We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great sunset kayak trip”

Ripple Effect Ecotours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ripple Effect Ecotours, St. Augustine's most ethical and sustainable ecotour company, is a dedicated environmental outfitter offering eco-educational kayaking and vegetable oil-powered boat tours that explore the most remote and natural waterways surrounding St. Augustine, FL. Get way off the beaten path and explore the far reaches of the 73,000+ acre GTM Research Reserve, most of which is only accessible by kayak or with our highly specialized and sustainable eco-explorer boat. Ripple Effect fosters unique partnerships with the Friends of the GTM Research Reserve, the University of Florida Whitney Laboratory for Marine Bioscience and the Marineland Dolphin Adventure. Proceeds from the ecotours benefit the education, stewardship, and conservation initiatives of our non-profit partners. Have a relaxing and educational time on the water and help support a great cause. All you need to do is make a reservation and Ripple Effect will take care of the rest!
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great sunset kayak trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I did the two hour sunset kayak tour and had an amazing time. Our guide, Matt Welsh was great, giving us a lot of info about the area and what we were seeing. He was entertaining and made the trip fun, pointing out some Bald Eagles perched in the trees and an Eagle's nest. He was very knowledgeable about the area and the ecosystem. One of the other kayaks (there were 3 tandems and Matt was in a single) got tired and Matt towed them about 1/2 a mile, against the current (paddling, not using an engine) to help them out. I was very impressed with the entire trip and would highly recommend doing it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripple_Effect_Kayak, Manager at Ripple Effect Ecotours, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
We appreciate your observation to the care we provide while on the water and we take it seriously. Sunsets are a relaxing time and sometimes too relaxing. We are always prepared to make sure the quality of the trip is not compromised. Thank you for the recognition and have a wonderful day. Enjoy, Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Hill, Georgia
1 review
“Great day paddling!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

My two children (ages 11 and 8) and my wife took a two-hour padding trip starting at Marineland. Brandon was our guide and Matt joined us as well. These guys were fantastic and made us feel at ease from the start. The equipment is top quality and we received just the right amount of instruction at the beginning of the trip. Most of the trip occurred within small creeks or water that was barely three feet deep. Brandon stopped several times along the way to educate us about the ecosystem (plants, birds, snails, etc.). My kids loved this trip and are asking to do it again. Overall, a top quality experience and we will definitely be back!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripple_Effect_Kayak, Manager at Ripple Effect Ecotours, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your encouragement and praise. We focus on environmental education for the coastal ecology but we can't do that without you. So your feedback is a fantastic reminder that we will do everything we can within a safe process to help you achieve your family adventure. Cheers, Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing paddle!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

I took my wife and kids (10,12) and parents (65+) on a tour with Brandon today. The tour was amazing. It was a bit windy so the paddle out was a bit of work but the rest of the morning was amazing. Brandon did a fantastic job educating us about the local ecosystem, history of the area, and how to paddle. Everyone wants to go back next year.

The weather was sunny and winds from 5-10 MPH. Once we were into the marshes, however, the winds were not an issue.

My parents were with me, both 65+ and had no issue in their own kayak.

Brandon was highly professional, educated, personable, and happy to take us out on the water. We were promised 90 minutes paddling and did well over two hours on the water.

Everyone in the group was tired but had a great time. In addition, part of the fee goes to support the nature conservatory.

I recommend this tour to families of all sizes. My daughter was 10 and did just fine in a kayak with an adult. Kids do need to be a reasonable size to fit into the sea kayaks. The equipment was in very nice condition.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripple_Effect_Kayak, Manager at Ripple Effect Ecotours, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Very Cool and double praise for Brandon. He is smiling ear to ear. We watch the winds, tides, and all the variables to help make the ecotour fun, educational and a great family adventure. All levels of experience are welcome and thank you for joining us. See you next time, Eric.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kayak Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We had a wonderful time on a Kayak tour this morning (2 grandparents, 2 parents, 2 grandchildren)...saw lots of wildlife with our extremely knowledgeable Guide Brandon...this enhanced our appreciation of how important this ecosystem is and how it works. Very worthwhile...we would do this again next year. It was not too strenuous...and Brandon's instruction on how to paddle a kayak was excellent. An added perk is the admission ticket to see dolphins at Marineland...we will use these tickets next week. We saw a bald eagle! We had a great time!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandy5497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripple_Effect_Kayak, Manager at Ripple Effect Ecotours, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for recognizing Brandon. He is one of the lead guides and he is always delighted to receive feedback. We are happy to know our professional instruction, paddle technique and guide service was helpful. As you experienced, we paddled into a special place where the wildlife roam free and the natural environment is in balance. We are part of this beautiful coastal ecology and look forward to seeing you again. Have a great day, Eric.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

We took the two-hour marineland tour. It was a fun experience on a beautiful day. My only complaint is that our tour guide's enthusiasm felt a bit forced. He seemed to be on automatic pilot -- saying what he was supposed to say, but in a way that suggested that he'd given this tour one too many times...

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Oneida67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripple_Effect_Kayak, Manager at Ripple Effect Ecotours, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
We appreciate your feedback and we certainly take your comments seriously. Our enthusiasm is contagious and we love what we do, please excuse our consistency and we are ready to help provide another ecotour for you. As an ecotour company we strive to be the safest and guided by nature. Have a great day, Eric.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ripple Effect Ecotours also viewed

 

Been to Ripple Effect Ecotours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing