We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value - 15 mins walk to old town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
Ranked #30 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Good value hotel with clean room, comfy bed & free wifi. About 15 min walk to the old town with a wide choice of restaurants and coffee shops. Had 'free' breakfast that was basic but very edible, although nothing for latte fans of diet needs such as gluten free.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete_Gill_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2012

Thank you kindly for taking the time to let us know how we treated you during your stay with us. It is a pleasure to know that your accommodations were clean. Our housekeeping staff will be happy to hear about their good work. I am also happy to hear that you found a variety of restaurants during your visit. Finally, I see that the walk to the Historic District was a pleasant 15 minutes. Take care and thank you again for everything.

Kwame Opeyo
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (836)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

584 - 590 of 836 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2012

This hotel was described as being in the heart of the historic district on a major "bid for it" website. Technically correct, but not the part of the historic district you probably picture; that's a mile away. If that's your idea of walking distance,then they are correct. The neighborhood is not one I would wander around in at night.
All this said in the negative, the hotel is clean, up to date, reasonably priced, and has an accommodating staff. I would stay there again because of the value, but I know I'll have to struggle with parking downtown.

Room Tip: In this neighborhood, I'd avoid first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kalimantan50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2012

I appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. I see that you found the walk to the Historic District to be longer than expected and for that I apologize. On behalf of the staff, I would like to thank you for the kind words you gave everyone. Thank you again and have a great day.

Kwame Opeyo
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We had a great stay-weather could have been better-we stayed the Saturday that hurricane Sandy was making it's way up the coast line. We had a free buffet breakfast that was awesome! Vey spacious room. I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scburpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Thank you very kindly for taking the time to give us your good words. I am sorry that the hurricane blew in its rain and gusts during your stay, but I am also pleased to see that you enjoyed our breakfast. Please feel free to come back and stay with us during kinder weather. Take care and have a fantastic day!

Kwame Opeyo
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I stayed here the night of Oct. 20th and the room was wonderful. It had two queen beds and a pull out sofa so everyone slept comfortably. It was clean and the staff were friendly. We usually stay at Holiday Inn Express so I was able to get the room with reward points, and they did not disappoint. I have to give a shout out to Michelle for helping me get my laptop shipped back to me after I stupidly left it in the room and didn't realize until the next day and 1000 miles away. The staff is top-notch and professional and the location can't be beat.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

On behalf of the staff of the Holiday Inn in St Augustine, I give our highest appreciation. I will happily let Michele know that she did a wonderful job for taking care of your laptop. I hope that you thoroughly enjoyed the time you spent in St Augustine. Naturally, if you find yourself in the area again please come and stay with us. Thank you and take care.

Kwame Opeyo
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

If you are staying in St. Augustine this is a great hotel to stay at. You can walk to the fountian of youth catch the trolly and ride into town. No need to drive your car to town and pay to park. You can leave your car at the hotel and ride the trolly into town. You can walk to town but a bit of a hike. The staff was wonderful and very helpfull. The room was very clean. Plenty of parking and well lit. Has a large pool that was very inviting. Breakfast was well stocked and had all we needed. Thanks to the staff for a great job.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your kind words. I hope the visit to the Historic District was pleasant and the walk was not too much of a bother. I will definitely pass along the good news to the staff about the job they did. Also, I see that you enjoyed our amenities such as breakfast, the pool and spacious parking. Once again, thank you for everything and please visit us again when you return to St Augustine.

Kwame Opeyo
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Pros: close enough to historic district if you don't mind a 10 min walk and 2 min walk to both trolley stations (old senator and old jail). We got free breakfast and were very pleased with the service and food selection/quality! Would've been worth the $ if it wasn't free. King room with whirlpool is pretty great! The whirlpool is in the restroom so it doesn't steam up the room, but it has a window looking into the room so you can watch tv from tub (and also watch companions shower ;0) hehe). Tub/room were very clean and comfy bed. Business center was free and a huge help when I needed to print something last minute! A lot of hotels charge for that.
Con: the wifi is terrible!!! I almost gave 4 star because it is useless!!! I'd rather pay extra than not have in room wifi. I also specifically requested a room with strong wifi, but will chalk that up to bad wifi throughout all rooms and not a customer service oversight since the customer service was great. I hate to belabor this point, but Internet is an integral of travel, which is why tripadvisor exists haha

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Radioheed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

Thank you so very much for taking the time out let us know how we treated you during your stay with us. I am pleased that the Historic District was easily accessible to your party. I am also happy to know that you enjoyed the spa. I hope you had a good opportunity to spy on someone showering:) Finally, I wish to apologize about the WIFI situation. I completely understand how important the Internet is to travelers as I use it on a daily basis myself, including any trips I take. We actually have new equipment but we need to some adjustments for coverage. At any rate, I appreciate everything you had to share with us and please visit us again when you are in the area.

Kwame Opeyo
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Although the location is very good and the reception was very welcoming, I must say this hotel did not completely live up to our expectations and we are regular Holiday Inn visitors. I had requested for a room as far as possible from the elevators and instead they put us the closest possible to it. Probably misread my remarks on the booking, we did not bother to ask for a different room and had no complaints about any noise. We had the impression we were on a smoking floor, although I had requested for non smoking. Misread again ? Breakfast service was efficient with nice food but louzy coffee.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teletubbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I apologize for the issues with your reservation requests. We usually strive to acccommodate all requests and it appears that we missed the mark in your case. I hope that you will continue to use the Holiday Inn brand and I thank you again for your comments.

Kwame Opeyo
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Sebastian St Augustine
0.9 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
4.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic

Address: 1302 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
#27 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: £94 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
...to the nation's oldest city, historic St. Augustine. You are invited to stay and relax in our full service hotel with restaurant on site; conveniently located near St. Augustine's rich history, attractions and shopping. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic is the perfect setting for a family vacation or the weary corporate traveler. Just minutes from the Castillo de San Marco, Flagler College and the Cathedral Bascillica. Other nearby favorites are the Lighthouse, Alligator Farm and the Lightner Museum, plus we are only a short drive to golf courses and the beaches.The Cafe St. Augustine Restaurant serves a Country Breakfast Buffet daily, and also offers room service and dinner. The Flagler Room offers the perfect setting for meetings and receptions. Sightseeing trains provide shuttle service from the hotel. Nearest major airports are Jacksonville, Daytona & Orlando.Favorite Special Events and Holidays are the Gamble Rogers Folk Festival, Nature & Birding Festival, Memorial Day Weekend, July 4th Fireworks Celebration, San Sebastian Wine Festival, Daytona 500 and TPC at Sawgrass.Let our friendly staff make a reservation for you today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Holiday Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing