, St. Augustine's most ethical and sustainable ecotour company, is a dedicated environmental outfitter offering eco-educational kayaking and vegetable oil-powered boat tours that explore the most remote and natural waterways surrounding St. Augustine, FL. Get way off the beaten path and explore the far reaches of the 73,000+ acre GTM Research Reserve, most of which is only accessible by kayak or with our highly specialized and sustainable eco-explorer boat. Ripple Effect fosters unique partnerships with the Friends of the GTM Research Reserve, the University of Florida Whitney Laboratory for Marine Bioscience and the Marineland Dolphin Adventure. Proceeds from the ecotours benefit the education, stewardship, and conservation initiatives of our non-profit partners. Have a relaxing and educational time on the water and help support a great cause. All you need to do is make a reservation and Ripple Effect will take care of the rest!
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I took my wife and kids (10,12) and parents (65+) on a tour with Brandon today. The tour was amazing. It was a bit windy so the paddle out was a bit of work but the rest of the morning was amazing. Brandon did a fantastic job educating us about the local ecosystem, history of the area, and how to paddle. Everyone wants to go back next year.

The weather was sunny and winds from 5-10 MPH. Once we were into the marshes, however, the winds were not an issue.

My parents were with me, both 65+ and had no issue in their own kayak.

Brandon was highly professional, educated, personable, and happy to take us out on the water. We were promised 90 minutes paddling and did well over two hours on the water.

Everyone in the group was tired but had a great time. In addition, part of the fee goes to support the nature conservatory.

I recommend this tour to families of all sizes. My daughter was 10 and did just fine in a kayak with an adult. Kids do need to be a reasonable size to fit into the sea kayaks. The equipment was in very nice condition.

Thank Jon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripple_Effect_Kayak, Manager at Ripple Effect Ecotours, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Very Cool and double praise for Brandon. He is smiling ear to ear. We watch the winds, tides, and all the variables to help make the ecotour fun, educational and a great family adventure. All levels of experience are welcome and thank you for joining us. See you next time, Eric.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 128 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

We had a wonderful time on a Kayak tour this morning (2 grandparents, 2 parents, 2 grandchildren)...saw lots of wildlife with our extremely knowledgeable Guide Brandon...this enhanced our appreciation of how important this ecosystem is and how it works. Very worthwhile...we would do this again next year. It was not too strenuous...and Brandon's instruction on how to paddle a kayak was excellent. An added perk is the admission ticket to see dolphins at Marineland...we will use these tickets next week. We saw a bald eagle! We had a great time!

Thank Sandy5497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripple_Effect_Kayak, Manager at Ripple Effect Ecotours, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for recognizing Brandon. He is one of the lead guides and he is always delighted to receive feedback. We are happy to know our professional instruction, paddle technique and guide service was helpful. As you experienced, we paddled into a special place where the wildlife roam free and the natural environment is in balance. We are part of this beautiful coastal ecology and look forward to seeing you again. Have a great day, Eric.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We took the two-hour marineland tour. It was a fun experience on a beautiful day. My only complaint is that our tour guide's enthusiasm felt a bit forced. He seemed to be on automatic pilot -- saying what he was supposed to say, but in a way that suggested that he'd given this tour one too many times...

Thank Oneida67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripple_Effect_Kayak, Manager at Ripple Effect Ecotours, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

We appreciate your feedback and we certainly take your comments seriously. Our enthusiasm is contagious and we love what we do, please excuse our consistency and we are ready to help provide another ecotour for you. As an ecotour company we strive to be the safest and guided by nature. Have a great day, Eric.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We're in town on vacation and took our 2 1/2 year old son out on the kayak for the first time. We didn't do a tour, just rented a kayak, but the guides told us great places to go, were very accommodating to our 2 year old, had a life jacket just his size. Will absolutely do this again next time we are in town!!!!

Thank TheSchmidtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripple_Effect_Kayak, Manager at Ripple Effect Ecotours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you and what a great day for your 2 1/2, he was a trooper. As we spoke we always give the parents the last determination on safety for the age group. Our age cut off is typically 6 years old for our guided tours, but we can discuss options with parents/guardians. The most important issue is to not make the child uncomfortable with the interpretation of the coastal ecology, as well as sitting for the duration in the kayak. As you found, the rental option gives you some flexibility. If you make it back with a group of 8 we can schedule a trip for you with the family and walk around some islands as part of the guided kayaking ecotour. Enjoy, Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This is a fantastic experience, whether you go for a quiet birdwatching kayak ride on the Guana river, a morning family outing, a sunset tour or even a moonlight tour. The guides are extremely knowledgable about the area and its ecosystem, plants and wildlife.

Thank jaxiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripple_Effect_Kayak, Manager at Ripple Effect Ecotours, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Very cool, thank you for expressing your positive experience. We are all capable of being great stewards to the natural environment, wildlife habitats and ecosystems. Ultimately the coastal habitats in particular the estuarine system create an abundance of life and health for the oceans. In return there is opportunity for balance and harmony within nature. Take care, Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ripple Effect Ecotours also viewed

 

Been to Ripple Effect Ecotours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing